We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ballu Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dharamsala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ballu Homestay
Save
You added The Ballu Homestay to your Saves list
Near Sheila Chowk | Dari, Dharamsala 176057, India   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Amazing place, but most importantly, amazing people! Thank you Kaypee and Seena! Amazing food, garden with fresh food! Beautiful forest and river. If you want to experience peace and beauty with the warmest, most welcoming people, then you found where you need to stay! My time here was so amazing! I recommend the Ballu to anyone who wants to enjoy a beautiful, peaceful place, with amazing energy and vibes, and delicious food!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

'The Ballu' experience.

The constant rumble of the stream. The sight of the greens through an old quaint window. The energy from the earthy floor. Amazing food and the regular rounds of tea, coffee and conversation. The endearing company of the hosts Kaypee, Seena...and not to forget their pets Leela and Kurumbi.

We are already booked for our next trip. And... so is our 4-month old pup who had the most amazing time of her life. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Skåne Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you don´t know about The Ballu, you will never find it. That I happened to find myself there proves to me that there are unseen powers in this world that guide your steps if you just dare to drop into your inner knowingness and follow your intuition. I did and it gave me two of the best months in my life.

To describe the Ballu is like trying to describe Shangri-La, words just doesn´t make it. Ballu is not just another place, it´s an experience, and if you are open to receive the magic of it, it can literally change your life.

But the Ballu is not for everyone. It´s for those who find their way there and if you do, it means it´s for you. So step into this world of it´s own, this utopia, isolated from the outside world in the mystical, harmonious valley of Kangra. Let time disappear and the river heal whatever needs to be healed in you. Come as you are and you will be welcomed as you are. Leave expectations where they belong, in the trash bin.

Now you know about this place. What are you going to do with the information?

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It's the best place I have ever been in my life. Really! An open window, a breath for the soul, to deploy all the colors we have deeply inside of us. This place with Seena and Kaypee, looks like the best painting imagined by an utopist artist. This life exists there, where time is breaking, where time is surprising us to flow so fast, a meeting of times, between infinity, and commun time but freed from chains of the clock. It no longer grabs the thoughts, projects, stories from the past ... Nothing else matters here, only "Now", throwing colors are catching our hearts. Sounds which continues to live, birds, waterfall, laughters ... Scents of space, and the kitchen permeate the body of a still present. We let it go at the height of what we receive. Everything is made by hands, original, the colors of the Home, the gorgeous outer bathroom bamboo, the convivial kitchen, natural pool (river borders Ballu)... So many things to say... I'll come back. Thanks you guys for this unforgettable peace shelter. All my love. Cindy from France.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Ballu is a great place to stay if you need some rest for some time. Located few kilometers down Dharamshala, its at the top of a small village, in the middle of rice fields and overlooking the stream few meters down..
We planned to stay only few days there and ended up staying 2 weeks!
The food cooked by Seena and Kaypee is just so tasty that you won't resist, and their lovely company will make you feel home once you get there. They'll take you to nice walks, to the stream-ing-pool and if you're lucky, you'll might even discover the mysterious Funkytown!
A wonderful house in an awesome place.. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ballu Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballu Homestay

Address: Near Sheila Chowk | Dari, Dharamsala 176057, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballu Homestay is where you come to reconnect with nature, meditate, create and relax. Built in 1903, entirely of mud, stone and wood, the house is an example of the privileges that natural construction materials offer. Direct views of the Dhauladhar snow mountains and the constant sound of running water makes it perfect for an idyllic vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ballu Homestay Dharamsala, Asia - India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ballu Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.