We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One among Pancha Sarovar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pushkar Lake

Pushkar Lake
Ajmer District, Pushkar, India
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$74*
and up
Private Tour: Pushkar Day Trip from Jaipur
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Pushkar
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Greater Noida, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One among Pancha Sarovar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Have a bath with Sankalpa. Do pooja to sarovar. Those who do not have Parents, Perform Tarpan & Pindapradan which is necessary for the departed. If this is to be done, take required information of the previous generations. The pandits at the sarovar are ok in these rituals. But the amount of demand for donation to their trust is unreasonable. However after going there we cant resist ourselves from these rituals because of their demand.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    208
    148
    62
    53
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mazar-i-Sharif, Afghanistan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DEEPAK AYURVEDA in Pushkar is a total CHEAT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Deepak Ayurveda in Pushkar is a total cheat!

He gave me the worst so-called 'pedicure' ever. He used dirty and unprofessional equipment and pretended to give me a pedicure, whereas he definitely does not know what that is. After a 20 min treatment, he wanted to have 300 rupees, whereas we agreed on less in the beforehand. I was really angry because I have rarely felt that cheated. I still can t believe how rude he was!!! So do not go to this guy for a so-called pedicure or manicure!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Yes. I was stupid and got conned out of money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I would like to preface this review by saying my boyfriend and I had been in India several weeks before going to Pushkar. We also travel extensively, so we foolishly thought we were immune to these kinds of scams. After extreme frustration, several insults and 400 rupees later we found out we were not. Learn from my mistakes and do not be branded with the marks the ignorant tourist in Pushkar.

My boyfriend and I spent the one day/night in Pushkar on our way from Jaipur to Jodhpur. We had been travelling in India for several weeks, mostly in larger cities. At first we were very excited to be in Pushkar, it seemed charming and wonderful. We checked into our hotel and made our way down to the lake. I always try to be extremely sensitive towards any religious customs we should be observing. We took our shoes off, read the signs for decorum at the entrance of the lake, and proceeded towards the steps. A man was standing at the entrance and said "Its respectful to throw a flower into the lake. You must pay respect to the lake before you can enjoy it". We thought he was simply selling flowers and thought "Why not!" and he handed us two. We went to pay him 20 rupees and he declined and said very genuinely "Just pay respect to the lake".

We walked down the steps towards the lake together, at this point two separate men approached us and said "Here we will show you what to do. This is a religious place and you must do it correctly". The warning bells should have been going off loudly at my head in this point, but not wanting to do anything to offend the traditions we let them walk us to the lake. They instructed me that the ladies throw their flowers on this side, and the men on the other. It would be offensive if we did not do it this way. They left us alone for a second and we separated and I sat down to throw my flower in the water. Here the con man popped up behind me again. "This is what we say before we throw the flower in" he told me. For the first 20 seconds I thought he was actually being helpful and was a pious religious man, perhaps he worked there and wanted to spread information about his religion. After about 20 seconds a tray full of rice etc popped up behind me and I knew I was being taken in. My initial thought was to have this done as fast as possible, toss the guy 50 rupees and be done with it. He very quickly had me repeat some mumbo jumbo, one part included having me pray for a nice car. At first I thought I was mistaken and he had said karma, but no he wanted me to pray for a nice car. He could see my demeanor was changing so he quit with the fake religious prayers and started asking me for donations to his "charity" and talking about how money does not matter to those who will have good karma. I got up and at this point he was actually standing between me and the path to my boyfriend saying "Why cant you decide about yourself. What about your wishes for your family etc". This man may have been a fake religious con man, but he had magical powers of some sort. Before I could even realize what was happening he was holding my hand and as I was yelling "NO BRACELET" he was tying a string bracelet on my arm. It was on tight and that sucker was not coming off.

I quickly got my boyfriend, who was now standing up with a big red dot of rice on his forehead and the same flimsy bracelets on. These are the marks of travelling ignorance in Pushkar, and we had been branded with them. I dont know how they did it, because my boyfriend is notoriously stingy, but they had weaseled him out of 400 rupees for the bracelets. They were not satisfied with this however and began insulting us and demanding more money. We were done with this whole situation and began walking away. "My friends dont be angry! Thank you! Thank you!" They said as they tried to physically block our way towards the stairs. We just kept walking and at this point the men kept trying to shake our hands and asking if we had a good time. No, we sure as hell did not.

This is one of about five scams we saw going on in Pushkar that day. Its a beautiful place but just make sure you know what to expect before you go.

On a separate note, I really appreciate birds and go "birding" for a hobby. I do not, however, appreciate stepping in pigeon poop barefoot everywhere I walk. Seriously there are thousands of pigeons and their poop is everywhere at the lake.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Pushkar Lake is where the local people go to pray/bathe (I'm not too sure what, but they're not just having a wash!)
It's a real chance to see the spiritual side of Hinduism.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Pushkar sarovar is clean, beautiful and serene The buildings/temples around it give a feeling of being in ancient times. There are lots of people who will follow you and ask to do pooja on the ghats (religious hindu prayers) but I was with a guide so I was not bothered much.

Visited the only Brahmaji temple in the world. It was not crowded so I could visit in just 10 minutes. Was fun to walk through narrow streets lined with all kind of shops and restaurants.

Traveled from Ajmer by a low floor bus. It took only half an hour for the ride from Ajmer to Pushkar.

Overall a good experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pushkar Lake also viewed

 

Been to Pushkar Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pushkar Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.