We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glory days have definitely passed...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shanthi Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shanthi Guesthouse
Save
You added Shanthi Guesthouse to your Saves list
Cross the River from Hampi | Sanapur, Hampi 667855, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hampi B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Glory days have definitely passed...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am really disappointed to have to give this place such a low review. I booked the Shanthi Guesthouse in advance based on the glowing recommendations of so many other Lonely Planet and TA reviewers. What you get is very, very basic - two single beds pushed together, a few blankets, and a bathroom. As a veteran hostel/backpacker, I have zero issue with basic. What I did have a problem with was the cleanliness and the service. You may or may not get hot water (we didn't). The paint is peeling off the walls, the bathroom has holes in the tiles in which frogs and cockroaches made a pretty nice home, and I seriously doubt anyone has given the accommodation a proper clean in quite some time.

The restaurant is "okay". The service....eh. There are 3-4 people working in the Shanthi Guesthouse, some were much more hospitable than others. Mostly, they watched the TV in the check-in area, but could be prompted to come over with a wave.

We had friends staying just down the road at the Nargila Guesthouse. The accommodation was almost identical, albeit I would say it was definitely cleaner. While the cottages don't have views of the rice paddies (which if you're out and about during the day, you get plenty of anyways) the staff here was incredibly friendly! Great service and a fun atmosphere in the evenings. Guitars, music, lively conversation, good snacks, and all this at a fraction of the price of the Shanthi Guesthouse. The Nargila Guesthouse was charging Rs. 200-600 a night, we paid Rs. 1,300 for the Shanthi. And therein lies the problem.

We have friends visiting Hampi next week and we are sending them to Nargila. Shanthi is going to need to step it up soon if they want to maintain their rankings. I was less than impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    75
    24
    9
    11
See reviews for
21
72
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Shanthi for three nights and really enjoyed making the most of our little terrace out front and the lovely restaurant with the best waiter in the world! It has beautiful paddy field surroundings and the rooms are authentic thatched huts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Shanthi Lodge is a kind of less luxurious but homely and peaceful place to stay in Hampi. The best part of it is the sunset view and paddy fields facing rooms with a swing bed which gives a delightful and pleasant feeling to the mind and heart. The seating restaurant is a place where you can simply relax and enjoy your food & scenic beauty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited in june and it was almost vacant, mostly people are coming on weekend only. We only saw guest here only in Veerapur gadde. We book a room on 2nd floor with balcony . Rooms are good. Till nw the best location i have lived. Weather was amazing.

Overall it was a nice experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Being my first time to Hampi I wasn't exactly sure what to expect. This place is gorgeous and situated in the midst of it all by beautiful rice patties. The whole experience was very laidback and we have no complaints. Everyone who stayed there was very friendly as well which is a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We enjoyed staying in Shanthi Guesthouse and crossing the river each day to get to Hampi village. There are little cottages but we opted for a room with a balcony overlooking the rice paddy. Krishna, the owner is laid back and helpful. We ate at the restaurant there a number of times and found the food good. Quite a lot of mosquitoes but there's a mosquito net over the bed so sleeping was comfortable. The room was basic but clean and the bathroom was large. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We liked the room upstairs as the view was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited in an off-season, and were lucky to find 2 rooms with portico without reservation. Overall it was an excellent stay, very safe even for single women travelers. The food is good, and service is excellent. The owner is very helpful. Only problem, they need cash instead of card.

Room Tip: with family you'd prefer rooms with portico
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanthi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanthi Guesthouse

Address: Cross the River from Hampi | Sanapur, Hampi 667855, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Shanthi Guesthouse Hotel Hampi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanthi Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.