We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, friendly staff, great food but lots of ants in the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonali Regency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonali Regency to your Saves list
Hotel Sonali Regency
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot no.-3,Hamidia Road | Radha Talkies Road, Bhopal 462001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Bhopal
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, friendly staff, great food but lots of ants in the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in Bhopal for 1 night as a stopover on the way to the Pachmarhi hill station and ended up at Hotel Sonali on Lonely Planets recommendation.
We got a double room with a TV, fan, free wi-fi and an en-suite bathroom for 750r and there were no extra charges or taxes on top. We were told the only reason we didn't get the extra charges was because they were doing a special at the time but on other occasions you can expect to pay 37% on top of the room rate which is a quite ridiculous amount of service charges and tax to add on, ive never seen anything like that before, they must surely have just made the percentages up themselves.
The room itself was relatively small which was fine for us and it was also very clean although it seemed to have a large ant infestation somewhere. We found dead ants on the floor when we first arrived and then throughout the day and night there was a continuous stream of them on the floor, walls and ceiling, they kept falling on us while we slept. When we had been initially greeted by the friendly staff they had tried to get us into the more expensive room and were quite insistent about it and it may have been because of this reason.
The hotel has a great restaurant which serves delicious food for a reasonable price and it is easily the best place to eat in the area.
It is also in a decent location just a 5 min walk away from the train station so if you decide to get a tuk tuk it shouldn't cost any more than 20r.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review and I have certainly taken your feedback on board.
sir- this rainy season is as such that the infestation of ground ants goes up -and due to regular sprays they get killed when ever they enter the rooms -but we feel -Unfortunately we did not live up to your or my expectations on this occasion but I assure you that your perception will change the next time you visit us.
we have already adapted another way of anti ant treatment in that part of the hotel
Feedback of any kind always serves as a valuable tool for improvement.
We take all our guest comments very seriously and we would like to assure you that we are currently addressing a few concerns mentioned by you which are directly in our control.

thanking you sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
17
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

What I appreciated the most was the service that was very helpful and friendly.
The room was cozy, clean, hot water. I paid 600 rupees with tax included. The postion is good to go to the bus and train station. Not far from the New market. The room needs some painting.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and I have certainly taken your feedback on board.
we have already started on the whitewash of the rooms ,
thanks to you -guest stay will change the next time they visit us.
Feedback of any kind always serves as a valuable tool for improvement.
We take all our guest comments very seriously and we would like to assure you that we
are fortunate enough to get feed back from our guests thanking you
sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Was there for 2 days, more of a official visit, the staff is courteous and reciprocate fast.
WiFi was there, but due to technical issues it did not respond fast.
A good eatery is a stones throw away Mohan Sweets and Snack. Theater is opp the road, in case you change your mind for a movie.

Over all good, will surely come back.

Room Tip: Entry of the Hotel is from back side, so one needs to take care of that (behind Ranjit hotel), other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive comments looking forward to serve you again.
Warm Regards, sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

From the start this place was not what you would expect. Not only did they not take reservations for there non ac rooms they were also difficult to find. When we finally made it to the hotel and checked in we were presented with a room that had marks all over the walls and sheets. The room still had the rubbish from the previous tenant in the trash can and when we asked if the room had been cleaned we were assured that a staff member would go up to the room and clean it. All they did was take our toilet paper and empty the trash. All together the service was ok but nothing to write home about. Just like Bhopal we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review and I have certainly taken your feedback on board. Unfortunately we did not live up to your or my expectations on this occasion but I assure you that your perception will change the next time you visit us.
Feedback of any kind always serves as a valuable tool for improvement. We take all our guest comments very seriously and we would like to assure you that we are currently addressing a few concerns mentioned by you which are directly in our control.
sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If all hotels can be classified into good and bad only this one will go into the former category. In fac t this will surely be among above average club. Positives include excellent location, Value for money, cleanliness, decent staff behaviour, customer focus.

Will surely visit the place again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
resp sir
thanks for your over whelming review. it was a pleasure serving you
we look forward to serve you- as u have have been and will be always our honored guest
thanking you again for your great review
sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed for three nights back in March. The hotel is closed to the railway station and central bus station which can take a bus for a day trip to Sanchi (15 mins walk to the bus station). The blanket was very old and dirty which should not be placed in this kind of hotel. I had to ask to for extra bed sheets using as a blanket. The wi-fi connection in the room was not stable. It took about 20-30 mins for the hot water to come which was waste good amount of water as I was told to let it run until the hot water came. Though staff was very nice and polite. The restaurant called Manohar in front of the alley where the hotel was had nice decent Indian food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
resp sir
thanks for your review it is of great assistance to improve our shortcomings
we look for ward to serve you in future
thanks
sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we stayed here for two nights on 28th & 29th oct,12, I booked an ac room.The room was very good, the bathroom was small but cleaned,the staff was very good,WiFi speed was superb !!, and Mr.Samir was a very nice person,he arranged a car for us at 4 o clock in the morning so we could depart for the airport without any hassle. Really Enjoyed the stay

Room Tip: All rooms of the front side are airy & sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsonali, Manager at Hotel Sonali Regency, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
resp sir/mam
thanks for your comments ,its a pleasure to serving guests like you
thanks for staying with us ,we would look forward to serve you on your next visit
thanks
sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonali Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonali Regency

Address: Plot no.-3,Hamidia Road | Radha Talkies Road, Bhopal 462001, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Bhopal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Bhopal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sonali Regency 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All we try to provide u with comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sonali Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonali Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.