We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Lorraine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Lorraine to your Saves list
Hotel de Lorraine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 rue Augistrou | Place de la Gare, 54260 Longuyon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Longuyon
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unforgettable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We wanted to visit the battlefields of Verdun, and couldn't find a hotel closer to the town that attracted us. This hotel is about 30 minutes from the man sites so suited us fine.

The hotel has a faded grandeur, and the rooms need a makeover, but it was comfortable and clean. But what made this hotel stand out for us was the warmth of the welcome we received from the owner, and the food - and what food! I have travelled widely in France but I have never seen such a magnificent cheese board and sweet trolley - the cheese board had about 50 (!!) cheeses covering brebis, chevre and vache, and you were not confined to one dessert,but could have a selection of anything that took your fancy. The starter and main course were also of excellent quality.

If I revisit this part of France this is the place I will stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
12
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rottweil, Germany
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Booked ahead as this was mid-way on our journey. The room was good. Bed quite small but adequate. Food is the main draw and that did not disappoint we had the medium menu for around 50 euros per person. Was very good. The cheese looked great but was quite ripe ! Breakfast is not worth the 10 euros - would recommend you skip this. Lovely staff and very attentive. The wifi was very slow but ok for e-mails and was free

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our room was very basic but with a comfy bed but small armchair by window was very dirty and stained! The bathroom was clean but needs refreshing as does the general hotel.
The evening meal was delicious and of an excellent standard. Break fast was very basic for the price.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

The room was clean, quiet and simple. The beds were super comfy-cozy. We stayed one night as part of a Smartbox Escape Gourmande that we were given as a gift.
The restaurant was fantastic and I will review it independent of this hotel, however, a one night stay is well worth the wonderful food, service and yummy breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulloxhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights, having seen it advertised by one of our favourite independent travel agents. The price we paid included dinner on 2 nights.

It was quite cold for the first 2 days of our stay, and the room was not warm when we arrived. We mentioned this at reception (it helps if you can speak French, by the way) and we were assured that the heating would be switched on soon...which in fact turned out to be the case. (In fact the hotel provided a heater on the second day, which we didn't ask for, but which was quite welcome).

I can only repeat what other guests have written. The room was quite small (a fairly common feature in France, we have found) and perhaps in need of a little refurbishment, but as usual we spent very little time in the room; it was really just somewhere to sleep and shower. The hotel is really convenient for visits to Luxembourg and the German Moselle valley. The quality of the room is the only reason why I'm giving this hotel 4 rather than 5.

Our experience with dinner was, like that of everyone else, absolutely faultless. Even if you don't understand everything on the menu, just try something...you won't be disappointed and you won't go hungry!

Breakfast is the continental variety, but the bread and croissants are top quality, as is the home-made jam. In any case you're not likely to be very hungry the morning after...

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — The rather small and rather tired room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

I cannot believe there are not more reviews of this place.It is a gem.Situated opposite the station,it is easy to find,and we found it very quiet,with little traffic noise.Just some ducks!The rooms are average,but the downstairs areas are very attractive and comfortable.As for the restaurant-all I can say is leave plenty of room for the food.We had the 45 Euro menu and it was an amazing meal.The portions were quite generous,so avoid filling up on the fresh baked bread rolls that keep coming.The cheese board has to be seen to believed,and they seemed disappointed that we could only manage a couple of portions.Likewise the desserts-it seemed to be the norm to select 4 or 5 things and have a little of each.
Breakfast was good with freshly baked croissants and pastries as well as the usual fruit,yoghurt,cheese etc.
We will be back

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

This is a wonderful family run hotel offering very adequate rooms, but absolutely 1st Class food. The patron has his own 'potage' or vegetable garden and uses its contents to great effect in his cooking. The courses reflect the region and include beautiful river fish from the Meuse. But his 'Chariot du fromage' was to me the highlight of the menu. It is a huge tray of unpasteurised cheese from all over France which is ceremoniously wheeled to the table and, unusually for France, you can try as many as you wish. It would be churlish not to mention the sumptuous dessert trolley from which you can also try as many as you feel like.

  • Liked — Lovely old fashioned, family run hotel with good customer service and excellent food.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — It is worth the effort to drive to this unspoilt part of France and do visit the city of Nancy nearby.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Lorraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lorraine

Address: 65 rue Augistrou | Place de la Gare, 54260 Longuyon, France
Location: France > Lorraine > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Longuyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Longuyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Lorraine 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Lorraine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Lorraine Longuyon, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Lorraine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.