We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, overpriced and very dated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jagat Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jagat Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Jagat Palace Hotel
on Pushkar Lake, Pushkar 305022, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Pushkar
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dirty, overpriced and very dated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Do not stay here beware, think has many fake reviews. Really dated, unclean sheets and table cloths. A little out of town but not problem.. Electric keeps breaking and you get stuck in lift. Restaurant out of time warp. Just feels dirty and overpriced at £70 a night. Not luxury or premium. Weird mismatching chintzy furniture/ rooms. No people there so empty... All in all worst place stayed in india

Asked for credit card details upfront and when said we didn't like room got very aggressive and rude and said we had to stay night

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    11
    15
    11
See reviews for
12
23
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aalborg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Staying in this hotel I have experienced real India in Maharaja times . It all starts as soon as you get saluted by the doorman .The rooms are fantastically decorated with old style furniture to make you feel as if you are the Maharaja . If you know what is good for you ask to have your breakfast in the garden . With the peacocks chanting in the distance you will have the best breakfast with atmosphere imaginable . Pushkar it self is an adventure but here you live in it's midst .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel was just a step before Jaipur. We only spend one night.
The building is a bit "rococo" old furniture (small old also).
I guess people read comments sometime because everyone was nice from start to end.
Food was "ok"
Lots of moskitos outside (and inside if you open your windows)
And lots of pigeons making noise start at 6AM walking on air conditioning.
Old style bathroom but clean.

I did not choose this hotel myself the agency did it for me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed here one night in october 2011 after having travelled around in Delhi, Jaipur, Udaipur etc. By arrival the hotel seemed magnificent and majestic - from afar. But a closer look revealed that this hotel is nothing but a mere copy of a palace - and it looks more like someone tried to build a concrete palace in a hurry, not bothering too much about the details.
Anyway... The rooms seemed nice at first. They weren't super clean - was too afraid too look under the bed because of what I thought I might find down there! The bed was like a stone and very wobbly.
The food was depressing - we had both lunch and dinner a la carte and the sad, dissapointing breakfast buffet, which consisted of a dry imitiation of bread and... well, that was about it, i guess! Other than that, as others have stated, the hotel doesn't serve meat or alcohol. We had many delicious vegetarian meals elsewhere in India, but this wasn't one of the places.
The staff seemed very rude and indifferent, and they tend to just stand around and stare at you whilst obviously talking about you behind your back.
In the evening we had our meal by the poolside (with a lot of big bats flying over our heads constantly). I'm glad I only stayed one night this place and to be honest I could easily have gone without visiting Pushkar (and this hotel as well). Don't waste your time here - go somewhere else!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The hotel needs a major refurbishment. The furniture in the rooms is old and tired. The beds were basic. The curtains in the bedroom were poor because they didn't cover the window and were quite flimsy. We realised that the sun would shine directly into the bedroom in the early morning so we hung a blanket over the window - it worked well. There were no curtains in the bathroom and its window wouldn't shut. Forget trying to get anything on the TV. If a swim is important, the pool looked okay but I didn't try it. Visitors should be aware that Pushkar is a no alcohol and strictly vegetarian town. The town was disappointing, especially when compared to Varanasi. The 'holy men' were aggressive and demanded huge amounts of money after giving a prayer blessing. In general I thought the whole Pushkar experience a rip off and a waste of time. Go to Varanasi instead.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Comfortable rooms and good sleep. Staff polite but lacking the sparkle and friendliness of other hotels in Rajasthan. Some guests hustled out of their rooms by over-officious room checks on the morning of departure. Restaurant very average. Food good but choice limited.

Room Tip: Service seemed to be far better in the restaurant and rooms on the left side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalandhar city, india
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I happened to stay in this hotel from 26th and 27th of november and following was my experience. Very honestly if you are not a guest from outside India dont even bother staying here because you wouldnt even get the basic things which you look for when you stay in a hotel. In the morning i called room service for tea and after waiting for almost 40minutes got a response that right now all the people are attending to an overseas group and Tea could take another 15-20 mts. so we eventually cancelled. The Same day i left the keys at 10 AM at the reception and went for the day and came back in the evening and when we opened the room it was a nightmare. NO HOUSEKEEPING WAS DONE AND THE ROOM SERVICE PEOPLE HAD NOT EVEN CLEARED THE SERVICE THEY DID IN THE MORNING BEFORE WE LEFT. Also please be prepared to sleep there on matresses which are as hard as a cement slab. But when we complained in the morning while check out i dont think the front office desk people were even bothered. I would be very grateful if trip advisor can forward this message of mine to Mr. Jagat singh, the owner so that atleast it comes in his knowledge.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jagat Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Palace Hotel

Address: on Pushkar Lake, Pushkar 305022, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Pushkar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Pushkar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Jagat Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Singh Palace Pushkar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jagat Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.