We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof to your Saves list
Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Munchner Strasse 114, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Durham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked via Crystal and requested a room with a view. We got this although it was one of the rooms that is still to be refurbished. Good size room and bathroom. Comfortable beds but décor, carpets etc. need renewing. Hotel always, very warm. Good food, with plenty of choice. A little strange that all staff were Italian in an Austrian resort. Plus points very clean, good staff and only 10 mins walk into resort centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel T, Manager at Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for having stayed with us and your positive review. The new management took over only 1 year ago. Now almost all rooms have been renovated and all on-site facilities, services and comforts are improved. Thank you so much for your in general positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    53
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
40
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have stayed at the Tyrol about 5 times now and each year it shows an improvement, this year was no exception. The food was pretty good given the price we paid for half board, they are gradually updating the décor, and the restaurant was run very slickly. The reception staff were particularly friendly and helpful.
Very well located for the town, ski bus, station and buses.

Room Tip: If you get one of the more old fashioned rooms in the main part of the hotel, the benefit is a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel T, Manager at Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for having stayed with us and your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate the many improvements that have been made since the new management took over 1 year ago. We really hope to welcome you once again in the near future. Thank you so much for your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

As with others, we were slightly concerned about the hotel having read some reviews..but our concern was not necessary. We found the staff (reception and restauarant) so so helpful, friendly and willing (though in the restaurant some spoke English better than others whereas the reception were English fluent). Rooms were very clean, ski bus stop just outside, town centre 10 minutes walk, food good etc. All in all we were very happy with our choice !

Room Tip: If (and only if) there is a major snow fall overnight..then the rooms on the main road can shake a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel T, Manager at Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for having stayed with us and your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once again in the near future. Thank you so much for your positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel feels like it has been in moth balls and is now being rejuvenated. There is a bit to be done. Communication can be difficult as most staff speak either Italian or Spanish but little English. Difficult for us as we speak English and had been travelling in German speaking countries practicing our German for three weeks prior to arriving in Seefeld.

Our room had a safe that didn't function which was very annoying. We were also told the heated towel rail in our room wasn't meant to work but on the third day it did start working! Apart from that our room was well suited to the environment, well serviced daily and spacious. The meals were of no particular cuisine but plentiful. Breakfast had trouble keeping up with eggs and bacon. The Christmas Eve dinner didn't taste like Turkey as advertised rather we think it was chicken which is fine but wasn't written on the menu as such! To the management I would suggest supplying a jug of your beautiful alpine water to each table every meal instead of insisting that guests purchase bottled water. To us the tap water was the best in the world, but we had to purchase plastic flavoured bottle water with our evening meal if we wanted water! Why not showcase a local specialty?

The wellness area was a bit in need of a face lift but adequate and had lots of towels but unfortunately no soap in the showers. It's the little things that count.

Overall though we would recommend staying at this hotel, it is very well located, just don't expect more than a 3 star facility. if management want to compete with nearby hotels, it's just the little things that matter that they need to refine, and, yes, we would stay again.




Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel T, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your suggestions and will do our best to further improve our services. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel in Seefeld.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montegranaro, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I've been in this Hotel at the end of september comin' back from the Oktoberfest.
I really appreciated the room, spacious and cleaned, well.appointed in wood.
The breakfast was really poor, without fresh juices and milk, just got a coffee machine that can prepare some kind of cold or hot beverage.
Croissants was pre-cooked, the only thing that i liked was the toast machine and some kind of home-made cake (very few).
It could be a really good hotel if the breakfast will get better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel T, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We would like to stress that we have in the meantime improved our services and in the morning we now offer a rich and delicious buffet breakfast to all of our guests. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel in Seefeld in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I went skiing with friends in Feb 2013 to Seefeld and stayed in the hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof.
After reading some of the earlier reviews we weren't too sure what to expect but needn't have worried. I would ignore all of the previous reviews before Dec 2012 as the hotel has been under new management since then.
We had a fantastic week. The hotel is in a nice spot at the end of the town but not too far away that you can't walk (with skis and boots) to the nursery slopes in the morning.
The room was great, we had Austrian twin beds but they were pushed together, the bathroom was clean and tidy and had everything we needed. The room also had a nice balcony overlooking the street. The only noise we heard was from the truck taking the excess snow away in the morning, but it was a good wake up call.
The food in the hotel was nice. The portions were huge! I can see it might not be everyone's cup of tea as presentation isn't like you get in other hotels but it was all very tasty and more than enough after a hard days skiing. There was a large selection of buffet salad to start with and we chose our starter and main course at breakfast for that evening. The dining room feels a bit like a wedding reception the way it's laid out but it's fine. The waiting on staff were quite busy and got friendlier by the end of the week. The hotel also puts on tea and cake in the afternoon which is great to go back to after a day on the slopes. They also had a themed evening on the Wednesday night which was good fun.
We didn't use the pool so can't comment on that.
The lounge and seating areas in the lobby were very nice and it meant that you didn't feel like everyone was crowded together. There is also a lovely log fire in the front lounge/lobby area which the owner keeps stoked up in the evening. Also a tv in one area and some books to read. The hotel also give you free wifi for an hour at a time (in the lobby area only) but this is not limited to one hr a day so if you need more you just have to ask at reception for another code. There is also a kids playroom off of the main bar area but we didn't hear too much noise from this and it meant kids were entertained if parents wanted to sit in the bar area and keep an eye on their kids at the same time.

Seefeld itself is lovely. It's not very lively so if you're looking for loads of après ski this is not the resort for you. Most of the après ski is hotel based. It's the type of place that is prefect for an evening stroll after dinner where you can have a nose around the shops and pop into a quiet bar if you want to but we didn't even find many of these.
The nursery slope is great as there are three different sections which meant it wasn't very crowded. If you go up the main ski lift and over the back you come to a bowl which has different paths to take and can be a bit more of a challenge if you are an intermediate wanting to find your ski legs or you're a beginner who has had a few lessons and wants to practice on some different terrain. There is also a nice restaurant over the back.
My husband had a ski lesson through the ski school and came on leaps and bounds and wished he'd done it sooner in the week!
The shops are quite expensive for ski gear but its quite an up market kind of resort.
We also did the snow rafting which was held on the nursery slope and was great fun. We had to book this through Inghams even though we holidayed with Crystal because Crystal hadn't had enough takers for it.
Me and one or our friends who is a boarder took ourselves off to the Roschutte pistes (10mins on bus)while our other halves stayed on the nursery slopes back in the village.. The bus service was really good and the ski lifts and slopes were great with some challenging bits if you wanted them but also good for intermediates.
Once our other halves had built their confidence we all took the bus to the gschwandtkopf slopes which is another set of red and blue pistes. Again only 5-10 mins on bus. There are restaurants at the bottom and we saw beginners having lessons on some of the blues although these were steeper than the nursery slopes in the village.
If you want to do all the pistes at Roschutte and Gschwandtkopf in one day it's possible to do but I don't see the point in that. Expert skiers who want black runs would probably not like this resort but there is more than enough slopes to occupy up to good intermediates.
Seefeld also has a train station right in the centre and only 2 mins up the road from the hotel but you don't hear any noise as trains aren't that frequent so don't let that put you off. There is a level crossing which comes down when a train is coming through. We got the train to Innsbruck on our day odd from skiing. It only took about 40 mins and was a fantastic journey with great views over the valleys. Innsbruck itself is nice to have a mooch around for a day off skiing with interesting buildings and nice cafes/restaurants.
All in all a fantastic resort, which has plenty to see and do. I would recommend for couples, families, friends and singles but not for you if you want to party scene and lively après-ski.
PS if you go to Austria skiing you have to try a germknoedel (giant yeast dough dumpling usually with plum filling and served with custard, or kaiserschmarnn (thick pancake usually cut up and served with apples or cherries and sprinkled with icing sugar) or hot chocolate with rum or a gluwein!! We usually try and have all during the week - and then wonder why our salopettes are tighter by the end of the week :-))

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for being so enthusiastic about our hotel and for having perfectly explained everything not only as far as our hotel is concerned, but also Seefeld in general. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We received a warm welcome. All staff friendly and helpful. Food superb and plenty of it! Beautiful balcony views of the surrounding mountains. Afternoon coffee/tea and cake are a welcome stop-gap 'til your evening meal. The pool and sauna provide a great way to unwind after a hard day's walking. We were the only couple given a large packed lunch for our final early morning transfer to Saltsburg - all other Tomson & Crystal guests at other hotels in Seefeld had to find their own breakfast on their last morning. Typical of this hotel's real service with a smile. A short walk into Seefeld gives this hotel better views of the mountains and a silent night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for having appreciated your ski holidays and our hotel. We are glad to hear that our offered services matched with your expectations! We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof

Address: Munchner Strasse 114, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the magnificent unspoiled nature we welcome you in one of the most famous place of the Alps, the olympic region of Seefeld. Due to the particular location we are the perfect starting point for skiers, wanderers and all amateurs of mountains and nature. The Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof - centrally located only 400 metres from the centre of Seefeld - consists of two connected builings and is the perfect place to spend your holidays. The 77 elegant and tastefully furnished rooms are equipped with shower or bathtub, toilet, hairdryer, satellite flat screen TV, telephone, minibar, safe, free wifi Internet access and mostly also with balcony. In our restaurant, furnished with Swarovski chandeliers, in the morning a rich gourmet buffet breakfast is offered. In the afternoon we welcome you in our bar for coffee, tea and cakes. After a hard and exciting day in the mountains you will enjoy in the evening dinner choosing a 3-course-menu including a rich salad, vegetable and starters buffet. In the wellness centre guests relax in the swimming-pool, sauna or steam, bath (included in the rate). Other free offered services are games corner for adults and children, table tennis and wifi Internet access in the whole hotel. Parking is available free of charge. The skibus stops in front of the hotel. Rates include our rich gourmet buffet breakfast. Supplement half board: 10 Euro per person per day (please indicate upon reservation). Reductions for children sharing the room with 2 adults: 0-1 year for free, 2-6 years 50% discount, 7-12 years 30% discount (upon prior request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Hotel Seefeld

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tyrol-Alpenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.