We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampi's Boulders

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hampi's Boulders
Save
You added Hampi's Boulders to your Saves list
Narayanpet,2km from Basapur Village, Hampi 583227, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hampi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chesham, Buckinghamshire, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unique setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our cabin was set right at the edge of the river, with a verandah where we could watch the water finding its way through the huge boulders which give the resort and the area its name. So tranquil and romantic! The eating pavilion was a short walk along a sandy track, lit by low powered lamps close to the ground. The food was rather disappointing - rather bland, but catering to western palates, I suspect. The swimming pool was not at all inviting - it looked like a watering hole cut out of the rock, but the clouds of beautiful butterflies more than made up for the lack of man made facilities! We went on the evening Nature Walk - an hour's walk beside and across the river, over bamboo bridges and through the inside of a boulder outcrop, to emerge at a viewpoint at the top. Not for the physically challenged, but a magical experience if you are able! The resort is about a 20 minute drive from the ferry crossing for sightseeing at Hampi, and more than an hour's drive to the rail terminal at Hospet - driver provide by resort at extra cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    44
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
28
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were at the resort for Hampi sight seeing. I booked the place after reading the reviews. I did not regret my stay there, not even for a moment. It was an awesome experience for all of our family members.
The cottages are set in the midst of nature with utmost luxury. Spacious rooms with all amenities (No TV, which was good as we got good family time)

Breakfast was of excellent quality & taste. Dinner was the same. We had barbeque on one of the nights.

Service at this resort is a team effort (not person depedent), it is excellent, you are pampered.

Something which really surprised us was the Nature walk. This is something you donot want to miss. It was an expereince in itself. I have gone to many nature ealks provide by resort, all of them were for name sake. This one is class apart. So don't miss it

Overall Experience was excellent. Thank you to all Staff ( Raja & Kumar excellent job)

Room Tip: Choose Star or Sun or Gayan cottages if you want view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a great trip here and the staff were really accommodating. Unfortunately due to the high river (monsoon season!) we weren't able to do much hiking.around the hotel but we still had a really relaxing time. A great place to get away from the noise of India.

There is no fitness centre!

Food was great and there's a friendly mongoose who hangs around the eating area.

Room Tip: The executive room is right on the river and faces the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First of all... I did not stay at Hampi's Boulders... I took a trip down to see the much-heard-of place and it is fabulous! The property is located on the banks of the river hence all the rooms are river facing. It is serene and quiet and a perfect place for a romantic getaway. If you want a time off from the hum-drum of the city... this is the place to be...

There are a few drawbacks though... one of which is locating the resort. There are no sign boards leading to the place so if you are driving down, it can get a little annoying. This has been intentionally done as the owner didn't want any kind of publicity/marketing done for the resort... only word of mouth! To help travelers in this scenario, here are a few tips:

1) Make sure you reach there with daylight on your side or atleast have the contact number of the resort.
2)We had a guide with us who knew the directions so it was easy for us to get there. So you may try that as well.
3) Another option is to get to Hospet by train in which case, the resort offers station transfers.
4) The Hampi site is approximately a 1 hour 15 minutes drive (could exceed in case of traffic) from the resort so plan your trip accordingly.
5) You can also get there by boats, which takes about 1/2 as hour, but that is a dicey matter as boat services are stopped if the river water rises to dangerous levels (This happened with us).

Getting there is definitely a long and irritating experience. But if you are someone who enjoys drives through cities (like me) it won't be that bad and once you reach there... it'll all be worth it!

Definitely recommending this place...!!!

Thank you for your hospitality Hampi's Boulders!

XO
D

Room Tip: Any room is fine... all are river facing so you will get a good room.... But the Luxury Villa, Paddy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The place is remote from the town but is very peaceful. Rooms have very basic facility and no air conditioning, tv etc. If you have kids then be prepared to keep them engaged as they may get bored. Staff is courteous but not very proffessional. I liked the place for its serenity and close to nature setting. The tarrifs are very high but the stay is one of its kind.
The hotel organised a barbecue which we enjoyed. Most visitors were foreigners. The pool is set in a depression in a rock is basic and has slippery sides. I enjoyed myself there and suggest that finish your day trips early and enjoy the resort as much one can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Let's be honest : you won't find the luxury of a 5 stars hotel here. At Hampi's Boulders, you'll stay very close to nature, that's the skills and it's is comfortable enough to enjoy it fully. The room is clean, there are mosquitoes nets at the windows, hot water and electricity run without cuts, it's quite, peaceful, clean, cute, managers and staff are nice, helpful.
Ok, it's expensive for India. But a good sleep without horns is precious. Beeing able to sleep with the wind going through the open windows without fear, noise, mosquitoes or AC is 10 stars rating (you can have the AC though). Just the sound of the birds and the running water of the river. That kind of peace is worth the price during a trip in beautiful but noisy India.
The food is good. Not sophisticated, but really good. And not hot : peace for the stomach too.
Expensive, ok. But with that price, you get a CAR WITH DRIVER to go to Hampi RIVER (it costs 10 roupies each way by person to cross the river) and come back. The way is too short, only 10 mins. Too short because so beautiful... With that price, you also get a ride before sunset to a fantastic BIRDWATCH where you'll stay until the sun is down. With that price, you also get a MORNING WALK to a belvedere on the rocks. With that price, you can have a swim in a kind of pool if you have time to be lazy, and an evening BARBECUE with delicious chicken as a starter before dinner. What you have for that price : as much bottles of mineral water as you want day and night, you pay the beers. With that price, you have warm HELP for whatever you ask.
So if you want a nature break in the middle of your trip, go to Hampi's boulders, even if you can find a lot cheaper elsewhere : you can't compare with others hotels or guest houses around Hampi, it's more like a simple South Africa lodge. Also, I've read in a review that there are no locks. I wonder who wrote this. have a look at my pictures. There's one of the locks.
It's great for families and kids, there were some, very quiet, and they really looked happy.

Room Tip: We had an AC one close to the river but they all look good (have a look at the pictures). We took of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This wonderful place is situated in the middle of the boulders by the river. Sunrise over the boulders,peace and harmony dominates this hotel. We will never forget our stay here. The pool is gorgeous, the dining area also, you eat breakfast watching the sun go up before being dropped off (for free) at the river crossing close to the temples. Birds come in every colour here.
Dinner is homemade and staff very nice. Worth every penny spent!

Room Tip: The sun cottage is great, view over the river, wonderful sunrise view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampi's Boulders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampi's Boulders

Address: Narayanpet,2km from Basapur Village, Hampi 583227, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Hampi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hampi`s Boulders Hotel Hampi
Hampis Boulders Hampi
Hampis Boulders Hotel Hampi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampi's Boulders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.