We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking spot in a great location for access to the sights of Bavaria.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Geigenbuehel 185, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breathtaking spot in a great location for access to the sights of Bavaria.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at the Astoria Relax & Spa on the second segment of our tour of the Alps and Dolomites. For us Americans the approach to the Relax & Spa might conjur up visions of an old fashion motor lodge but once you enter the building the place is fantastic. The dining area where we had breakfast twice and a dinner is very nicely appointed and the food and service was excellent. Our room was very nice and clearly recently remodeled. The motif is mountain hunting/hiking lodge but still very inviting and relaxing. That said they only get a 4 out of 5 rating because the beds are just too firm (not unusual for European hotels) and while we recognize that Europe isn't as into air conditioning as we are in the states they still need to consider airflow. Our room had a modern French door that opened to a balcony (which was lovely) and could double hinge in order to open like a reverse casement window for air to come in. The same applied to the window in the bathroom. Unfortunately the place is likely so well insulated for winter patrons that the rooms get stuffy quickly and while venting the windows helped somewhat it wasn't enough to move the air and the overall sleeping comfort just was not that good. Still this is a beautiful property with a very friendly staff and overall a good spot with great amenities.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    29
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
147
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

On May 13 we arrived to the hotel based on reservation we made through Tiscover. We had the OK, however the hotel did not have any. We were real embarrassed. It took about an hour to complete the check in. The atmosphere at the hotel is very formal and "heavy".The lounge area is very old fashion and the furniture s are in a very bad shape.Unfortunately, we paid a fortune and not really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja S, Manager at Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Astoria.
I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. I understand your disappointment regarding the check in process and we do apologise for this inconvenience.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem areas you identified and to prevent any future occurrences.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Best regards,
Tanja Schweiger
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel seven times. This time we had a newly renovated room with a large terrace. It was great.
The staff are so friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. They really go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable.
The facilities are great, and everything is always clean and well maintained.
The scenery is stunning, and there is so much to do and see to fill your days. Of course, just taking in the views, or relaxing in the great spa or read a book by the in- and outdoor pool.
The hotel also has free Wi-Fi which works well and is easy to connect to
This is an excellent hotel and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja S, Manager at Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Google Translation
Lieber "Corujabis",

vielen Dank, dass Sie wieder unser Gast waren und uns nach Ihrem Aufenthalt so toll bewertet haben.
Dieses Lob gebe ich gerne an die gesamten Mitarbeiter weiter.
Nun freuen wir uns alle auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen.

Herzlichst

Tanja Schweiger
Direktion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

When you pay a premium for staying in a supposed five star hotel you expect the experience to match the price. Sadly this was not the case.

On the positive side, the breakfast and evening meal selection and quality was good and the senior staff were both attentive and courteous. The indoor/outdoor pool and sauna area facility was also of a high standard (but dimly lit). The newly renovated standard “Karwendel” rooms were comfortable albeit the antler/wood theme an acquired taste.

However there were numerous aspects which were minor irritations in isolation but as a whole gave a poor impression.

a) The huge lounge bar area looked tired and in need of refurbishment; for example the seating upholstery was faded and worn in places. The situation was not help by the fact that smoking is still permitted in certain public areas in Austria and, despite being a “Wellness” hotel, a stale smoke smell pervaded the area.

b) You do not expect to have to compete with extraneous noise during an evening meal (post 8pm). The ambience was disturbed by a whingeing toddler with a musical box, a pre-teen playing video games and a parent having long loud telephone conversations with (presumably) an absent spouse. This could all be avoided by arranging a children’s tea-time between 5pm and 7pm.

c) It appeared that the interior designer’s concept for the “Karwendel” rooms was ‘form over functionality’. The bathroom itself, shower and WC had ridiculously impractical opaque glass double doors. The bath tub had sloping sides each end making it impossible for anyone over 5’ 3” (1.6m) to stretch out and relax. Other niggles were the inexcusable presence of mould on the shower silicon sealant, a bedside light switch, which could not be reached while lying in bed, and exposed IT/power cabling.

d) It was also apparent that some junior staff required additional training and application to their tasks. Table etiquette was lacking and the bar service was patchy and clumsy at best and non-existent at worst. Also there was an occurrence of mischarging drinks.

e) There was a serious slip hazard to the steps to the parking area as compacted snow had not been cleared and this situation persisted for three days. Also there were occasions when the internal polished stone stair had snow melt on the surface again resulting in a slip hazard. These demonstrate that inspections of the hotel common parts were not undertaken on a regular basis.

f) Lastly the hotel is a good 15 minutes walk from the centre of Seefeld and the main ski-lifts. There is a local bus from the vicinity but the service intervals are at every 40 minutes during the day. Therefore it would be reasonable to expect the hotel to provide a complimentary shuttle service early morning and late afternoon as normal in other resorts.

In view of the above, this hotel does not live up to its five star status and represents poor value for money. Unless there is a concerted effort to improve the dated decor, standards and service, it is difficult to see how this hotel will be able to generate repeat business or attract new customers by word of mouth.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Went to the day spa the staff were fantastic, very professional yet friendly. Facilities fab it was €38 which included robe, slippers, lunch and drinks. Loved it was there 6 hours could of stayed longer. Relaxation room was lovely and I had the sauna which had 5 different rooms and baths to myself it was heaven. Would recommend to anyone who wants some r&r! Had a facial the best I've ever had and a massage felt amazing leaving. Thanks

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We travelled to this hotel to meet with friends and celebrate a birthday. A friendly hotel shuttle picked us up at the railway station. Already at breakfast our waitress brought a lit candle, a little gift from the hotel and a glass of sparkling wine. In the afternoon we had ordered a very fresh and tasty home made fruit tart for four persons. Afterwards we enjoyed the heated indoor and outdoor pool while snow was falling and then relaxed in a quiet spa. Dinner was a five-course event with reasonably priced wines. We felt welcome. Staff was very attentive.

Room Tip: The nicest view is towards the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have been at this hotel a few times now and always had a great experience. I especially like the nice and warm cosy bar with the fire where I read my books daily enjoying a drink in the afternoon. Also tha spa is very good! Will come back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria

Address: Geigenbuehel 185, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in the Astoria relax & spa hotel. Elegance, stylish surrounding and comfort. The special flair and warmth of our hotel greets you the moment you enter, whatever the season. Enjoy your tea in front of the crackling fire or relax mind and body with an enjoyable book in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relax & Spa Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.