We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay at the Blossoms, Dharamsala” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blossoms Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dharamsala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blossoms Village Resort
Save
You added Blossoms Village Resort to your Saves list
VPO-Sidhpur, Dharamshala, | District-Kangra, Himachal Pradesh, Dharamsala 176057, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Dharamsala
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay at the Blossoms, Dharamsala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Blossoms is a nice property. The view from the rooms in the main block is beautiful. The Dhauladhar range is right before you, which you can enjoy either from the room or from the cute balcony attached to it. Rooms are comfortable, bathrooms clean. Terrace restaurant has a great view and is the place to be in the mornings for a long breakfast. The staff is very warm and the service good. The food is average and a bit over priced. The maintenance of the rooms could improve and make the place better. Overall, we had a very comfortable stay for 3 days. Also, this is about 30 min drive from McLeodganj, which we knew and had a vehicle with us, so no problem !

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block on the higher floors have a better view than cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The place was a building site. Our room was damp with peeling plaster and shower head that was about to fall to pieces and very dark. When we arrived we were given no information about where the resturant was or meal times. When we asked we were vaguely directed and found ourselves stumbling round the building site. We were rescued and pointed in the right direction by the security guard. Having found the resturant the food was excellent and you could sit outside. The manager asked us if things were OK and when we told him about the poor service he gave us an upgrade the next day to one of the cottages. He also gave us 2 bottles of beer as there was confusion as to whether they were licenced or not. The cottage was better but still very dark. The member of staff who had been so uninformative appeared on our second evening and denied what we had said - so much for the customer always being right.
The mountain views from the resturant are stunning. Most problems seem to be related to poor management and communication.

Room Tip: Cottages seem to be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

After an exhaustive research, we decided this place during our vacation last year (November 2011). We stayed here for 4 nights and were blown away by the location. Extremely peaceful surrounded by snow capped Mountains it was an absolute bliss away from the hustle of city. We had taken the cottage accommodation which was huge with comfortable beds and clean bathroom. The one negative was the poor lighting in the room which gave the room a very dingy feeling.

Breakfast, Dinner was served on the terrace of the building housing non cottage rooms. Although the quality of the food was ok, the ambiance was simply amazing. During dinner, the hotel provided for bon fire and with the chill in the air, it was a memorable experience. The approach to the hotel is very narrow with kuchha roads and that is certainly something they should improve upon.

Room Tip: Cottage provides the best view and surroundings. Carry mosquito repellents though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It is a peaceful hotel set in the lap of Mohter Nature. Offers an amazing view of the himalayas and also of Mcleod Ganj in the distance. The terrace restaurant is amazing and one can sit for hours over there, just lounging with a cup of coffee or a hot meal. The lawn in the middle of the grounds has a variety of flowers and is a sight to behold. The cottages on the property are lovely with a spacious interior. The main lobby has a small fitness center and a recreation room as well. One can even have bonfires lit in the lawn in the winter, really amazing.

Room Tip: Choose one of the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

First the plus points. As other reviewers have noted the views could not be improved and the layout of the property is well thought out and attractive. We stayed in a cottage, it was enormous with a good sized bathroom but extremely poor lighting. The extra bed for our son was of an appalling quality with only a cheap blanket provided.

The food was fine, nothing terribly exciting but as expected in a relatively remote place. The hotel has been done on the cheap, superficially it looks fine but don't look too closely. It is quite expensive and our guess built by someone who made a bit of money, wants to charge as much as possible but without any hotel experience. The general staff are kind and helpful but totally useless.

Now the problems, which necessitated the poor rating. Any on-line booking must be confirmed numerous times. It is impossible to send the requested deposit via bank transfer as they do not understand the information required from an overseas bank. After much discussion my credit card was accepted as confirmation. As we do not like to travel with too much cash I checked that our bill could be settled with a card and this was agreed.

Then at check out their card machine did not work and they had no contingency other than to wait until it miraculously started again which, of course, it didn't. This is when we had the pleasure of meeting the property owner, what an odious; horrible little man. Extremely rude, unpleasant and incredibly unhelpful.

My husband is a banker in London so understands about transferring money; taking money from a credit card plus a myriad of other possible solutions to the problem. These all fell on deaf ears and, as so often happens when ignorance overtakes common sense, the customer was suddenly to blame. Eventually the bank manager was called, a complete joke, and we were taken to the Norbulingka Institute but their machine was also down. After much arguing we visited a bank in Amritsar and paid the taxi driver who was employed by the hotel.

It was all very fraught. Mechanical problems happen everywhere, but the general attitude and intransigence of the manager was totally unacceptable,. If you feel the urgent need to say here - take cash.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Firstly we had troubles finding the hotel as we arrived around midnight but the first look from the window in the morning worthed the long trip and the late arrival in the previous day. The fresh air and the snowy peaks of the Himalayas washed away any bitter feeling that had left.

The staff is very polite and nice. They cooked for us even meals that were not in the menu but unfortunately the prices were quite high (especially compared to other restaurants and places in Dharamsala).

WiFi is available.

Be aware that there might be problems with the electronics in the hotel. We were assured that we can pay with a credit card but then the post-treminal appeared to be broken. The situation got worse because it was 5.30 in the morning and there was no way to find ATM anywhere close. At the end we managed to collect the amount and left the hotel with no cash.

In general my impression is very good. Go to the Buddhist Norblingka Center - very close 5-10 min walking.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view to the Himalayas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We got lucky, and had a corner room so that in the morning we could se the sun rising and in the afternoon could enjoy the view of snowcapped mountains from our balcony. The bathrooms are a bit basic, but they are clean and adequate, the room we had was very nice in a charming old colonial style. The roof-top restaurant at the hotel had great food, and it was beautiful to sit outside in the evening and enjoy our meals. Breakfast was not the greatest, mainly because they never seemed to have anything ready when we came so we ended up setteling for dry toast. Admittedly, we seemed to be the only guests not ordering room service in the mornings, so that may explain why the waiters in the morning seemed absent most of the time, because in the evening it was great. One small minus was that some of the staff spoke very little English. We tried to get out clothes washed when we were there, but had to give up because reception didn't understand us.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony and view of the mountains. Cornes rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blossoms Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blossoms Village Resort

Address: VPO-Sidhpur, Dharamshala, | District-Kangra, Himachal Pradesh, Dharamsala 176057, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blossoms Village Resort in Dharamshala, Himachal Pradesh is nestled at the foothills of the magnificent Dhauladhar mountain range. It is a premium resort hotel, with eco-friendly construction and natural and pristine ambiance ---- a perfect getaway destination in the Himalayas.Blossoms amalgamates both the modern and the rustic. Whether it is Maitreya Study Centre's expansive spirit, or My Earth Store's grounding touch, or the verdurous & lush surroundings stretching till the eyes can see....comfort, relaxation & leisure are the central concepts around which the resort has been built. Guests have access to all the amenities and facilities to make their stay as comfortable, and their experience as memorable as possible, along with providing tailor-made services to suit every need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blossoms Village Resort Dharamsala, Asia - India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blossoms Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.