We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live there forever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alte Schmiede

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alte Schmiede to your Saves list
Hotel Alte Schmiede
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Innsbruckerstrasse 18 | 6100 Seefeld in Tirol, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I could live there forever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Had an apartment for 3 with a balcony, kitchenette, living room and plenty of space! Only thing that became a hassle was no toaster or kettle. It was so warm, the beds were so soft and rooms dark enough even when sunny. We had free net which didn't work great but also had free access to pool and spa/sauna which we definitely took advantage of. Staff were very friendly! Perfect location to all slopes, right in the heart of the village and close to station. Excellent stay would stay again and again if i am lucky enough to go back to the gorgeous village :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had our holiday here during Christmas and Sylvester. The strong points are: nice spacious rooms with perfect panorama views (room 316), good breakfast, central location and perfect staff and nice family Hiltpolt. The weak points: small parking place, no wifi in rooms, salted and not so good half board, no steam sauna, not so easy access to ski areas. I have to underline that Sylvester dinner ended early at 21.30 (Austrian average is 23.30). Although almost all reviews I read before had a good appreciation for the food, I would not say the same thing I really think that there is a lot of place for a better dinner (half board), and my opinion is not isolated.

Room Tip: 316 perfect panorama view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I chose Hiltpolt hotel as the best combination of price-availability and reviews I read in the web.

We stayed there with my family for a week holiday until Christmas day, and our experience was above our expectations.  The 2 room apartment provided very comfortable and functional accommodation for myself, my wife, and our 2 seven year old kids. 

The location of the hotel is very central, next to the main square where the Christmas market was, and 2 minutes walking from the railway station. From there, we could take the ski bus for the ski areas, as well as the train for nearby sightseeing eg the towns of Innsbruck, Mittenwald, and others.

The hotel is run by the family Hiltpolt.  We noticed 3 generations being present there at the same time! They had all been very well tempered, friendly good people, who provided service and attention beyond formal standards. I have to make special reference to the grandmother Erica,  who was a classy old fashioned lady, ready to give us her kind assistance and suggestions whenever we needed it.  Apart from the family members, the rest of the stuff 
had been equally willing and helpful.

After this, the next bigger asset of the hotel is its restaurant. The food and the ambience was so good, that we dined there every evening during our stay! The quality, presentation, and variety of the food satisfied all the tastes of my family!

I would only strongly recommend this hotel for anybody visiting Seefeld.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We first went to Hotel Hiltpolt in June 2007 and have returned many times since.. This is a family run hotel: all members of the family extend the most welcoming of greetings and big smiles on all encounters during our stays. Always helpful with absolutely anything from local information, to food to rooms. Especially helpful to us - we are ashamed that we speak no German, is the fact that all family and staff patiently and generously talk to us in English (and speak French and Italian fluently also). Food is superb , always beautifully cooked and served . Rooms are exceptionally comfortable and clean with balconies looking towards distant mountain tops and providing a sun spot on the many sunny days. The lounge burns an open log fire, and has deep comfortable chairs and a small selection of books in English, French and German.. and of course the bar if required.

Hotel Hiltpolt (now called Alte Schmiede) is 3 mins walk from the station (We fly to Innsbruck and then take an amazing 30 min train ride to Seefeld). Alte Schmiede translates to "The Old Blacksmith" and was the home of the Hiltpolt Family from at least the end of the 19th century; this is reflected in the tradition and surroundings of the present hotel. Although the name has changed since we first discovered this treasure, the hotel is still run by the family Hiltpolt who are ever present, ever smiling and ever looking to develop the hotel. The many facilities at the hotel are shown on the website but include a wonderfully relaxing "Wellness Suite" with sauna, whirlpool etc and a 10m indoor pool and an excellent restaurant (in addition to the dining room for guests). As one would expect in a first class hotel, the internet provision: wi fi and wireless internet connection for personal use on laptops etc, is excellent in all rooms that we have used.


The hotel is convenient to shops, cafes, ski runs, cross country ski tracks, wonderful quiet hiking tracks and outdoor concerts in the town square. We have booked for two further visits this year (2011) in June/July and September. Underlining the quality and welcome of this hotel is the fact that we frequently recognise other guests who also return time and time again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

This family-run hotel is a wonderful place with old-fashioned service. Guests are treated with honest hospitality and the facilities are very good.

Rooms are clean and well-presented. Spa facilities are clean and well-maintained. The location is excellent - right in the middle of Seefeld town. Noise isn't a problem - we stayed over for the (very noisy) Schneefest but weren't bothered by the music outside.

We stayed half-board - and this is also recommended. There was a choice of 2 evening dishes on the 5-course menu, plus salad from a buffet. The food was excellent and very well-presented.

Staff are friendly, efficient and co-operative.

  • Liked — Excellent food, quiet and calm atmosphere
  • Disliked — Other guests included a guy who ate like a pig
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

First went to Hotel Hiltpolt in June 2007 and liked so much returned in September 2007. This is a family run hotel.. all members of the family extending the most welcoming of greetings and big smiles on all encounters during our two stays. Always helpful with absolutely anything from local information, to food to rooms. Especially he;lpul to us in that we are ashamed that we speak no german was the fact that everyone patiently and generously talked to us in English from the youngest members of the family upwards. Food is superb , always .beautifully cooked and served . Rooms are exceptionally comfortable with balconies looking towards distant mountain tops and providing a sun spot on the many sunny days. The lounge burns an open log fire, and has deep comfortable chairs and a small selction of books in English, French and German.. and of course the bar if required. Hotel is 3 mins walk from the station (We flew to Innsbruck and then took an amazing 30 min train ride to Seefeld) and convenient to shops, cafes, wonderful hiking tracks and outdoor concerts in the town square. needless to say we shal;l return time and time again to Hotel Hiltpolt.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alte Schmiede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Schmiede

Address: Innsbruckerstrasse 18 | 6100 Seefeld in Tirol, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alte Schmiede 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our traditional family owned hotel in the heart of the romantic pedestrian zone of Seefeld we see the personal care for our guests as being one of our priorities. We will make sure your holiday in this beautiful mountainous area of Tyrol will be relaxing. Come in and feel at home! Our rooms and apartments offer all the comfort connoisseurs could possibly wish for. Timeless elegance and Tyrolean living culture have shaped the character of our house. Allow your spirit and soul to take a break! In our Vital Source "Um el Ma - mother of water", you will find everything necessary for your health. Traditional, but also international dishes of our renowned cuisine will take care of your physical well-being! Of course we will also consider your personal wishes. Enjoy the delights of our cuisine and cellar in a cosy, inviting atmosphere. We wish you a pleasant stay in our part of the world! We would be pleased to welcome you soon as our guest. Yours truly, Family Hiltpolt ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alte Schmiede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alte Schmiede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.