We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgustingly Dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunrise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Sunrise to your Saves list
Hotel Sunrise
Main Rd River Side | Near Hotel Amar Mahal, Orchha 472246, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Orchha
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disgustingly Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel after seeing the favourable reviews for it on Trip Advisor but unfortunately cannot concur with them.

We're backpackers and not new to it- my partner also travelled India extensively a few years ago. We don't expect a huge amount but cleanliness is definitely top of our list and I would gladly describe the Sun Rise as a pit.

The room was filthy, made worse by the fact that the two guys and one young man who work there mooched around watching tv or sitting in the sun when they could've been giving the floors a quick mop or clearing away some of the extensive cobwebs. There were pubic hairs on our toilet seat, the floor was disgusting and the sheets and beds were very stained. The room stank of cigarette smoke and there was a full ashtray next to the bed. The air cooler was situated in some kind of outdoor passage that seemed to double as a cesspit and when turned on the whole room filled with the smell of sewage.

Finally, when we left, I dropped a button on the floor and when I bent down to look for it, I saw a used condom under the bed. How long it had been there is anybody's guess.

All of this was for 650 Rupees a night for a non a/c room, which is comparatively high even for a clean room.

The place was disgusting and I'd never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, room was clean and bed very comfortable. Lovely big bathroom with powerful hot shower :) breakfast was excellent and served to the room at a requested time! Within easy walking distance of all the main attractions, and very close to the river. For the price an excellent place to stay! Orchha is a beautiful place well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My self and my wife visited Orchha for a day on our way to Khajuraho. We booked the room online about 15 days in advance. Mr. Jain the Hotel Manager was very prompt in confirming our reservation. Mr. Jain arranged for our pick up from Jhansi station in the early morning of 26th Feb 2013. The Room is big but the bath room was very inconvenient and the foot mat was very wet and dirty.The hotel has 5 rooms in the first floor which were very spacious, clean and with all modern facilities. When asked why those rooms were not given to us, Mr. jain informed that they were reserved in July it self for a group of Foreign tourists(In fact they were actually there on that day).
The hotel cook was on leave. but we were provided breakfast and dinner from out side and served in the dining hall. Food was quiet good. . Mr. Jain also arranged for our sight seeing in Orchha and our onward journey to Khajuraho. We enjoyed the Sound & Light show at the Palace.
For a budjet and for a short stay for a day the hotel is very good.
Prafulla & saroja

Room Tip: Ask for only the rooms in the first floor. They are very good for the money we pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went with my friends and stayed here over two nights. I booked the hotel through an online site, there weren't too many review to begin with, so we really went with open minds. We had requested them to send a car over to pick us from Jhansi station.

Sunrise is a fairly nondescript 2 story building, essentially catering to the budget travelers. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but though we booked similar rooms, the sizes of the two rooms seemed to vary, one had a large bathroom with a tub ! while the other was more functional. My guess is, the hotel was rather empty at that time and we perhaps got one standard and one deluxe ?
Orchha was freezing *by our standards :-)* so having a tub and stuff, was inconsequential ! The geysers in the bathroom worked fine and there was hot water throughout.

Food service here in keeping with the temperature is rather glacial ! breakfast was included in the price. We ordered the usual suspects (omlette, toast, poha etc) and while they were all tasty, it took its own sweet time to arrive. The tea-coffee room service was prompt though.

The hotel is located close to the Betwa River crossing road/Chhattris, so its a 5-10 min walk to the main town intersection.

If you are looking for a decent value for money stay this is the place ! for a bit more atmosphere, resort style living look at other options. Either way you should be spending as less time in the hotel and more outside exploring this stunning and surreal town :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We are 2 females over 55 and we stayed here in Jan 2013. It is definitely for budget travellers but our room was clean, there was hot water and the staff went out of their way to help. They were friendly and chatty and checked that we were happy with everything. Breakfast was standard omelet, toast and tea/coffee which was plwnty considering we were paying $21 a night. Certainly fine for a nights stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

It was our first stay in a budget hotel and we weren't really sure what to expect. Had booked the room online at the recommendation of a friend who was passing though Orchha and had stayed here for two days.
Arriving in Orchha from Jhansi railway station in a bone-shaking ride in a diesel Autorickshaw, we decided to leave the vehicle as soon as we entered Orchha and walk with our backpacks to the hotel on foot. Bad decision! The hotel is at the other end of the town (although it is a small town), and entails a walk of about 800 meters on a busy intra-state road!

Reaching the hotel, the first impression was a bit of a shock as the entrance looked like that of a shop, instead of a hotel. There are two entrances to the hotel, the reception is at the roadside entrance, although you'll first see the entrance to the hotel's restaurant (not operational).
The hotel seemed to be empty of guests when we arrived about 30 minutes past check-in time (11:00 am) and the hotel manager seemed to remember me by name, so I guess there aren't many internet bookings in this hotel which is a shame because it is a pretty decent outfit in all.
The non A/C (it was mid-winter), Standard room we had been allotted was on the ground floor, but the bathroom was the size of a small closet and when we voiced our concern, the manager upgraded us to an A/C deluxe room with a larger bathroom, free of cost!
The room appeared pretty clean although we got the sheets replaced with new ones. The bathroom was spacious, there was running hot water in the taps and the plumbing was working, which was more than what we could ask from a budget class hotel in a sleepy little town like Orchha.
The room's furnishing were sparse, with a twin-bed, a table and a TV placed on another table. The curtains appeared a bit flimsy and see-through, but the windows overlooking the passage are frosted. There was cable on the TV but it showed only 50-something channels and there was no remote!
Breakfast was complimentary although the menu was pretty spartan. The room service quality was average and the food we ordered seemed to be sourced from a nearby restaurant run by the state tourism development corporation. Sleep quality was ok, as I'm a sound sleeper and on good days, can sleep through a storm. The hotel is located right next to a temple and the morning prayers bells served as the wake-up alarm.
In all, a good option for those who are looking for a value-for-money option.

Room Tip: First Floor rooms are better, with an adjoining balcony that overlooks the fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is great hotel for those on a budget. The rooms are very basic, but reasonably clean. The staff like a bit of a chat, but they were also helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunrise

Address: Main Rd River Side | Near Hotel Amar Mahal, Orchha 472246, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Orchha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new hotel in Orchha. Our hotel is in a prime location near all big hotels of Orchha. All places in town are walkable within five minutes. We serve in our hotel all kinds of Italian meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sunrise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunrise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.