We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Tents" made for a Nice Change” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchha Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Orchha Resort to your Saves list
The Orchha Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kanchanghat | Distt. Tikamgarh, Orchha 472246, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Orchha
Collingwood, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“"Tents" made for a Nice Change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The resort has normal rooms too, but our group chose the tents to live in. It poured with rain that night but we stayed perfectly dry and the heaters kept us warm. The tents have all the trappings of a normal hotel room, including ensuite shower and toilet facilities. Orchha has a beautiful old palace to see so is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Watch out for the unseen critters who share your tent at night. I lost a pair of socks to something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    92
    67
    22
    15
See reviews for
29
107
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had intended to reach Datia by 7 pm crossing Jhansi but it was not possible. Highways turn dark past 6pm in winters. I took a left turn inside for Orchha, the only place to find decent hotels in the vicinity. The 8 km seemed like eternity with one railway crossing. Orchha resort is like Oasis in wilderness, a fine well furnished place with restaurant, swimming pool and very comfortable rooms. The staff was so courteous, espescially manager Gayri was very helpful in accomodating me for the last minute booking inspite of having host of European clients.
My room on the ground floor was adjacent to pool where classical music ... tabla, harmonium was being played ... I was quite tired, so ordered food in room which was served hot and promptly and slept. Morning looked very refreshing with the historical sites just adjacent to this hotel and Betwa river idly flowing so close. I had quick breakfast and left ... it was really a very refreshing stay. The road to highway looked beautiful with the castles and fort remnants en route to the highway. 2 overloaded trains were passing by, so had to wait for almost half hour at the crossing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Orchha Resort (2 nights in January 2013). Some of the comments by other reviewers seem a bit harsh I think.
I was very happy here. My room was very close to the lobby area so I was able to pick up the free wifi in my room which was a huge bonus for me.
My room was just a 'standard' one so there was no view (in fact it looked as though there was a brick wall & machinery & 'stuff' outside my window but you couldn't really draw the net curtain back to see exactly what the 'non view' was. It didn't bother me as the wifi in my room was a fair trade off I reckoned.
The hotel seemed a little bit 'run down' to me but this was more in the way of a lack of using money for refurbishments etc rather than a lack of care by the staff. The management seemed to strive to provide good facilities & service with 'what they had'.
Some of the good points (which are often lacking in other Indian hotels):
Everything in the room worked
Good fridge
Good lighting (especially over the dressing table & over the mirror in the bathroom)
Make up/shaving mirror in bathroom
Lots of plug points (& in convenient places)
Swimming pool & nice seating area (although it was too cold in January sadly)
Comfy recliner sofa & table
Bed was comfy & clean
Bath with plenty of hot water
TV worked fine (I got the Discovery channel so there were obviously English speaking channels available)
Breakfast was a very nice buffet on my 1st morning. There was no buffet on my 2nd morning (obviously not enough guests). I still had a very nice breakfast.
Location was excellent.
I would definitely be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 214 is near the lobby area & picks up the free wifi. The 'trade off' is that you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

As such Orchha doesn't have much to offer apart from the temples. However this welcoming place made the decision of staying at orchha for one night justified. The tents are comfortable and a welcome change from concrete structures. The food was nice and so was the service. The resort has a small pool as well, although i can't really say how well is it maintained hygienically. Had it not been the generator and somewhat pricey I would have rated it even higher. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

When we pulled up to this place I was so happy.. what a Beautiful looking place. WOW!
There is a beautiful pool on the property, The ground are gorgeous with flowers everywhere. Its only a short walk into town. We stayed in the tent rooms which were very nice and surprisingly very comfortable. I enjoyed the stay here. The rooms were large and very clean! When you walk out of the tents you can see this beautiful complex of ancient ruins. The view is gorgeous. This place is like a Huge resort on some island.

The Buffet is very nice. A bit pricey but the food is hot and ready to eat. If you go into town your could wait an hour to eat. The food is good at the hotel. My complaint is the Price. I asked for a bottle of water with the meal and they charge 70 rupee for water!! its 12 - 15 rupee anywhere else. If you walk down the street one minute you will pay 15 rupee. I found even the Chai overpriced and you get a tiny little china cup of tea then they walked away with an almost full little tea pot of the rest of the chai that went cold and went to waste while I watched.

The staff at the hotel just seemed unhappy and uninterested. On the first day one of our friends handed a 1000.00 rupees to the waiter to pay for his meal at the buffet. When the waiter couldn't make change at the table he walked away and then came back about 5 minutes later with change for 500.00 rupees. When our friend stated he gave the guy a 1000.00 the guy looked "confused" and said no 500.00 rupees. I had seen the whole thing and had to tell the waiter that NO it was 1000.00 rupees. At which point the waiter then said ok...Then he handed over the correct change from His Wallet. The incident left me feeling uncomfortable and wondering if it was an honest mistake or something else.

We were here with a large group of 16 people with g adventures in Nov 2012. Several of us had a plumbing problem on the last morning of our stay. When we went to turn the hot water on it came out Brown, Chunky, and Smelly! Now before this happened the shower was great - nice hot water with good pressure. So I am not sure what happened on the last morning but it happened in several of the tent rooms. Many of us didn't get a shower that morning. Maybe just a fluke .. I am not sure..
Great Wifi in the lobby!! Good strong connection.

I had a hard time with this review ... I liked the room and the amenities ... but the prices and the staff experiences make me want to not recommend this place. So I thought I would just list my experiences and let you decide what you think. I will give it an average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Orchha Resort is well presented and manages to feel both professional and welcoming at the same time.

We had booked a deluxe double room which initially looked good but we were disturbed by noise from a generator outside and a table tennis table outside the door. We were offered a swap to a marble room that was quiet and plush. The bed was comfortably soft - a welcome relief after some of the hard beds in India - and a heater was provided on request. The bathroom functioned well apart from a shower which could not keep a constant temperature - veering between very hot and cold and back again. The rooms do not really have great views - the hotel has a low profile (thank goodness or it would ruin the chhantri next door) but if you do need a view then just step out to steps behind the swimming pool - river on one side and chhantri on the other.

The buffet supper was good value at only R500 a head. The selection was limited but the Indian food was tasty. Breakfast was also tasty and on our last day when we had to leave at 6am for a train, the chef prepared a packed breakfast for us including delicious paratha that were still warm when we got on the train at Jhansi Junction. Beer was pricey but it is not easily available in Orchha.

The hotel has free wifi, but the signal is only in the lobby. Still, free wifi is a pleasant surprise in India

Orchha Resort is easily walkable to the main sights of the village but just on the edge so it doesn't get the hustle and bustle of autorickshaws.

This is a nicely presented hotel in a beautiful setting - I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was part of our gadventure experience. We aren't someone who wants a pool, so can't apart from I know the yopung people on our group loved it. For us, it was the enjoyment of the back drop of the temples being so close and the tents. The staff were good as I had the wrong adaptor and they found one for me, food was good. I am not sure I weould have like to stay in the normal rooms, but they looked clean and large.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchha Resort

Address: Kanchanghat | Distt. Tikamgarh, Orchha 472246, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Orchha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchha Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Orchha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchha Hotel Orchha
The Hotel Orchha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchha Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.