We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferienhotel Kaltschmid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ferienhotel Kaltschmid to your Saves list
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Olympiastrasse 101, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our sixth visit here over the last four years and I have to agree with judb20 that it is like coming home. The staff are lovely and we see the same people all over the hotel so it must be a nice place to work as well as stay. The room was comfortable as ever, we have an appartment in the Haus Seefeld part of the hotel, and the food in the dining room was fabulous at breakfast and at dinner. The children are made welcome and nothing is too much trouble if you need help with anything.
I am not going to go at great length as there are my previous reviews and other peoples too, but have added some pics of apprtment this time.
Still a very nice hotel with something for everyone !

Room Tip: Haus Seefeld is nice if you have children and want a nice little apartment with kitchen for those ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    54
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
94
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Counting the hours, literally, until the weekend when we will be returning for the 9 th time. Looking forward to seeing a refurbished suite but, to be honest, have never had an issue with the others! Food is delicious, staff are great, facilities are brilliant. Our boys have grown up here and we return time and agin because we feel that the hotel, resort and facilities offer us a comfortable welcome which enables us to relax and truly rest. From cafe und Kuchen to a night cap in the bar, the Britannia pub, to the Jeep night club, it is what you make of it and we cannot recommend highly enough! Skiers and non skiers alike, walking, toboganing,catching a train for a trip out! Go for it!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

we had a pre christmas week at the kaltschmid,service & food was wonderful,hotel & seefeld very quiet,but that did not bother us we have stayed many times before at all different times of the year and still think there is nowhere to beat it we found the prices in the shops,bars & restaurants to be very reansonable plenty of bargains in the lovley
designer shops. the hotel suits us perfectly the room was recently refurbished with a very swish bathroom kept beautifully clean,the staff are professional but friendly,each evening meal was delicious,very good ingredients cooked peffectlly & picture perfect.although quiet there was nightlife in the alt seefeld,(reachable by life from the hotel so no need to go outside ) very enjoyable live music.hopefully we will return soon.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room,we had 295.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutton Rudby
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed for the second time this year and previous comments still apply.Only difference was that the hotel had only just reopened for Xmas.Am Kurpark cafe not open nor the Tenne nightclub. However the Alt Seefeld were providing food and cakes.Hotel was extremely quiet, but service and food as excellent as always
If you are going to Seefeld before 20th December, it is worth being aware that most of the small mountain cafes are closed and whilst most shops are open some of the smaller ones were just opening up.Dont let this put you off, you are likely to have the walking paths or ski slopes almost to yourself and the village itself has a festive feel with a Christmas market.

Room Tip: More traditional rooms have a full balcony, whilst the newly refurbished rooms only have a French Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just back from 2 weeks at the Kaltschmid and would definitly return, Hotel is very child friendly which was great for us and our 4 year old son. We stayed in a "Seefeld" apartment which was a spacious apartment with a living area with fold down bed for our son, a bedroom, a small kitchen and bathroom. Lots of storage space. Rooms slightly dated but clean and comfortable although pillows are not like a good British pillow! The chamber maid was prompt and efficient at servicing our apartment and always left some sweets for our son.

Food in hotel was excellent. A very good choice and always served fresh and hot with a good seasonal menu. Breakfast was superb. Our waiter, Lambert, was a joy and was so attentive and friendly.

Reception staff were always helpful and attentive. Some spoke better English than others but all were friendly.

The kindergarten was great and a big help for an hour a day to give us and our son a break. The staff there were very friendly and kind and Noah always came out with something they had made.

Swimming facilities great for young children and bike hire too was a bonus with a good selection of bikes to borrow. Also had table tennis which proved a hit with our son. The steam rooms opened at 3pm most days but from 12 noon on days when weather was bad.

All in all a great hotel that welcomed you and made you feel like part of their family. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Our apartment was a Seefeld one and had good view and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great location in the centre of the village with easy access to shops and station. Stayed here as part of a package travelling with Crystal. We had two rooms between five people. Both rooms were comfortable but a little tired. Our room could have done with a little more storage space as we had our 15 year old son with us. Having looked in some of the other rooms in the hotel found that they were of a much higher standard so suspect that as we booked through Crystal they were allocated the older none refurbished rooms. Maid service was acceptable but not up to some of the standards of other hotels in Austria (we arrived to hairs on bathroom floor and this tended to be the trend through the holiday) the maid however was always polite and friendly. All the staff in the hotel were friendly and very helpful, although service in the restaurant did vary. Our initial waitresses Sabrina and Melina were superb, very attentive and intuitive. Unfortunately they were replaced by a waiter who was not as efficient. He was polite and friendly but we believe that as his English was not so good and we had limited German he lacked the confidence to deal with us and tended to prefer to wait on the Italians (he was obviously more fluent in Italian) and as a result they tended to get more of his attention. On one occasion we were left 35mins between courses while three tables of Italians had plates cleared and their next course served and cleared. Saying this the food was superb with choices for most of the courses (six in total most nights with choices for four out of the six available); we couldn’t wait for breakfast when we saw the menu for that evening. Our son got addicted to their strudel. The hotel offers a free bowling and also a Tyrolean evening each week, they also have bikes that you can take for the day free of charge and on production of your guest card you can have free mini golf at one of the courses. The hotel has a couple of pools on the 4th floor one of which has a window looking out to the mountains that goes from above to below the waterline. There is a kids slide into the pool and both indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi; you can use the outdoor pool at another one of their Hotels about 10mins walk from the Kaltschmid. We used this a couple of times as it was nice to swim outside in the sun as opposed to the indoor pools in the Kaltschmid. The hotel has a walking guide who will take you out to various places that you may not go to yourself (you just pay for any trains or busses needed). He is very helpful and worth using to see some of the countryside he may be a bit conservative in his description of an easy walk. We had no problems with the walking but were pleased that my mother had chosen not to join us as we felt that the pace of the walk would have been too fast for her. To be fair he would not have known that she had restricted walking due to a prior injury. If you elect to charge drinks and food purchased in any of their hotels, bars and restaurants to your room you get a 10% discount on purchases. The owners hold a Champagne reception each week and are visible in the restaurant most evenings, a nice touch we felt. We are looking at returning but may book direct to get one of the better rooms and avoid a 3 hour transfer from Saltsburg that we had with Crystal.

Room Tip: Book direct with Hotel and request a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

First thing I can say about this hotel is that the staff are excellent, service is top notch and helpfulness registers at the top of the scale (more later!)

We chose this hotel to base ourselves for the week in Seefeld for some walking/excursions etc., being slap bang in the middle of town you are within 5 mins of bars/restaurants/shops and 10-15mins of pretty much all the major amenities in Seefeld.

The room we were allocated was an apartment with balcony that overlooked the inside 'square' of the hotel - not a great view but with the large amount of accommodation in the hotel it's always a possible that you'd get a room facing 'inwards'. The room itself was spotlessly clean and tidy although some areas look a little tired and in need of replacement (some cracked tiles and frayed carpet).

Back to service, we had a late evening issue with our room which meant we had to move - the hotel staff were wonderful in allocating a temporary room for the night and the next day gave us a superior room at the front of the hotel overlooking the mountains! Can't fault how they helped us and sorted things quickly and efficiently.

We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was good. For those in need of digital communication there is Wifi but it's chargeable - but in my experience 26 Euros for 7 days is good value if you compare to UK hotels!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the front of the hotel, views are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferienhotel Kaltschmid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienhotel Kaltschmid

Address: Olympiastrasse 101, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#19 Spa Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferienhotel Kaltschmid 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Ferienhotel Kaltschmid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid Hotel Seefeld In Tirol
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid Seefeld
Kaltschmid Hotel Seefeld

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferienhotel Kaltschmid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.