We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our 2 months in India” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betwa Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orchha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Betwa Retreat
Save
You added Betwa Retreat to your Saves list
Rajaram Temple Road, Orchha 470046, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Orchha B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Highlight of our 2 months in India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had booked a cottage and when we arrived I asked if we could have a cottage with a view. I was shown a cottage with a view but also an historic stand alone building which seemed to be in its own private garden, complete with gazebo and iron furniture. It had magnificent views over the manicured lawns and gardens to the river below.The extra $A60.00 per night still placed it well below 1/3 of the cost of some other accommodation we stayed in however it by far the best. The main entrance to the heritage suite had double doors opening to a small lounge room. From this entrance we could see the pool. A large bedroom had lighted niches, a huge 4 poster bed with crisp linen and quality bedding, additional table and chairs and flat screen TV. This room had double doors opening to a small verandah with the lovely views described above. There was then a separate dressing room with casement windows (more views) and a large separate bathroom with full size bath and separate shower. All the furniture was functional and complimentary in a heritage style. We met one of the gardeners who proudly showed us the topiary, flower and kitchen garden. There were fresh flowers in the rooms of the suite and there were lots of beautiful birds. The staff were friendly and helpful, the service impeccable, the whole complex spotless and well maintained. Good restaurant with lots of light and more views. We did not know they organise rafting trips but I watched a group returning. They looked very happy and had all the right safety equipment. The best 4,990 rupees we ever spent.

Room Tip: Stay in the heritage suite, there is only one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    25
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
30
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I visited Orcha during rainy season. It was raining for the whole day. when i reached the hotel i found that the hotel is closely situated to Betwa river and the river was flowing like it will create a flood over there in orcha. The hotel offered a very good food and a comfortable stay. Although the service was not fast and the food was bit costly as compare to other restaurants.
We visited almost all the monuments of Orcha, but what i liked most was Ram Raja TempleTemple.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Lanndscaping and location is great with river at your eyesight from every corner you really feel relaxed listning to the water sounds
And the way they have maintained the history and charm within the hotel is also amazing
USP : the small historical inbuilts witin the hotel makes it a Royle ambience you are tend to feel royle and need less to say that some tent houses also give u a kingly camping feel what else you need on a holoday
Food : Must say it is not only one of the best in MP Tourism but also in comparasion to all other exixting near by have seen lot many people just join to Enjoy the food and songs in the evening one of the
Staff : Clean and well mainined and cultural staff most of them are connected to the place and hold the wish to serve indeed the management seems supportive and strict :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Very good location close to the river and a few minutes walk from the town. The landscaping is good and the place oozes historical charm.
We stayed one night in the Heritage Suite which was a great experience. There are minor maintenance issues which one has come to accept from state run establishments.
Although we did not have lunch or dinner at the restaurant, the breakfast was adequate.
Overall a pleasant stay with good service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Excellent location by the river in extensive well-kept grounds and near to the town and all the palaces and temples. A clean and well-kept hotel. A wonderful oasis during the day but in the evening it all changes; over the road behind the tents is a club/hotel which seems to specialise in Indian rock/dance music. During our 3 night stay, we were subjected to loud music every night until well after midnight. Even the ear plugs couldn't suppress it. It was obviously worse as we were in a tent so my recommendation would be to seek a cottage and avoid the tents at the back of the complex.
Breakfast choice was disappointing, evening meals were good but, having said that, we were both violently sick on our last night as a result of something we ate in our last meal. Just bad luck, I suppose.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed here for one night after we found that we couldn't stay for all 3 nights in the homestay (see review: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g319728-d1556574-r120942851-Orchha_Home_Stay-Orchha_Madhya_Pradesh.html).

Whilst staying at the home stay we visited a few hotels including the Sheesh Mahal and this one, both being run by MPTDC. We'd previously stayed at an MPTDC in Gwalior so knew that the food was good. The tents here seemed so much nicer than the rooms at the Sheesh and the luring pool gave the Betwa Retreat extra appeal.

Our "room" was a heritage tent, right opposite and dozen metres away from the pool. It was all done really nicely, with the lawns, the chairs, room-service delivering to the pool side area. I'd never stayed in a tent room before but loved the experience, even when it rained.

We ate here numerous times in the a/c restaurant and had drinks on the veranda overlooking the fast-flowing Betwa River - that's when the monsoon allowed us to of course. The menu is shared by all MPTDC properties and we found it to be very good and the service was good. The staff were certainly very helpful and we had some nice chats with them during the less busier periods.

I was blogging whilst on the trip and needed access to the Internet but there didn't appear to be Internet access or WiFi available. On speaking to a waiter he suggested I went to see his boss, M.S.Rana, who promptly said 'sure, give my five minutes and you can use my laptop'. Woah, really? Thanks. Later that day I needed to get on the net again and he switched the WiFi on so I could sit on the chairs outside his room and surf away. Pretty good service I thought.

On the day we left we checked out of our room and left our luggage in the reception area. After lunch we went around Orchha and came back so the kids could have a swim and we could have a drink. Cutting a long story short, my wife got absolutely soaked in a monsoon downpour, in the clothes she needed to travel in. Without asking, the restaurant staff went and got a few towels for her to dry herself with, even though we'd checked out hours ago.

My trouble is that I loved Orchha and I loved this hotel but if I ever went back there I'd be going for the homestay again. But then again this place was great for us.

Room Tip: Heritage tents near the pool mean you can sit on your room's veranda and watch your kids swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Key points:
a. 1500 for a couple for B&B is good value esp given the NICE restaurant
b. Lovely garden with so many swings for the kids and nice landscaping
c. Well appointed swiss tents with decent AC
d. Sufficient plug points all around for all your needs
e. Lovely restaurant with good decor and interiors and a nice evening cultural program
f. Right by the riverside and walking distance to the chhatris
g. The only minor issue - they're always booked out so they will remind u to clear out by 1230 hours - ofc, if u ask for a bit more time, they accomodate. But the call shows how busy they are.

Room Tip: The suites are a bit overpriced. At that price I'd expect a bit of a specific sitout area etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Betwa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betwa Retreat

Address: Rajaram Temple Road, Orchha 470046, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Orchha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betwa Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.