We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Seefeld?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seespitz Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seespitz Hotel to your Saves list
Seespitz Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Innsbruckerstrasse 1 | Seefeld, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sherborne, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Seefeld?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Typically spotless and well run Austrian hotel, well deserving its 4 star rating. Probably the best location in Seefeld, particularly for summer visitors, being on the lakeside but less than 5 minutes walk from the village centre. Lake is small and not good for swimming but hotel has a good outdoor heated pool (plus jacuzzi, sauna, gym, etc.) Food good, perhaps not always excellent. Drinks somewhat expensive. Staff very helpful and efficient. Little nightlife when we were there in early summer. Very good local walking for "active strollers" like ourselves and no doubt for hikers. Good local bus services, and trains to Innsbruck or Mittenwald.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    21
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
72
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Just spent 2 lovely weeks at the Seespitz hotel mainly chosen because we had previously stayed at their sister hotel in Obergurgl. On arrival we were greeted by the receptionist staff and shown to our upgraded spacious room with a side view of the lake. The weather was cloudy so no views of the mountains could be seen initially.

Our room was light and spotlessly clean. The usual pretend double bed with two single mattresses and quilts, which is usual in Austria, but comfortable nonetheless. Plenty of wardrobe space for the two of us to have one each, with a third for jackets. There was a free easy to use safe in the wardrobe. Spacious bathroom with separate toilet. Some complementary toileteries supplied but no moisturiser. Huge dressing gowns supplied for attending sauna and swimming pool areas. The room had a sofa sitting area and plasma TV (only 2 English speaking news programmes found). The balcony with chairs looked over the swimming pool and towards the lake.

The sauna area which is referred to as 'textile free' i.e no swim wear, is a delight. Open between 2 - 7 p.m with plenty of fresh towels and complimentary cold drinks the saunas were fabulous. The steam room was a disappointment as not as hot as I would usually like. The fresh air room was great for relaxing between the saunas (60C and 95C). The longest we lasted in the super hot sauna was 8 mins! The whirl pool is inside and the heated outside swimming pool can be reached from either inside or outside. After walking 10 or more miles a day we were more than happy to relax in the sauna area only. Massages and hot stones can be booked if required.

The breakfast buffet tables had an excellent choice of breads, make your own toast, boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, fresh fruit, juices, preserves, cereals, cheeses and meats. Something for everyone I would imagine. On our first day we had a choice of a few tables to select from for the duration of our stay. We never had to share. When the restaurant was busy some tables were perhaps a bit closer than I really liked. Each morning on our named table would be the evening menu plus a daily hotel 'newspaper' detailing the weather forecast, walking trips and places to visit. One thing I didn't like was not only was our name on the table plaque but also our room number too. Is this really wise for people travelling on their own?

The evening menu was sometimes a problem for me as I am a vegetarian. Austrians eat a lot of meat from the usual meat cuts to calves tongues. I chose the hotel (booked with Inghams) as it had the V sign, however some days I would not know what I would be eating until it was in front of me, so I had no choice. Why couldn't the veggies have had their own menus I suggested. When a coach party was staying at the hotel the waiting staff were less attentive with longer gaps between the many courses. Our first gala Sunday the food was excellent and a joy to eat and admire, but the next weekend it was below their usual standard.

The reception staff were really excellent consisting of Herr Hubert Wimmer and his two receptionists Sandra and Stephenie. Nothing was too much trouble for them from sorting out our daily packed lunches to helping us cross the border into Germany by train. All the other staff we met were polite, helpful and friendly.

Complimentary cake was served in the reception area daily from 2 - 5 pm. We only managed a couple of these as we were usually out walking.

Free internet use was also available with the use of a laptop from reception. I don't believe this was generally known.

The non smoking laws for all public spaces have not become law yet in Austria. Some times the bar did rather stink of smoke especially from a cigar. I felt sorry for the reception staff having to passive smoke. Although there was a non smoking room available when the reception/bar area was smokey we generally either went out or back to our room. I believe the non smoking bans become law in July 2010.

The walking in the Seefeld area was excellent. In early summer not many of the huttes were open. The regular train service to Mittenwald in Germany and Innsbruck is excellent. We never used the buses. The walking paths are well signposted and the times were pretty accurate. In the town there are plenty of bars and cafes. Some evenings there were bands playings too.

The hotel, holiday, walking, scenery and company did not disappoint on the whole. We would certainly go back to the hotel and resort. I miss the place already.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We have just had a great holiday in this hotel. Everything you could want was perfect. Everywhere clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The best chef in Austria! The food was just fantastic - a different choice each day and perfectly prepared. One drawback - wine is very expensive. Comfortable beds. It is worth paying extra for a lake view and a bigger room, you wake each morning to pine forests and mountains - they were snow covered when we were there (May/June). Easy walking to town centre and train station.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Seespitz Hotel in Seefeld and it’s hard to find anything negative to say. We had previously visited the Seespitz a couple of years ago during the summer and we loved it so much that we were determined to come back for a winter holiday.
Neither myself or my partner ski so it was important that we chose a town that didn’t just cater for skiers and Seefeld didn’t disappoint. There is so much to do you couldn’t possibly fit it all into one week, the town itself is set in a beautiful location about 30 minutes from Innsbruck.
There are many nice hotels in Seefeld but it is hard to imagine any with a better location than the Seespitz, it is set on the banks of the Wildsee lake no more than a 3 minute walk into the town centre. Most of the rooms have a balcony with a lake view and all are a good size with a large bathroom, the rooms are kept spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel.
The hotel pool is absolutely wonderful, you enter the pool from inside the hotel and then swim through to the outside area. The pool is a good size and heated to about 30 degrees, it is open from 7:30 in the morning until 7:00 at night.
I can not understand why some people have criticised the food, we found both the quality and quantity to be excellent, evening meals would consist of a starter and salad buffet, soup, main course (3 choices), dessert (2 choices), cheese board and fresh fruit. The breakfast buffet was extensive and is served until 10:30, there is also a free cake buffet between 3 and 5 in the afternoon.
The lounge and bar area is lovely and cosy and also a decent size, there are plenty of comfy chairs and it never gets too crowded (a special thanks to Heinz for keeping the Tia-Maria flowing). The service in the hotel is top notch and nothing ever seems too much trouble.
We booked with Inghams and this seems a cheaper option than booking with the hotel direct, as usual the service from Inghams was excellent (thanks to both Hayley and Denitsa for their help and advice during our week).
The Seespitz hotel and Seefeld are both excellent, we are about to book another weeks holiday for next January, it is hard to imagine finding a better hotel in a better location. Austria is beautiful in both the summer and winter and I would strongly advise everybody to give it a go, hopefully the attached pictures will help to make your mind up.

  • Liked — Location, food and pool.
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

Spent a week in the Seespitz in August with my husband. I was a little worried having read some previous reviews about the food but have to say that I found the food excellent. The breakfast buffet was marvellous, fresh fruit available at the pool area and free cakes in the afternoon. Evening meal also was excellent. The service was great - friendly helpful staff. Bedroom was lovely - separate sitting area and lovely lake view. I could find nothing to complain about. We loved Seefeld and will certainly return to the Seespitz. A big thank you to all the staff and also to the Inghams Rep. Tim who was so friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Not much entertainment in the bar at night - music would be nice
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ru55ell
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

Great food -- Great Room - Pleasant staff -- Pity they don't enforce dress code in dining room - People dressed for beach more than for a quality hotel !!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Room View - Good Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

balcony room overlooking lake.beautiful.food was excellent and varied.staff very friendly even those who do not speak much english.would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seespitz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seespitz Hotel

Address: Innsbruckerstrasse 1 | Seefeld, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#19 Family Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seespitz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive rooms are furnished in a Tyrolean country-house style, with bright wood and lots of room. The spa area features a heated outdoor pool, a sauna, a steam bath and a sunbathing area right by the lake. Hotel Seespitz also offers perfect conditions for seminars and meetings in an idyllic lakeside location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seespitz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seespitz Hotel Seefeld

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seespitz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.