We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooftop restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sixth Sense

The Sixth Sense
Chotti Basti, next to Mali ka Mandir | A Haveli Hotel, Inn Seventh Heaven, Pushkar 305022, India
0091-145-5105455
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 59 Restaurants in Pushkar
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Indian, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Dear all..We are based inside ... ....The Seventh Heaven .. a popular hotel in pushkar ..with a fantastic atmosphere and ambiance..the sixth sense is on the roof top on two levels .. one is closed but with windows and open spaces all around as well..with sofas and dining and a computer for guest use ..on the top level there is open air seating with great views of pushkar including the lake .ambient music ..attentive staff .. we cater to outside non staying guests too.. besides our in house guests . .We are a quiet place ..And serve quality fresh good vegetarian food ...We try our best to accommodate to your needs and wishes .And try to please everyone as best as we can ..Thank you ...complimentary WI-FI is available
sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Lovely rooftop restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great place to eat with good food and service. It is on th etop 2 levels of a lovely old Haveli hotel, and is very convenient for the town centre.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    82
    35
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Bad service & microwaved food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We'd read good reviews about this restaurant and decided to head out for a treat. I opted for a tomato and cheese penne pasta my husband went for an Indian curry and rice. The curry and rice arrived and were good however when my pasta arrived the top was cold and the pasta in the bottom of the dish although hot was not cooked. The cheese on the top looked soggy and like it had just come out of a microwave. Not what you'd expect from a smart restaurant. No staff were around so my husband went to the kitchen to explain what was wrong with the dish, the waiter replied 'what do you expect me to do about it?'. The waiter then stropped over to our table and removed the bowl looking incredibly grumpy as he did. No one apologised or seemed in the least bit bothered. The service at this place was shocking with only 5 tables occupied we had to walk around the restaurant to ask for everything from the menu to the bill. I was shocked at this restaurant as there were many other cheaper local restaurants who delivered better food and better service. I'd save your money and go elsewhere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiaPushkar, Owner at The Sixth Sense, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
after reading your review ..i only feel bad that this was your experience which i find very hard to accept ...firstly we do not have..and never had..any microwaves here .so your heading about food being microwaved is not correct . sorry no plastic ...no fluorescent lighting ...here and staff not being there seems really unlikely as i have every evening at least 5 waiters on the roof..and you not getting attention when we were not buzy ...i really do not understand what that could be due to..i am sorry though because of course what you have written in here is very damaging for our reputation...which we have taken great care to build over the years ..and so easy to bring down by a guest who came for 1 meal..its a shame really ..that business like ours who have worked so hard to build up our place ...can get our name spoiled by such reviews ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite place to hang out in Pushkar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We didn't stay at this lovely hotel (Seventh Heaven) but its restaurant (The Sixth Sense) quickly became our primary breakfast spot and some dinners were had there too. There was room for our group of five to spread out and relax. We loved it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location but doesn't deliver on the food front”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Sixth Sense is on the rooftop of the hotel named Inn Seventh Heaven which doesn't look much from the outside. Once you step-in to the courtyard, you realise there is something special hiden within its walls. Unfortnuately, the food in the restaurant isn't it!!

Sixth Sense is a very tranquil setting. Peaceful with great views over Pushkar. Service was nice enough, nothing special but nothing to complain about. So its a pity that the most important part (the food) was so disappointing. Having been travelling India for 3 weeks now, our meal at Sixth Sense remain the biggest disappointment to date. The Dal was bland, flavourless and the consistency was very runny. We've had a few since that have been runny but the lack of flavour in the Dal and an average Biriayni was not what we expected based on previous reviews.

On the positive side, a couple sitting in front of us were tucking in to a Thali which looked great!

Definately go here for a drink on the rooftop but for good food, try elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiaPushkar, Owner at The Sixth Sense, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
dear guest ..thanks very much for your review and very sorry that we did not meet up on teh food and service front at your visit...i admit that we have been over whelmed during the camel fair time...with a lot of guests ..and with everything being made fresh and a la carte menu..our kitchen and restaurant staff could not cope with the demand ...so in retrospect..we have made a new set menu for our buzy times..which are the evenings..camel fair and xams period ..a menu which includes all the favorites and leaves out the unnecessary ...hoping therefore to provide a much better service ...in keeping with our reputation and the wonderfulll setting taht we have created ...the new menu starts...tommorow...the 3rd of dec ...wish you were here !!......
thanks
anoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bas experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Note: we were there during the Pushkar camel fair, but a restaurant should be able to manage in busy times.

We went here because of the good reviews on tripadvisor, and were quite disappointed. The haveli is beautiful and the ambiance is amazing, stepping into the door is really 'wow' with the decorations, fountain, candles and flowers.

However, the service and the food was average, if not poor. It took them a long time to get us the menu and take our orders. We ordered a starter, just garlic bread, and that took them an hour (!) to bring us. In the meanwhile they neglected to bring us our drinks. The garlic bread was a specialty, but is just plain toast with some garlic.. cheap. The food came eventually (with the help of the friendly English older man who seemed to work there as well) but was just mediocre and nothing special.

So the restaurant didn't deliver, and that for a higher than average price.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiaPushkar, Owner at The Sixth Sense, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
dear guest ..thanks very much for your review and very sorry that we did not meet up on teh food and service front at your visit...i admit that we have been over whelmed during the camel fair time...with a lot of guests ..and with everything being made fresh and a la carte menu..our kitchen and restaurant staff could not cope with the demand ...so in retrospect..we have made a new set menu for our buzy times..which are the evenings..camel fair and xams period ..a menu which includes all the favorites and leaves out the unnecessary ...hoping therefore to provide a much better service ...in keeping with our reputation and the wonderfulll setting taht we have created ...the new menu starts...tommorow...the 3rd of dec ...wish you were here !!......
thanks
anoop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sixth Sense also viewed

 

Been to The Sixth Sense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sixth Sense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.