We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place .... Total value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Exotica Dharamshala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Exotica Dharamshala to your Saves list
The Exotica Dharamshala
Vill Tohu, Khanyara - Indru Nag Road, Dharamsala, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Dharamsala
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jalandhar, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb place .... Total value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The exotica is a great place to stay, far away from the maddening crowd nestled in the quaint hills .... Heaven for people who want solitude .... And the icing on the cake is that it has its own swimming pool which makes it all the more special... The feeling of swimming high up in the hills overlooking the mighty dhauladhars is amazing! Great ambience and very well maintained property....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    30
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My stay at this resort with my parents was an amazing experience. The resort is about 3 kms away from the hustling and bustling crowd of Dharamshala. From the moment you enter this resort, you can feel peace everywhere. The sounds of bird chirping, the view of mountain right from your big window pane, and the green nature around you makes you feel you made the right decision to stay in this place to relax your mind, body, and soul. The resort is 10- 15 mins drive away from the paragliding point. The cottages are very homely and comfortable. The staffs are very enthusiastic to provide the service. Everyone do their work with smiling face. The food is also good. Mr. Gaurab (the owner) went out of his way to help us. He was connected to us like a family. Our overall experience was very delightful and unforgettable. It was a home away from home. Would suggest everyone to not miss this one!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It was nice to stay in Exotica, comfort stay, nice overview, mind blowing location, clean pool,.... full on regards stay, it's good decision to chose this location. very pleased staff, Specially Kesar Singh (Manager) is very nice host. Gaurav (owner) is very well connected. Provides their best in Dharamsala's luxurious. very silent place, peaceful. amazing view. Enjoyed Table Tennis too..
would like to go one more time... :)

Room Tip: Convince issues to reach Resort... due to silent location no local convince. just book Taxi or own v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I made my trip to this resort on 06th April - 09th April 2013 and let me tell you I enjoyed my stay at this resort. there was not a single dull moment in our entire stay. it was all perfect. Things which have amazed me was there sheer dedication and sincerity towards providing premium service to there guest right from there room service or any such request. I have made my booking in luxury cottage however, the owner have upgraded my package to elite cottage which had awesome view from its balcony. rooms were unique as compared to other typical hotel rooms we normally finds. Resort have other facilities for there guest such as camp fire, jungle trek etc. They also arrange short trek to nearby places on your request. Above all, there is swimming pool (First USP of the resort) waiting for you so you can relax over there which have been cleaned on all days I have stayed there. Another USP of this resort is, it is nearby to "Paragliding" spot which also points out that resort is situated at height which would give magnificent view of Dhauladhar ranges and entire Dharamshala. When you wake up in the morning you will find Snow capped* Dhauladhar Mountain, Refreshing air and
bird's chirping around your room to give u perfect morning to start wonderful day!

However, the only things that can go against the resort is there is steep walk to reach swimming pool and dining area (If your room is near reception area or around that )but that too could be solved since there is room service available. Also, steep walk is worth your effort because of the view of entire Dharamshala it gives you while you have Breakfast/Lunch/dinner .
I would like to specially thank Mr Gaurav (Owner), Ajay (for jungle trek and helping me with all my question that I had during my stay ), Kitchen Staff (Including chef) for delicious food and my favorite Paramjeet who have been like Jewel of this resort in ensuring that we got everything we required.

Truly Magic and Natural experience!!!

Thank you all

Regards,
Maharshi Mehta

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExoticaDharamshala, Owner at The Exotica Dharamshala, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Mahrishi,

Thank you for your patronage. We assure you of the same Hospitality and Services in Future too,

warm regards

Gaurav Raj Prashar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Dear Onwer,
Being a marketing person i am very much concern about my stay & food.Last week i have stayed at your place .It was a grt experience to stay in your beautiful huts , amassing hospitality, superb location,Nice food,
Best part the location of your huts,while seating in balcony yo feel the nature
Your rooms hv all the facilities,well maintained Swimming pools for both baby & adults. Your staff are very friendly they take care their guests.Food was really good.Service is superb.
Really difficult to share my all views abt your Hotel & hospitality in 200 words,
Amazing experience & memorable experience,would like to come again & again & remanded strongly to all viewer to hv stay over here & feel the difference.While writing still i am feeling my stay.
Thanks Exotica to make my trip more & more memorable.All of us have enjoyed alot
Grt Keep it Up!!!!!!
Thanks
Thapar Ajay

Room Tip: All rooms are having all advantages
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Gaurav,
It was a nice experience staying in your resort We enjoyed every inch of it. I would like to mention here few things, which I am sure you will appreciate as a feedback from the guests.
1. Although the food prepared was good to taste ,but it was cold at times when served.
2. Although the cottages were very good and very tastefully furnished, but there were few insects moving in the washroom which was occupied by our daughters, I think it was cottage no.2.
3. I would suggest you to keep a vehicle all the time in the resort, to carry the guests to nearby places like Maclaud Ganj etc. on reasonable payment.
4. The best part of the resort is its great views of Dhauladhar Mountain ranges swimming pool was the USP of our stay.
Barring the above said rest was fine .The staff was very cooperative, always ready to help. We would love to stay in your resort again when we visit Dharamshala.

Best regards… from (new delhi) – Naresh Choudhary, Naveen Mathur, Rahul Balley, K. Mahesh & Anil Pawar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExoticaDharamshala, Owner at The Exotica Dharamshala, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Anil, Naresh, Naveen & family

We are very happy and delighted to serve you people and assure you our best service and effort all the time. We have taken care of all the point and shortly solve the issue of keeping vehicle at resort on nominal price for our Guest to move around.

Thanks again and hope to have visit again to our Resort ..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Being a hotelier myself am very particular about the place to stay and do a lot of research in choosing a place and strongly recommend Exotica.Gr8 place with gr8 food,service and staff.picturesque setting,away from hustle with a personal touch by owner Gaurav and staff Kesar alike makes it a worthwhile experience.staff is very friendly and helpful.sitting in your balcony sipping tea or having breakfast with a great view all around really rejuvenates soul.Nearest to the parasailing point is another USP.Would love to go back with family again.Thanks to all at Exotica for a an amazing and memorable experience.Keep it up!

Room Tip: Rose and pine cottage overlooking dharamsala,chinar and dhauladhar in background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExoticaDharamshala, Owner at The Exotica Dharamshala, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Amit,
Thanks for encouraging us & we'll try to maintain the same standards
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Exotica Dharamshala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Exotica Dharamshala

Address: Vill Tohu, Khanyara - Indru Nag Road, Dharamsala, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Exotica Dharamshala is located exactly 3 kms from Kotwali Bazar, Dharamshala. Surrounded by pine forest and having paragliding point nearby. You will have beautiful breathtaking view of whole valley & Dhauladhar from Exotica. A perfect place for rejuvenation allows you to take a break from life and experience a world that is untouched, serene and almost timeless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Exotica Dharamshala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Exotica Dharamshala Dharamsala, Asia - India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Exotica Dharamshala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.