We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a place to find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenz Heinz Winkler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residenz Heinz Winkler to your Saves list
Residenz Heinz Winkler
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirchplatz 1 | Aschau im Chiemgau, 83229 Aschau Im Chiemgau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wow! What a place to find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I found this place on the internet and booked in hope rather than expectation
From the moment we arrived my expectations rose and the staff and hotel never failed to deliver
From the views marble entrance hall to the views of the mountains to the stunning suite it was entrancing and a real antidote to work and general busy-ness of life. Seeing the owner in both the restaurant and around the hotel checking and overseeing was a reassuring and unusual sight
The restaurant was another amazing experience - faultless cuisine with attentive staff
If you get chance and opportunity visit and enjoy - but remember such things do not come for nothing

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a nice property from the Relais & Châteaux group. The restaurant has 3 Michelin stars. Our gastronomic meal was excellent. The Grand Chef R & C, Mr. Heinz Winkler, is also the owner. He invented 'cuisine vitale' which combines culinary delights with wellness.
He is very 'hands on' not only in his kitchen but throughout the hotel and gardens. It was nice to see him around. This property is surrounded by the Alps and has breathtaking views.
Our room was pleasant although we would have liked air conditioning (It was a hot day/night).
From there, we drove a few kilometers to take a boat on Lake Chiemsee, the largest lake in Germany, to an island where Herrenchiemsee Palace is built, modeled after Versailles (for King Ludwig 11). So beautiful !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of a lovely Alpine village. The rooms were quite lovely, but the star of the show is a fantastic restaurant. We were there on a Tuesday night, and the place was packed. While the prices were a little high, you definitely got your money's worth. The service is of the highest quality and the food was both beautifully presented and tasty as could be. Very inventive flavor and color combinations. You probably can't make anything at home that comes out of the kitchen here.

Room Tip: Ours was a two story room, with the bedroom on the second floor. We slept with the windows open on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Residenz Heinz Winkler is R&C property in a small and cosy town Aschau between Munich and Salzburg. If you stay in Munich it takes only one hour to get there, to run from city into country heaven. You can have a lunch or dinner, both will be great.
No need to book for lunch and for the dinner reservation is highly recommended.

For lunch in summer I would recommend tasty, refreshing cold tomato soup with lobster, as for the main course you take chicken or fish.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay wonderful staff clean rooms beautifully located next to the chiemsee and on the base of the magnificent kampenwand. The terrace is beautiful and the restaurant is fabulous. The fitness center was amazing everything was so clean. Aschau is a great place to make day trips out of. But this is the place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for three days in June and had a beautiful time. The hotel was staff were helpful and gracious. The location at the base of the alps is spectacular and the air is wonderful. We had a suite and they made it comfortable for my husband and my three children. They had a great time in the pool and enjoying the lovely breakfasts at the hotel. If you have the opportunity and the money this is a great place to stay. I will dream about the food I had for dinner forever.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Mass
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had intended to stay here June 6th through June 8th, after having stayed in Salzburg June 2th through June 6th. Our Salzburg trip kept getting delayed by the floods (the trains couldn't get through), so we kept asking Heinz to move our reservation back, and they were very amenable (even though they were not hit by the floods, being on higher ground).

Finally we just couldn't get there -- the trains still couldn't get through -- and had to go back to the US. We asked if they could simply apply our non-refundable deposit to a future stay, and (even though acts of God are not exempted from the deposit rules), they instead graciously offered to refund our deposit to our credit card.

They were surely taking a big loss due to the floods but they offered that anyway, and I wanted to make sure that everyone on TA knew about this.

By the way, the lesson -- whether here or elsewhere -- is when agreeing to a non-refundable deposit, make sure to clarify in advance what happens in the event of a force majeure.

At another hotel we might not have been so lucky.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenz Heinz Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenz Heinz Winkler

Address: Kirchplatz 1 | Aschau im Chiemgau, 83229 Aschau Im Chiemgau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Aschau Im Chiemgau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Aschau Im Chiemgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenz Heinz Winkler 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residenz Heinz Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenz Heinz Winkler Aschau
Residenz Heinz Winkler Germany/Aschau Im Chiemgau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenz Heinz Winkler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.