We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic local food with a goregous view of Plakais Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vrisi

Vrisi
Myrthios, Plakias, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Plakias
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Casteau, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic local food with a goregous view of Plakais Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

In the middle of May 2014, my wife and I stayed in Plakais for 11 days and ate out every night. Of all of the restaurants we tried in the local area, this was one of the best; so much so that we went back three times. Each time we ordered a selection from the "specials of the day" and were not disappointed. We talked to the owner and found out the cook was actually a grandmother who used her old family recipes with ingredients provided from the local gardens and pastures. For our last night in town we decided to go back and it was our best meal yet. We split a starter of fresh tomatoes & chunks of feta cheese mixed with herbs and olive oil on a lovely dark brown bread. I selected seasoned lamb with potatoes roasted in the oven and my wife had the vegetarian dish selection - each was cooked to perfection! We drank the house white wine and it was perfect. We did not order dessert because the main portions were more than adequate yet the staff still served each of us a half portion of a lovely yellow cake covered in a sugary glaze and topped with candied cherries. My wife enjoyed the tisane mountain herb tea while I indulged in the complimentary carafe of raki. All of this for a total of €30 - excellent food in a lovely atmosphere for a very inexpensive price. We will gladly go back again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good atmosphere and service but food pricey and poor value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This restaurant is great in terms of location, decor, ambience and service - a step up from the usual. Unfortunately our meals were way over seasoned (my good lady loves salt on her food but even too much for her) which ruined the experience for us, and for what we had, the food was pricey so shan't be going again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely views, very good service, and delicious meals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

While staying in Mirthios we had the opportunity to dine at each of the local tavernas. While we enjoyed all of them, Vrisi was our favorite! The waiter was very helpful and friendly, the decor is quite beautiful and modern, and we enjoyed a leisurely dinner while enjoying views of Plakias Bay. I had a delicious pasta dish with fresh tomatoes and herbs, and my husband had fish. Both meals were prepared nicely. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very nice - more upscale than the other local tavernas. We took the footpath down to the restaurant from Stefanos Village, where we were staying, and it was a quick and easy walk. Definitely go to Vrisi when you are visiting the Mirthios/Plakias area. It's the best!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Truly a wonderful place for a great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in the Plakias area at the beginning of June 2013 and were told about this restaurant by local people, so we decided to give it a try. Good thing we did !! ... as after a while, we ended up going back there every night for dinner ! As-a-matter-of-fact, this place is just great. The restaurant itself is beautiful and was conceived in a very modern way, the very clean and tidy kitchen is an open space and you can actually see the cooks preparing the dishes. Hygiene is a must in there, no doubt about that ! The menu is quite different from other places we have been to. Of course, you will find the traditional Greek cuisine. These dishes are prepared by Ellis, the owner's wife... and what a wonderful cook she is : the zucchini balls are the best we have ever had in a restaurant in Greece. But the kitchen also has a great chef who loves to prepare dishes that you usually don't find on restaurant's menus in Greece, like risottos with a white truffle touch, very nice salads and all kinds of dishes that you are not likely to find in other places. They make it a point that every dish has its own character. The people running this restaurant are really into details to make sure the customers will have a great dining experience.
The service is very good, the people are very friendly and as a guest you really feel welcome. Not to mention all the additional elements : a small starter (smashed tomato on a delicious olive oïl base), served complimentarily while your dinner is being prepared, the free dessert (we especially enjoyed the tiramisù) and of course, the complimentary raki which comes with your bill. This bill will amount to 30.- to 40.- euros for 2 people, for a total of 3 starters, 2 main courses and plenty of nice wine to go along with your food)
Nice to know for parents with small kids : there is a well-equipped children's playground available, which you might find very useful for a relaxing dining experience.
The view over Plakias and its gulf is breathtaking from the restaurant.
We really loved it there and can only warmly recommend the place to anybody who is travelling in that area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best value in Plakias/ Myrthios”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have used this restaurant for the last 3 years and have been holidaying in Plakias for the last 10 years. So I think we have tried all the restaurants in the area. The atmosphere is wonderful, Freddie the main waiter greets you as an old friend (which we are, but he greets new comers just the same) The food is very good, and plenty of it. Price wise, it depends on what you order but on general it is no more expensive than any other restaurant in the area. On average we spend 27€ each including pre order drinks & wine with the meal. The service & comfort make it special and make it worth paying out for a taxi. Hope you enjoy your visit. Q.xx

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vrisi also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Sellia, Plakias
 

Been to Vrisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vrisi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.