We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vicky's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vicky's Guesthouse
Save
You added Vicky's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Hampi Bazaar, Hampi, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hampi B&B and Inns
Szczecin, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

For me it's the best budget place in Hampi. I like this place very much because on one hand it's like a family stay, on the other you have all the hotel ammenities (internet, phone at the reception and a restaurant on the rooftop). The hotel is charming with it's bright paintings, and has an almost perfect location. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Vicky - the owner is a very kind person, extremelly helpfull and can arrange everything from rikshaws to bus and train tickets. I recommend the place to all of you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our room was on the ground floor just off the family's quarters so noisy first thing in the morning. Clean enough but bathroom needs a mosquito screen. Staff were helpful in booking bus and train tickets although the commission they charge is a little expensive. Loved the rooftop restaurant and yummy authentic Indian food. No wifi but internet on computers downstairs for a fee. Located near Hampi Bazaar. Great "German" bakery a few doors away for a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I and my friend stayed at this hotel for 2 days in Mar. 2012. This hotel's location is very good, and they have budget rooms.
In Mar. the summer season has already started but they don't have A/C room.However, we couldn't find any difficulty with Non A/C condition. If you go there in summer season like me, there must be a lot of mosquito but they put mosquito net, so it will be ok.

I also recommend the roof top restaurant of this hotel. The cook was very friendly and he cooked nice lasagna. You must try it.

Basically I recommend you to stay at this hotel when you are in Hampi, but please note that the bathroom of your room might have some problems. Actually at our bathroom, there was a open window and there were some possibility that we were seen from outside when we took a shower. So before deciding your room, it is better to check the bathroom.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom window. There might have some possibility which you are seen from outside when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

the owners of this hotel are really sweet. you will feel right at home here. It is not fancy, but there is a fun rooftop restaurant, monkeys running around, fabulous views, a fun porch swing, and its reasonably priced. And when in Hampi, please find Ramesh Aswapatha to be your rickshaw driver. He is honest, fair and a very good young man.

Room Tip: Ask for a room each if you are traveling with pals, rooms are too small to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We hadn't booked ahead and this wasn't our first choice, so stayed only one night. Cheap but not pleasant. We got the last vacant room, which was only separated from the family's living room by a very thin wall and you could only reach it by walking through the living room. The bathroom was tiny, dark and the water tap in the sink didn't work. Toilet paper and soap wasn't included (but can be bought on the street just outside). Equipped with ceiling fan and mosquito net. The bed had the usual thin, uncomfortable mattress. We chose to sleep in our own travellers' sheets.

The reception has a traveller's agency and internet.

Room Tip: Book ahead (for all Hampi). If you have to stay in Vicky's, make sure you get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The rooms were very basic, but lovely. The walls are brightly coloured and a little worn, but it sort of adds to the charm. The beds are not particularly comfortable, but for what you are paying it's excellent value. The fan wasn't quite enough to keep us cool, but we were there at a particularly hot time of year.
The family that own the guest house are incredibly friendly and always willing to help. We recommend that you ask them to contact Raja and arrange a tour of the surrounding temples with him in his rickshaw. Well worth the 600 rupees for the day.
The bathroom was a little strange. There were two showers, one that spouted cold water and the other that spouted hot. We had to sort of angle the two showers to create one stream... it was not particularly successful. Not a massive issue though as we were so hot a cold shower was more than welcome.
There is a roof top restaurant, which is a nice place to enjoy a drink whilst gazing over the surrounding boulders; but the food is not great. (Don't try the falafel and humous! More raw garlic than chickpea).
There's no wifi, but there are computers available for use downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my wife in January. The room was basic and rather loud due to its central location (which on the other hand also makes it convenient). The shower had working hot water. My main complaint about the room was that the blankets were not sufficiently warm and the bed did not strike me as especially clean. Other than that it was functional, although I wouldn't want to spend any time there during the day.

Although the rooms are a bit of a let-down, Vikram, the owner, was a real pleasure to deal with. He was very helpful in giving all sorts of advice, and can also help book busses, etc, for further travel. He also arranged a rickshaw driver for a tour of Hampi and our trip to the bus in Hospet, I don't remember his name but he was a truly splendid young guy and I recommend the Hampi tour with him (I think they have one main rickshaw driver there). Also, the restaurant upstairs has a really great vibe, it is run by a hard-working family and everything is made from scratch (the service can be slow but it's vacation, right?).

Room Tip: We had the one room on the ground floor. Shower worked and it was nice to be able to sit on the por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vicky's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vicky's Guesthouse

Address: Hampi Bazaar, Hampi, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Hampi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vicky's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.