We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic at first, lovable at the end...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheesh Mahal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orchha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheesh Mahal
Jahangir Mahal, Orchha 472246, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Orchha
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rustic at first, lovable at the end...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

When we first stepped in sheesh mahal, we were quite disappointed. The rooms were small and dingy and our friends who got a room on the ground floor overlooking the parking were not happy. They upgraded to the maharani suite which was available for one night only, and then happiness set it... The suite was good, bathroom with tub and good hot water shower later, we started appreciating the fact that we were staying in a 500 year old fort...
Our recommendation, if not the maharani or the exquisite maharaja suite with open balcony and jhula, please don't bother staying here.
Only advantage of staying in sheesh mahal is the food and that the awesome sound and light show is steps away....

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    47
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
39
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

When you go up the winding road and find yourself face to face with the majestic palaces, Jehangir Mahal, Raja Mahal and Sheesh Mahal, you are indeed transported to a bygone era. Loved the ambience, service and food. Very helpful staff. Had some problems with electricity but were attended to immediately. I will highly recommend this place to anybody travelling to Orchha.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

You will be place in the middle of history of Orchha and its glorious past and will constantly wonder who lived in your room in those times, years and centuries ago. Apart from this, technical issues definitely require improving: plumbing and cleanliness of bathroom. Nothing critical, just a bit of attention to details. Wi-fi only at lobby. Still great experience and best option in Orchha.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

As expected, MP tourism scores high with this heritage hotel. Right inside the historical Jehangir Mahal, this 7 room hotel is a must have experience for travelers going to Orchha. Beautifully decorated rooms with all possible amenities and fantastically designed dining area will make you feel special and part of the rich history this region has. Staffs are extremely good and co-operative.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We didn't stay here but just lounged in the restaurant in the afternoon for some cold beer and hot papadams to while away some time while it rained outside. Eventually had a light lunch as well. Lovely property and the rooms we peeked in were attractive. If you don't stay here, at least go by and see the property. It is a glimpse of luxury travel of the past.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the Maharaja Suite for couple of nights in Nov 2013.

Pros:
- It is situated right between Jehangir Mahal and Raj Mahal. You can see all of the town from the comfort of your room. Seeing the sun set on Raj Mahal and rise on Jehangir Mahal is priceless. If you stay at the Maharaja Suite, you can watch sound-and-light show from the comfort of your room!
- The Maharaja suite is very big - fit for a king. It has a three layers of verandah in front, fully equipped with a swing and a couple of dining tables. Bathrooms are spacious and you can enjoy the best view in town from the comfort of your toilet seat!
- The tariff is very cheap.
- The service is better than what you expect in a standard govt run place. I have never seen a "manager" in these TDCs. In here, the manager did look for us and ensured our stay was comfortable. The laundary service was good. They also helped us book transportation.
- Normally, MPTDCs dont have room service. Here they do.

Cons:
- The food is pretty average. We tried a few other places in town and they were equally poor. So maybe what you get here is par for the town.

Room Tip: You have to stay at the Maharaja Suite. It is worth every extra rupee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Staying in an actual palace room re-done was a great experience for me. Though you cant expect all modern facilities in a room from those day but the royalty makes up for it. The open terrace infront of the room was a play field for my little son and I lokes the view of the wilderness ahead.

There is room for improvement in the upkeep and hospitality, but overall good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheesh Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheesh Mahal

Address: Jahangir Mahal, Orchha 472246, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Orchha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Sheesh Mahal Orchha
Sheesh Mahal Hotel Orchha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheesh Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sheesh Mahal to your Saves list