We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampi's Boulders

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hampi's Boulders
Narayanpet,2km from Basapur Village, Hampi 583227, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hampi
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The place is difficult to locate but once there, this is nothing short of paradise. The property is massive and thankfully the number of rooms are few and far between thereby making each room extremely personal and private. The room we stayed in, the Rock Cottage, felt like it was carved out of one massive boulder and had a personal sit-out and a terrace. The river flows through the property and the sound is pleasing to the ears. Beautiful birds, plenty of monkeys, a pet emu and a deer are part of this scenic location. The food was simple and good and all meals were served here. Though this property is at a significant distance from Hampi, the resort provides for car pick up and drop facilities to the river point from where the ferry takes you to Hampi. A great place to stay, unwind and walk around for 3-4 days

Room Tip: The Rock Cottage has a personal terrace! And not a soul in the vicinity. Feels like a private beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    28
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
44
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Of all the places we stayed in India, this was one of our favourites. Although located a significant distance from Hampi itself, you will be driven free of charge to and from the river crossing. The advantage of the location however, is the sense of tranquility and isolation. We ended up spending much more time in the resort than we had initially planned, simply because the grounds are so large that you can feel like you're on a mini safari. I recommend the nature trail, coracle trip to the rapids, bird-watching. Incredible views, a variety of wildlife and even pet emus wandering around. I didn't see inside any other cottages so can't comment on them, but we stayed in star cottage, which judging from other reviews here was worth the extra cost. We had amazing views and a river running by. Plenty of space inside and out, clean and furnished simply but nicely. It was at such a distance from any other accommodation that we really felt that we had an expanse of wilderness to ourselves. The staff were very friendly and willing to help, and they're very good at suggesting activities. I recommend booking your guide round Hampi through them, because you'll get a very good one, as we did. Food was delicious and presented buffet-style with plenty of choice to keep any vegetarian happy. Oh, and you can get beer here. We were sad to leave, and wished we'd been able to stay longer.

Room Tip: Star Cottage may not be cheap, but it's worth the extra money. It has two single beds, useful if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Boulders Resort is a small distance from Hospet and not far from the Kingdom of Hampi, World Heritage site.
It is thoughfully laid out on a site running down to the river where each cabin is isolated from the others. Birds abound in the peaceful surroundings.
The cabins are large and most comfortable and the meals , served in a central large openair room are plentiful and tasty with a choice of more spicy dishes for the adventurous.
No need for alarm clocks here, you will awaken to the sounds of various birds including the screech of peacocks.
The staff could not be more helpful and if you are lucky you can enjoy an evening barbecue under the stars before dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The views are amazing, the rocky area is tastefully converted into good rooms. The service and the food served were excellent. But with a bit more management initiative and care, this property could be just top of the line. Overall a good experience, but left with a feeling of "could be a lot more"

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I feel the same as some of the other reviewers - the location is stunning but the hotel could be a whole lot better. The staff were friendly, though, and we had a barbecue one evening and a lovely nature walk early one morning. The food was fine (dreadful coffee though, they could really do with a Lavazza machine!). Since there are not many other places to stay if you want to go to Hampi (other than hostels), I think the owner is resting on his laurels. If I went back to Hampi I think I would try out one of the local hostels right at the site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

the property is simply stunning : 3000 acres of granit rocks, shrubs, streams grottos etc...Not unlike a safari lodge with several bungalows peppered within the property. The ride to Hampi is delightful and 15mn through unspoilt Indian landscape.The staff is very nice and the food is good but : the mattresses are as hard as board not to mention the pilows! Avoid giving laundry away it will come back in a worse state than before: smelly, burnt in some places even, Decoration is often inedaquate more of a mismatch of this and that.
Lots of ants inside the bedrooms and mildew stains in the bathrooms. Such a pity the management couldn t check on these issues better.

Room Tip: get the more expensive rooms for the view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grinnell, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our five days and four nights at Boulders were unquestionably the high point of our month-long tour of India, even exceeding our stay at the Imperial in New Delhi. Bobby and Sarma, in particular, were helpful, gracious, friendly, and kind. Accomodations were excellent, and the food was beyond compare. We very much look forward to our next visit, hopefully with more time to explore Hampi/Vijayanagara in greater detail, but staying at the selfsame 'Star' executive fortress overlooking the Tungabhadra. Boulders is truly a first class operation with an enviable locale.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampi's Boulders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampi's Boulders

Address: Narayanpet,2km from Basapur Village, Hampi 583227, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Hampi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Hampi`s Boulders Hotel Hampi
Hampis Boulders Hampi
Hampis Boulders Hotel Hampi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampi's Boulders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hampi's Boulders to your Saves list