We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B, lovely proprietors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moulin de Connelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moulin de Connelles to your Saves list
Moulin de Connelles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Departementale 19, 27430 Connelles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Connelles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Charming B&B, lovely proprietors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stay here often for businesses. The proprietors are very kind and helpful. The location is really beautiful, especially in the spring. It is in the middle of nowhere, but that adds to the charm. The rooms are uneven - some are wonderful, some less so. Ask for one with a new bathroom. The restaurant is acceptable - the breakfasts are really nice. The stairs are steep and you generally have to carry your luggage - keep that in mind!

Room Tip: Ask if you can few available rooms so that you can choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    39
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
114
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is a very nice place to stay. I was on a business trip but this is not the primary type of traveller that this hotel is aiming for. Nevertheless I had a very good stay.
The welcome was very warm, the lady of the house opening the door for me and immediately having al little chat. She showed me the room, which is exactly what you can expect from this kind of place : this is not the Hilton you're staying in, so do not expect the same standards, but it all has a great level of charm : wooden floors that crack a little when you walk over, nice furniture,... That also applies for the bathroom : not state of the art, but not that bad either. It fits in the complete picture.
Dinner was also quite nice ; not exceptional but definitely OK. And for an acceptable price.
All in all, definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenzerheide, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at this beautiful hotel during a short weekend trip from Paris. It is in the middle of nowhere, you need a good GPS or good orientation skills to make it there. Once you arrive, you will be thrilled by the idyllic atmosphere. This would be the ideal scene for a romantic love story movie - or a Hitchcock or Edgar Wallace thriller... we had a layer of fog in the early morning, that made for a really special atmosphere.

The service was outstanding, competent and kind throughout. We enjoyed a nice drink in the bar (that has a beautiful fireplace), and were also impresses by the quality of the food at dinner. Even though we arrived rather late (20h45), we were served promptly, had no real wait, and the food (I opted for the 3-course-menu) was really enjoyable. If you are seated in the winter garden part of the restaurant, make sure you wear something sufficiently warm, since it is a bit chilly there.

The breakfast is opulent by French standards, but at best would be called "continental" breakfast by American standards. Choice of several bread rollls and pastries, apple juice, apple compot, some preserves, choice of coffees, teas or hot chocolate... but nothing else. We didn't mind, since we did not really want anything extra, and I am not sure whether they would refuse if you asked for some eggs - I guess you would get them.

The room (we had room n°3) was furnished with taste, with tapisserie coverings of the wall, which fits the "old mansion" atmosphere of the house. Don't expect Marriott-like functioning of faciltiies like internet (even though there was WiFi coverage...we did not need to use it).

When coming to the bathroom, you will be reminded that you are in France. Bathrooms and toilets are not their strong suit, to say the least. The bathtub is ok, but it is also your shower, and as such, less than ideal. Tiles are not authentic from the time the house was built (that, we would forgive) but date from the '50s or '60s. Some serious renovation here would do the reputation of the house a lot of good. You do get bathrobes, but - we were there in mid-November - we had no opportunity to make real use of it, since the pool was obviously closed.

Overall, our experience was very enjoyable and romantic. We would have no hesitation of returning to this place. It is not a four-star hotel resort as many Americans would expect it - but don't forget, you are in France, and the standards are quite different.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view over the river (rooms 1 to 4 should meet this specification, not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

To be fair, we had experienced just one of their rooms, the rest could be Ok. The remote location can be a big plus if you are looking for a hideaway or retreat.

Stayed here 2 nights in Oct 2011 and had an below average experience. Chose this hotel based on many good reviews. This is a remotely located hotel with very pretty surroundings and one could only enjoy it to the max if do so at a more leisure pace; do some boat peddling or walks along the river banks etc. Our room was the junior suite facing the hill – avoid this room like plague! This hotel has too many short comings for a 4 star establishment.

What we liked:

The warm, friendly services and the serene river ambient.


What we disliked:

The worse is the bath room which should have been bombed to pieces. Small, run down, patch repaired tiles from the 60’, exposed pipe work; door badly needed replacement from water soak damage, and floor floods with each show etc. In fact the bath was quite a safety hazard – there is a thin glass panel that serves as shower curtain, and a slip over the high bath would bring down the fragile glass, and one hope it is a safety glass or your life.

The wardrobe also came out from 60’ design. Made from plywood and hand painted many times over and add some poorly fitted left over carpet to the floor area; you get the picture! It is a free standing wardrobe that can be replaced easily, one wonders why the owner would be so pound foolish.

The décor and furnishing of the room appeared old and uncoordinated.

There is just one light in the living room, the type that shines to the ceiling which is hopeless for reading paper or maps. TV has no English channels and just a few French channels. There is just one power point located at one corner of the bedroom. The in room safe also didn’t work. Internet signal was poor except for the near the front office. They advertised internet is in every room. Overall, there is a lot of inconvenience for a 4 star room.

No in room coffee / tea facilities or free bottles of water. You need to buy them (this is common for all Chateaux Hotel Collection). Cup of coffee is $6.5 Euro There is no restaurant in the tiny township which is made up of 1 hotel and 1 time shared apartment and a few houses.

To top it all, a burst hot water pipe on our second day meant cold showers in the morning. Wife was unhappy; no apology received from the manager and wife was more unhappy.

Room Tip: Avoid the junior suite facing the hill side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot Green
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is a 4* country hotel with no lift and no air-con ! But then, it is a former historic mill below Rouen converted to manor in the 19th century and on the banks of the Seine. The hotel website will give you all this info, so how was the (two day) experience ?
Well, the initial welcome from owner Karine and subsequent service from all staff were second to none. Plenty of high-end motors to park alongside, Aston, Berlinetta, and Porsche. The grounds - a 3 hectare park was promised - were disappointingly stunted by an associated family holiday apartment business further up the riverbank, and so impacted on anything more strenuous than a brief stroll between showers, too cool for the pool.
The rooms available when booking were priced @ euro130, e200 and suite e285. As we sought merely a restaurant with rooms, relaxing surroundings, and proximity to Giverny and later Calais, we took the e130 option on 2nd floor. This was small with a good bed, dark with the window facing the woods, and because of rain on both days, we did not sample the postage-stamp sized balcony, which looked overdue for a de-mossing. Given the two flights of stairs, even plumptious bath robes cannot make this room command a three figure price tag.
The demi-pension terms we picked on booking (they included no discount) gave us the e35 Tradition menu on one night and a e51 a la carte choice on the other, though at table, this just translated to a different short menu, three choices per course.
The execution of each dish on both evenings was faultless (sorry Jilbo - recent review) which should not imply that we lack appropriate critical skills. Perhaps it is because we sat by 7.30 each night. A couple arrived much later on our second night, by which time things may have gone pear-shaped in the kitchen, and they became very exercised by the wait. We had no such problems, dinner was a truly pleasurable experience on both nights, helped to my mind by the primo table we were given looking down the river and (at last !) a sunset.
We both thought breakfast was a let-down for a kitchen with such preceding high standards. It was a no-choice affair, fine if you enjoy a small glass of apple juice followed by a ramekin of apple compote, but we did expect le Moulin to offer their own confitures rather than commercial pots.
This is a business strong on service and good dining, but elsewhere some disappointments. However, we have upped our initial rating of 3 by a point, as we feel sure our review was jaundiced by the lousy August 2011 weather. Sunshine suffuses a much warmer frame of mind.

Room Tip: See body of my review, win the Lottery, book the suite over the restaurant and don't bother with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Sorry but I beg to differ from previous reviews. This is the second time my husband and I stayed at Moulin de Connelles. The food was OK but nowhere near as good as our previous stay. Maybe there’s been a change of chef but at 320 euros for room, dinner and breakfast we expect the food to be better than just OK. Our room on the second floor, overlooking the river, was very dark and the mattress extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom was a good size and well stocked with towels and toiletries. Any hotel of this standard should always provide the traveller with a) good food and b) a bed which gives the individual a good night’s sleep. On this occasion the hotel failed in both instances. I do not believe we will return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Our third visit to this magical hotel - and each as good as the last. Enchanting location - a beautiful mill across the Seine with its own island and private swimming pool - beautiful rooms (we stayed in the junior suite in the turret), exquisite food - and the most wonderful welcome from Karine and her husband, who are quite simply brilliant! We look forward to our next visit........

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moulin de Connelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin de Connelles

Address: Departementale 19, 27430 Connelles, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Connelles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Connelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin de Connelles 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Moulin de Connelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin De Connelles Hotel Connelles
Moulin De Hotel Connelles
Connelles Moulin De Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moulin de Connelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.