We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to know about tibetan culture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gyuto Monastery

Gyuto Monastery
Sidbari, Dharamsala 176057, India
91 (1892) 236154
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 46 things to do in Dharamsala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good place to know about tibetan culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

beautiful temple...not easy to find...located in sidh bari..if you want to visit this place, you can combine it with norbulingka institute as both are near by places.

Visited February 2014

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Beautiful Monastery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Gyuto Monastery is not so easy to find without a willing taxi driver, you turn off a main road and suddenly you are driving up towards the gompa on a very quiet private road, but it would be very hard to find on foot or on a bus. Home to under 500 monks this monastery and university has school and university subjects for young monks and monks who come from all over India to study tantra. All guests will be made most welcome and there is a coffee shop in the forecourt. Home to His Holiness the Karmapa as well as the Gyuto monks, this monastery welcomes guests from all races and faiths. It will not be hard to find someone who speaks English to show you round. Although there isn't an entrance fee, a donation is warranted, as the monks are totally self sustaining.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small Tibet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Its another beautiful place to visit in Dharamsala. Could see lot of children playing around they were all very friendly.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My sister and I came across Gyuto Monastery by chance. It was a Wednesday at 1 pm when were told that HH Karmapa was giving a public audience. The process involves going through a security check, showing our passports and having the details handwritten in the ledger. The Monastery itself is very well looked after and looks majestic with the mountain ranges as it's backdrop. The sea of maroon and saffron robes add to its exotic feel. We were helped by a kindly Tibetan monk who explained to us the inside of the Temple and the deities on the wall. We sat there with our white katas and lined up to be be bless by HH Karmapa who gave us a red string to wear. Although I am not a Buddhist, I can honestly say that the experience was very moving and appreciated as one of the best highlights of our trip. Thankyou

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely monastery campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very well maintained and lovely campus. The peace at this place was just too good. The symmetry in surrounding buildings with backdrop of Dahualadhar range is awesome

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyuto Monastery also viewed

Dharamsala, Himachal Pradesh
Dharamsala, Himachal Pradesh
 
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
Dharamsala, Himachal Pradesh
 

Been to Gyuto Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gyuto Monastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.