We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most wonderful hotel in McLeodGanj” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Him Queen

Hotel Him Queen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Him Queen to your Saves list
Hotel Him Queen
Mcleodganj, Dharamsala 176219, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Dharamsala
cape town
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the most wonderful hotel in McLeodGanj”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Did u ever think a Marigold Hotel existed? A visit to Hotel Him Queen will make you realise that it does. The view over the mountains and the Dalai Lama's Monastery and Temple is out of this world. In fact you feel as if you are out of this world when you stay there. Mists creeping in - clouds in the shape of dragons, wonderful staff - incredible food. Within walking distance of the wee town.....

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the Monastery are the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The best thing about hotel HIM Queen is its location. THe hotel is hardly 50 metres from the main mall road in McleodGanj. As such, you can easily stroll down to the road tp buy things and roam around.

THe hotel is right next to the more famous Surya hotel. The rooms at the hotel are moderately sized with a queen sized double bed and two chairs. There is a 21" tv with all the major channels (I was able to watch Wimbledon matches on the tv). The hotel is not the most clean hotel you will find, with a little dust always present on the floors. THe most disappointing aspect of the room is the bathroom which is quite miniscule. With a bathtub, sink and pot there is hardly any space left to stand. However, for the budget traveller this can be overlooked.

THe hotel has a mix of staff with some being rude and burly and others courteous.

The food at the hotel was a surprise. Surprisingly good that is. IN the 3 days that we stayed there we tried food from the HP tourism hotel (right accross the street) and various other places. HOwever in the end, we decided that the HIM Queen kitchen beat them all. Having said that, we dont really expect great food on a hill station. HIM Queen's food was better than many places but dont expect fine dining that you can get in the metro's

The views from the hotel are so-so.

Overall it is an average+ hotel. We paid 1800/room during peak season of 2012

Room Tip: Take the Valley facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

its the worst hotel in whole himachal pradesh
rooms are the worst , they are overcharged , rooms are not worth 500 RS also , worst food even worst then a road side vendor my suggestion is never use this hotel in your life even if it is offered free of cost

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhielhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Very very Poor Rooms conditions. Water heating system not working . Rooms are not well managed. Poor quality of food and Tea . I will advice to all not to choose this hotel to stay. It is really horrible to stay over there. Totally wastage of money

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Rooms and bathrooms were generally clean, clean linen, bed and furniture. However, the carpets seem quite old and could either use a good shampooing or change. Service is a bit spotty, they forgot my food order on two different occasions out of about twelve. It's located in the cluster of hotels and attracts a lot of weekender tourists, some of them with kids that behave badly (twice I was woken up in the middle of the night by some kids going around ringing everyone's door bell, I complained to the mom of the kid and she told me that kids behave like this! The rooms are comfortable, but if the hotel keeps taking such guests it's not an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We booked the room by email. They kept the room for us without any prepayment, although they wanted payment in full for our 3 night stay on arrival, which was fair enough (no credit card facilities). We checked the room before paying. It was a nice, well appointed room. Our breakfast was included & was adequate. There was a nice view down the valley from the room. Don't stay here if you have a phobia for rats, there were several in the bathroom nooks & crannies.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

I stayed in Hotel Him Queen for two days. The hotel is conveniently located near to all major tourist attractions, restaurants and market area. We booked a Suite which is elegantely decorated and had comfortable bedding and clean bathroom. The big balcony of our room offered spectacular views of Mcleodganj and Dharamshala and the snow topped mountain peaks. The room service was not up to the mark and so was the food. The staff was hospitable and friendly but certainly the hotel needs to improve room service and food.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room Service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Him Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Him Queen

Address: Mcleodganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Him Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Him Queen Dharamsala, Asia - India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Him Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.