We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocky Guesthouse
Save
You added Rocky Guesthouse to your Saves list
Janatha Plot, Hampi 08394, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Lovely guesthouse. Rocky is awesome! He was incredibly helpful smoothing the road every step of the way when we were in Hampi. I love that guy. Terrific staff, good location, good food. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
61
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Guesthouses in India are full of surprises... So it was a great relief to arrive at Rocky's guesthouse. The room was clean and nicely decorated – I especially liked the bright yellow wall with the mirrow behind the bed. There was a nice balcony and a rooftop with an amazing view. Rocky was super friendly and helpful. There had been a misunderstanding with our booking, so we would have to move to another guesthouse for the second night, but luckily he managed to work it around so that we could stay in the same room for our whole stay! He even helped us get tickets for our next train even though it was fully booked. Thanks for making or stay in Hampi so easy and enjoyable, Rocky.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Staying here was great, rocky and his family were very helpful and sorted a bunch of tickets for us. The room was immaculate and had a mosquito net. Lovely rooftop restaurant except maybe the slightly harassing TUC TUC driver that came to find us a couple of times( and charges a lot) it was really good to be collected from bus for free though.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

we stayed at rockys for 2 nights .we arrived at 7 am after traveling 9 hours on a sleeper bus,could not get into room until 9.45 so rocky let us sleep at the back for 3 hours .we had non air con the first night then moved into air con the next.every thing was spotless .Rocky arranged a guide and rik shaw for us .we had a great time ,we are a couple getting on in age and the staff helped us up and down the stairs.the roof top resturant was great and food very good .so glad we went to hampi and to rockys.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at Rocky for four nights during our visit to Hampi.We had an AC Room and it was clean and spacious with comfy beds and all the basics one needs.The Rooftop Restaurant was a nice space to chill and enjoy the views while having breakfast and dinner.Food was very tasty.Rocky is a friendly,helpful person,always stopping for a chat.He also helped us book a train for our further travels.His extra services include Travel bookings and Money Exchange.Will stay here again if ever visiting Hampi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights at Rocky's and had a great time. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. The rooftop restaurant is a lovely place to admire the view while enjoying a tasty meal. Rocky takes the time to get to know his guests and will help book onward travel arrangements. I had always wanted to visit Hampi and was not disappointed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We only stayed a night, due to previous plans, but wished we had stayed longer. The hotel is located in the heart of bazaar. The room was simple but comfortable and with breakfast included it was well worth the price.
Rocky is great host and is very knowledgable with travel bookings and other arrangements. This is helped by the fact that his English is excellent and manner very friendly. Go there!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Guesthouse

Address: Janatha Plot, Hampi 08394, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Hampi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi, my name is Rocky and i look after the Rocky guesthouse, Hampi which is situated next to Hampi bazar and a 50mtr away from tungabhadra river. We got a well furnished and clean rooms that are situated in the 1st floor, with a nice temple view from the roof top and also the river view. It's good place to do yoga in the roof terrace with a beautiful sunrise. Also you can use a free wifi service. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.