We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low price, Low quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari
Save
You added Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari to your Saves list
| Bellary District, Kamalapur, Hampi 583 221, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hampi
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Low price, Low quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

I spent a night here while visiting Hampi. The rooms are cheap (I paid about Rs. 1700 for a twin room with AC). But that's where the benefits end. My room had ants in it. The toilet leaked. The beds were rock hard... even by Indian standards. The sheets on one of the beds were stained. And the fridge had mold growing in it. Again, for the price, I'd be willing to tolerate a few of these things. But all together, it made the experience an unhappy one.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    38
    55
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Rooms are clean, moderate decoration, bare floors, functional beds, clean but not shining bathrooms. Don't be surprised at hard water stained tiles, half clogged shower, loose fittings or A/c not serviced for long.
The location is close to the Ruins, is convenient and it is very quiet around. Nearest , better choice would be at Hosepet but in a city/market in crowded place 13 km away.
The restaurant is lousy. No choices, serve just few dishes North style or chinese poor quality stuff, outrageous to see Korma, Butter Masala and Masala all made in same gravy base. They have perhaps a super lazy chef. No south indian dishes! No tandoor. Waiters are friendly though. Their lunch buffet @ Rs 100 though, is barely tolerable. If you can travel to Hosepet, eat at Krishna Palace Great lunch buffet @ Rs 140.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

The rooms are average but not too good. Lunch is very nice but there are very few varieties for break fast. Even for the dinner, the items served were not fresh and few varieties were very bad and few were average. Too expensive when compared to the other hotels. Totally I rate this is average.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Pros: Quiet, spacious, well-decorated, excellent service
Cons: Some construction work

Comments: The state-run Karnataka State Tourism Development Corporation (KSTDC) Mayura Bhuvaneshwara hotel is spacious, quiet, well-furnished and cheerfully decorated with folk paintings directly on the walls. All the plumbing works, with hot running water 24 hours a day. Covered open-air restaurant. Reminds me of a Mexican resort. Food very good, vegetarian buffet lunch offered, and, unlike most state-run hotels, full menu available. Excellent value for the price of about Rs. 800 per room per day.
One major drawback to all KSTDC hotels is that, at the time of writing, the reservation system is still stuck in the 19th century. The only way to make reservations is in person at a KSTDC office, for example in Bangalore or New Delhi. The New Delhi office is located behind the Karnataka government emporium in Connaught Place. If you have contacts in these cities they can go in person and make the reservations for you. Prepayment must be made in full by cash only (no credit cards accepted) at the time the reservation is made. At this time it’s not possible to reserve through the internet or even by phone, fax, or through a travel agent, so don’t even expect any response by these methods. They say they’re planning to take reservations over the internet soon.
They’re generally not too busy, so your chances are good of getting a room if you just show up without a reservation, or make a reservation at one of their offices slightly in advance.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

After looking through other peoples reviews of Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari I thought I'd add my own (even if it is somewhat overdue since my stay).

My girlfriend and I travelled from Margao (Goa) to Hospet via train - an eye opening 7 hour journey if you have never travelled on an Indian train. Beware the rickshaw driver/s that get on the train at Hubli knowing that there will be Western tourists heading for Hampi - these guys beat the others at the station to your business - for obvious reason.

After such a long journey we were looking forward to getting to the hotel and relaxing. The standard of the hotel is about average. Our AC room looked clean and fairly presentable upon entering it. Closer inspection revealed the fridge not working, dead gecko in the light, toilet only flushes once, and temperamental shower - but then we didn't expect everything to work. At least they had though about the plastic bucket to enable flushing the toilet. The hotel is somewhere to get your head down and freshen up the following day and it was perfectly adequate for that and away from the hustle and bustle of Hampi bazaar.

The restaurant served mostly edible food - although I wouldn't recommend the chicken curry as it contained more bone than meat. On the other hand the egg masala tasted good, as were the spicy papads. One bonus to this hotel is that they do serve alcohol if you fancy a beer or two. The knockout beer (that is it's brand name by the way) hit just the spot after a day of scrabbling around and over Hampi, although be warned it is 8%!!

I am more than likely going back to Hampi in 2010 and I would stay at this hotel again. It's not the Ritz so don't expect anything amazing but it's good enough to stay in for a couple of nights. If you want amazing you're in Hampi and the place itself is quite special - from the boulders and the stunning landscape to the temples that surround the area - be sure see as much as you can when you're there.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

I was told that *same food* (not same menu) that was served in the noon would be *heated* and served for the Buffet in the evening. This DAMN THING IS SUPPOSED TO BE OFFICIAL PRACTICE.
When I asked, why was it not written anywhere? the damager said it is *COMMON PRACTICE* that they follow.
Dirty buggers!
What else can you expect from govt officials who are paid 60K salary per month for doing nothing.
Better to avoid, since they just dont care for indians.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I visited Hampi in early December, just before the tourists come pouring in. Hampi will not fail to amaze to you if you enjoy history and architecture. You can read about my trip to Hampi at [-]
As for Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari, Kamalapura....not bad at all. Nothing luxurious or fancy. The hotel grounds are vast. The rooms are basic & clean. I stayed in an AC double room. The hotel uses solar panels so hot water shower is no problem. The food is alright. I found the food a bit too hot and had to tell them to cut down on the chillies.
Proximity to Hampi is the winning factor and the place is away from the hustle-bustle of the tourists. It takes simply 5 minutes to reach Hampi from the hotel. From Hospet one has to travel for around 40-45mins one way to reach Hampi.
In all not a bad place to stay for 2-3 days.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari

Address: | Bellary District, Kamalapur, Hampi 583 221, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Hampi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hampi
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karnataka Hotels, Hampi is the only hotel located within the World Heritage Site area. The newly-renovated hotel offers 30 well-appointed, air-conditioned rooms with the option of a suite, deluxe and semi-deluxe accommodation. Guests have the convenience of a restaurant that offers Continental and Indian cuisine as well as a beer bar. The hotel also arranges Hampi sight-seeing trips and can arrange for tourist guides who speak fluent English. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.