We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average hotel and does not deserve Best Western Franchise!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Anand Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Anand Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Anand Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bhagsunag | Mcleod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 58 Hotels in Dharamsala
Irving
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Below average hotel and does not deserve Best Western Franchise!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel is a joke. Best Western hotels in USA are far better than this hotel.

I am not comparing this hotel only to other Best Western hotels. But I have stayed at other hotels in Shimla and Manali prior to over next stop at Dharamshala.

This was the first hotel where in MAP meal plan they do not provide complementary tea service. When asked at check-in they said they provide and at check-out they asked for money for tea. Their hotel is another joke. It feels like a lodge and no one was in their hotel at 8pm at night. We asked for our dinner and breakfast to be served in our room. Food was decent, did not feel like made from fresh vegetables.

We had a deluxe room with a large hall and bed. Bathroom was terrible and was dirty as well. I felt it was not renovated in more than 10 years and hot water stopped after 2 buckets were filled.

I am giving only 1 star to this place mainly because of high price for well below average place at a distant location from city. Pathetic bathroom, old lodge style restaurant and slow room service with a mediocre food in meal package.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    19
    6
    28
See reviews for
28
18
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed here for a day in November '11.

Had booked it online as it was ranked as No. 1 hotel in McLeodganj. But it didn't deserve the ranking anyhow. Though the size of room was quite good, there was absolutely no view as they tend to give non-viewing rooms to guests who have booked online. And as told by numerous other reviewers, the room was damp and dark and the bathroom filthy. Didn't feel like using the bathtub at all.

For the same price, there are loads of better options in Bhagsu if you go and look around there. Getting a view facing room shouldn't be too difficult as well.

Had reached early in the morning and was allowed to check in before time. So, that was the only good experience I had here. And if you are booking here , do take the rooms on terrace as the view from there are great!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Have been to this hotel in the month of April , good room however the bathroom is dissappointing . There were just two taps and a bucket that was available in the bathroom. Water used to come so slowly that it used to take 30 mins to fill the whole bucket.

Also , three times during my two days visit , servants used to cut off the electricity with an assumption that we are not present in the hotel and later didnt admit .

I must say , its a good hotel however they should seriously think about improving the baths and their services.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Quite possibly hazardous to your health. Good-sized rooms in a good location in Bhagsu, but I'm afraid that the positives end there. There's a serious issue with damp throughout the hotel, from damp plasterwork to some quite spectacular algae/fungus on the stairway. If you have the misfortune of staying here, shell out a few extra rupees at reception for a small electric heater - it'll ease the pervasive damp, chill feeling a little. One day breakfast was dire and service appalling; the next day they seemed to be on much better form - and the food was at least warm. The area is amazing and I would love to visit again - but NOT the Anand Palace.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I had visited the Hotel Anand Palace with my wife. Since it was off season; also the rates he provided were very reasonable.
The rooms are clean and hygienic. There is running water/ hot water/TV and everything you can think of in a budget hotel. No heater is provided though.
The rooms are tariffed differently based on the view and sunlight you get. The better the view and more airy/ sunlit the rooms is higher it will be charged
Mr. H.R. Sharma and his staff are very friendly and accommodating people and they guide you well on how to get around the place.
Room service is quick and food is good. The menu is more European so those looking for Indian breakfast / meals might be disappointed a bit. But try the Toasts and parantha for breakfast and you will be surprised

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We reached Mcleodganj late in the evening for an overnight stay hotel stay in Dharamshala. We chose this run down hotel due to its location advantage. After reaching there we realized there are multiple other hotels in the vicinity with much better value for your bucks spend!

Anand palace is located close to Bhagsu Nag temple. The famed waterfall is behind the Shiv temple and around a km uphill trek. We wanted to stay close to Bhagsu Nag, so that the next day morning we can do darshan and enjoy the bountiful waterfall.

One can completely avoid spending the tariff rates charged by Anand palace and almost at half the price would find another decent hotel in the vicinity. Its a run down facility, with poor governance. My advise would be not do an advance booking, and rather check out the hotels first and then bargain out a deal. As i said earlier there are plenty around next to each other. The view rooms are hard to find here. We didn't try out the food at Anand palace as there were better options outside!

There isn't much in Mcleod Ganj, and thus the expectations should be set right. Its not a typical hill station as such. Though i liked it better than compared to Dalhousie :)

Room Tip: Don't expect much from the views provided by the rooms! The top floors rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is no good. all the rooms are very damp. The Manager Mr. Sharma and his staff were good, but the hotel itself is no good. No view facing rooms.
We stayed for 2 days but was not a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Anand Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anand Palace

Address: Bhagsunag | Mcleod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 58 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anand Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Anand Palace is a comfortable, modern and newly built hotel within walking distance of Mcleod Ganj offering eye-catching view of the snow capped mountains. Facilities offered at this hotel are Garden / Terrace, Restaurant, Room with TV and phone, Internet access. Parking, garage, Satellite, Conference, Non-smoking rooms, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Anand Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anand Palace Dharamsala, Asia - India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Anand Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.