We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant across the river from main part of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Heloise

Villa Heloise
39 Place de la Liberation, 30250 Sommieres, France
0466539508
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Villa Heloise is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Sommieres
Price range: $24 - $40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good restaurant across the river from main part of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We had an enjoyable dinner in the garden of the restaurant. Relaxed atmosphere and very charming service. Good quality of food although with modest portions. The garden is pleasant although borders the main road so is not quiet. The restaurant is 5 minutes walk from the bridge, on the opposite side from the old town.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    58
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kilcullen, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal for special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a lovely meal here with our 3 children. Good menu. We all had steak which was lovely. Fab creme caramel. Good location - easy to park. Pleasant to eat outdoors.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Cosy, Friendly and a Great Place to Eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

First Impressions.

This restaurant located in the Place de la Liberation was a great find, small, cosy with a very friendly owner and excellent food. The building is reminiscent of a traditional French regional property and stands out in the square. Inside there is a small dining area and you then walk through to a terrace at the back of the restaurant. We dined here on a hot summers evening early in the week, however, the restaurant was not very busy. On our arrival we were greeted by the owner who was very polite and provided an excellent translation of the menu. He made us feel very welcome and he was the reason we remained here for the evening.


The Food & Service.
The food was excellent on the night we were here. I started with Cured Duck with Foir Gras & Offal and my wife tried the Scallops St Jacques. Both dishes were well cooked and very tasty and the addition of the offal with cured duck was very tasty. For main course my wife went for the Slow roast Lamb shank & I enjoyed the Dorad Fillet in a White Wine Sauce. Again both dishes were well cooked and very tasty. For desert my wife tried the Crème Brule and I went for the trio of puddings which was delicious. The house red was recommended and we enjoyed a half bottle with the meal which was very pleasant.


Overall

Our evening here was very enjoyable, excellent service and very good food. From the time we arrived at the restaurant until the time we left, we had a very enjoyable evening. The only disappointment was the lack of people at the restaurant, there wasn’t much atmosphere, however, the staff made up for this with outstanding service. We enjoyed our evening here and we would definitely return.

Service- 10/10
The Food- 9 /10
Value for Money - 9/10 80 euros all in
My Verdict- 9 /10

Would I recommend ? – Yes Would I return ? - Yes

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“so so restaurant food okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The restaurant has a pleasant view from the outside Inside it's okay, nothing special. in an area that lacks good restaurants it's a pity the food is'nt as good as some reviews
state. Maybe the place is more suited for a summernight. We visited mid-october. waiter (1) and chef did not seem very inspired the night we were there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerkrade, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food for less”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed in Sommieres in July and had a wonderfull diner at La Villa Heloise with my wife and 2 kids (2 and 7). Waiters were kind and patient. The desserts were to kill for, try the tarte tartin!.

The only downside was when we got back to the campsite, we discovered that charged us too little (they forgot 2 glasses of wine and the drinks of the children). We felt sorry, because we had a great dinner...

So by all means, take the trip across the bridge....

Raymond

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Heloise also viewed

 

Been to Villa Heloise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Heloise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.