We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet manager, lovely roof view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shri Mahant Hotel

Shri Mahant Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orchha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shri Mahant Hotel
Save
You added Shri Mahant Hotel to your Saves list
Laxmi Temple Road, Orchha, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Orchha B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sweet manager, lovely roof view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April 2013 and had a lovely stay. We found Orchha itself mesmorising so I think we would have been happy with any accommodation! The building is nothing special but they were very attentive in making sure we were comfortable (we changed rooms because of noisy air coolers) and gave us a discount on a great, large downstairs room. We found the food in Orchha a little limited but Jitan our host cooked us dinner one evening and it was delicious. Jitan is also training to be a tour guide and offered to accompany us on our day trip out of Orchha and be our complimentary guide, which was fantastic. Although the rooftop is empty you are surrounded by local neighbours and the views are, of course, brilliant.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our host Jhitan was very helpful indeed and when our original budget room upstairs had issues with the air cooling unit he moved us into a much bigger room down stairs. The home cooked food we had was really delicious and we were well looked after. The room was nothing special but it hd nice high ceilings and was cool. The roof top views were amazing and we watched the sun go down from there every night we stayed there. Would visit Orchha again and would stay here as long as Jhitan was still working.

Room Tip: Ground floor, 1st on the right hand side seems to be the best in the building.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our room was nice and clean with warm bedding and continually running hot water (other hotels so far only have had hot water for about 2mins before cutting out!) The roof terrace has a perfect scenic view of all of Orchha's temples and is the best place to watch the sun go down. The staff have been very helpful and friendly and if i ever return to Orchha i will definitely stay here again! We ate mainly in the town but the breakfast sandwich we had here (and the Chi) was very nice!
Dave and Joe of Nottingham England

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Unfotunetly this hotel is not well located in Orcha to reap the benefits of 'location'.
Instead it is up a hill, a good 10 walk away from the main action in town...however the loaction does place you into a more 'real' neighbourhood than the classic tourist zone, and the local kids playing in the bricks on-route into town are delightful!!
To add to its dissapointments, the hotel has no communual area, (no restaurant or breakfast room) and this is a let-down for the classic backpacking traveller in need of a cup of Chai in the morning!
Rooms are quite large and spacious with good lighting and a little garden area (with lots of frogs at night) - but they need a little more cleaning (evidence of mice in the first room we saw) and maintanance in order to gain better rankings!
The hotel definately has potential - small changes and more efforts could make this place better...

Room Tip: Check a few rooms before you choose; chose the cleanest looking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We wanted to go to Shri Mahant Guesthouse but our rickshaw took us to this hotel instead. It was dark so difficult to find out where he drived us.
This hotel is a bit outside the village, exept for the view from the roof top (but all hotels have roof top with view) it was nothing intressting there. The reception was not friendly and instead very cold. The room was noisy and absolutly not cosy. The roof top restaurant was not a restaurant but, just that, a roof top.
We left after one night when we discovered that it was the wrong place for us!
The price for one double room was 500rs and we got ill after breakfast!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We called one month in advance and booked a room for 4 nights. They said it was nice and clean and confirmed the booking. The guy on the phone was really nice.
We got sick at the previous destinations and couldn’t travel to Orchha on the planned date. When we called to explain we would be delayed but would still pay the missed nights, they said our room was no longer available, they were “rebooking” us somewhere else. That was shocking. Knowing the hotel situation in India I wanted to CHOOSE where I’m going to spend my nights, not just be sent anywhere. After we argued with them they suddenly said the room was available again.

To be fair, when we got there they gave us the room before cleaning it, the previous guest had left not long before, but it was very dirty.
The beds were made, but with dirty sheets from the previous guest, I don’t know if they had intention of changing them. While we were there, they came in, sweapt and cleaning the coffee table. They did have the intention of cleaning the room, but when we saw the shower THAT DID IT FOR US. It had a thick yellow crust in it with incorporated hair and dead insects. It looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in months. We immediately headed out to find a cleaner and more pleasant place to stay in.

We had booked the most expensive room hoping for something good, but that was not the case. The hotel and rooms are not pleasant.
The other reviews here say that the hotel was renovated in May, that’s why we chose to go there, but it really doesn’t seem like it was.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

The hotel (not to be confused with the guesthouse of the same name) is a short walk out of the center. Rooms vary in price and quality, but the beds look clean. My room had a bathtub and I wasn´t quick enough tor realize that there was no shower head or anything, but the bathtub itself looked so grotty that I wouldn´t have a bath in it for a lot of money. The building is also full of mosquitos, and my room got extraordinarily cold in a december night. I would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shri Mahant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shri Mahant Hotel

Address: Laxmi Temple Road, Orchha, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Orchha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Orchha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shri Mahant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.