We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eagles Nest..Where the Bhatia’s dare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eagles Nest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Eagles Nest to your Saves list
Hotel Eagles Nest
Upper Dharamkot | Dharamsala Mcleodganj, Dharamsala 176219, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 108 Dharamsala B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Eagles Nest..Where the Bhatia’s dare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Perched high on Dharamkot hills and surrounded by the mighty Himalayas, Eagles Nest is one destination worth braving the rough terrain and the non motorable road. Porters await at the Gallus temple to assist you to the Nest. It is advisable to request for either Deodar room, or better still pick the beautiful Dhauladhar room which is spacious and artistically decorated. The attached deck opens up to the wonderful views of the Himalayas. Get a crash course in Philosophy and naturopathy, by chatting up with John, who runs the show and a wonderful person to interact with. Ajit, the Manager, had our lunch served at the view point, which overlooks Dharamsala, McLeod Ganj and beyond. Chef Vicky apparently has picked up the skills of the trade from years of working and interacting with the expats. The Spaghetti Napolitan he cooked was Al dente and simply the best. He loved to talk about food and was a tad disappointed, when we could identify the dishes he was talking about, with their proper name and place of origin. Make sure to go for treks around the vast property, which is covered with thick woods and a haven for those interested in wildlife and capturing it on cameras.The location is so wonderful, that a German lady in her mid fifties said that she been living here for over twenty years all by herself and felt home sick, when she returns back to Berlin to renew her passports and meet her family. Living in the lap of luxury, surrounded by nature was a wonderful experience and we felt like owners of a mountain home, during the course of a two day stay.

Room Tip: Opt for Deodar or Dauladhar the best rooms with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

its a relief, a home far away from home, one of the more tranquil experiences i've had in a long time. the warmth of the house, the wood fire, the cosy rooms, the staff and the hospitality of Bo, Sheila are some of the things we think about each day and miss it even more the next day.
Not only did we find ourselves a great escape from the maddening world, but also 2 good friends, and we cant wait to come back for another great holiday!

Room Tip: all the rooms have a fabulous view but we like the dhauladhar room best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a few days here in late July. Everything was amazing. Wonderful view, spacious and comfortable accommodations, with delicious home-cooked food available upon request. The couple who own the place and the people who work there are extremely friendly, helpful, and respectful of your privacy. Upon our arrival we were given a free upgrade to the moonlight suite simply because it was available and proceeded to enjoy every minute of our three night stay there. Plenty of great hikes in the area. The nearby town is a nice, easy walk down the hill, with some restaurants and stores to meet any other needs you have.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I think the name does justice to this hotel. truly an eagle's nest.

I and my wife were looking for a calm place to relax and chill out in Monsoon season .. and we were recommended this hotel. We were warned about the location as it is a fair amount of walk but once I am there I would love this place.

Location : Eagle's Nest is about 5 km from Mcloed Ganj Main Sq. You can either walk if you just have bagpacks. but if you are carrying carryons or large suitcase it is recommended to take a cab from Mcloed Ganj Sq. Everyone in Mcloed Ganj knows Eagles Nest Hotel. One way trip to hotel by cab is about INR 350.00

Once you reach top of the hill, you have to walk about 15 -20 min in order to reach this hotel. There is no driveway and no vehicle can drive you upto the hotel. It is a walk from the drop of point of cab. If you need to go down to Mcloed Ganj, you will have to walk back to this drop of point to catch a cab or you can always walk back all the way down.

Hotel staff will send there porter to carry your luggage from the drop of point so you don't need to worry about luggage.

Staff : Hotel staff is very nice and soft spoken, courteous and well mannered. We had a chance to spend 4 nights in the hotel when there were no other guest hence we got all the attention. special mention of cooks : Vicky and Sunil - both can cook anything for you.. they made our trip special as they would cook anything what we requested and served very well.

Rooms are nice and big. There are no TV in any of the room but hotel does have nice and cosy guest den where they have TV+ cable and a good collection of DVD to watch. They also have few board games to keep yourself entertained and plenty of books of all kinds to read.

As a recommendation, do not travel in August as it is monsoon time and it rains heavily. We were able to get 3 days without rain as we were at the end of monsoon but otherwise to enjoy this property once should visit in september onwards.

There were some issues with our stay such as..

1. Lack of hot water as it was monsoon season and not enough sun to work there solar panel.

We were provided with a bucket full of hot water on request but it was still additional work

2. The rooms and living area were not very clean as you can find dust and at times dead mosquitoes on which they need do work on
3. Rooms have no A/c or fan or TV/desk phone. for some this might be a drawback
4. Power is generally not an issue but at times it can be. They do have power backup.
5. NO CELLPHONES! only certain parts of hotel gets cellphone reception.
6. Hotel does have wifi/Laptop internet but they would switch it off in the night but it does work when you ask them to switch it on.

Over all we enjoyed our stay.. we had good food of choice.. we managed with the minor issues which are mentioned above as we didnt care for much other than wifi.

If you are into trekking then this is an ideal location as Triund is just 6 km ( one way) away from this hotel and everyone has to cross this property to continue to Triund.

Thanks for reading this review!

Room Tip: Look for either Dhauladhar Room or Deodar room .. both have excellent view to the mountain and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

An eco-friendly resort, with in-house dogs, ponies and George the spider, Eagles Nest takes a while to fall in love.
But once you forget your city expectations and allow yourself to soak in the fresh air, breathtaking views and unexplored forests, you can't wait to come back.
The Dauladhar and Deodar rooms are the best in the main house. A special mention to the staff who went out of their way for us.
I personally preferred the Indian food over the continental.. But thats just me.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Situated in the lap of nature, this place pamper you with great veg-cuisine, good books collection & ample of peaceful places to hook your self with books & beauty of nature. Staff, especially chef Vicky is very well trained & expert in winning every one's taste buds. This place is away & far from hustle bustle of city & hence gives you time to admire natural beauty in full. Will recommend this place for lone traveler as well honeymooners. Every room in this east west has its own unique features which mesmerizes you during the stay.

Room Tip: Go for Dhauladhar suite, Mughal Suite or Craven Cottage. They are good & have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanbad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Thank You Bo, Sheila, Ajit, John, Mannu, Vicky, and the other boys (Dont miss out Puppy and Stuffy, Chandra and Rocky) for a lovely holiday and letting our son experience the purest part of Himachal at Eagles nest. The rooms, the surroundings, the food the people and the animals make Eagles Nest Special. Bo and Sheila thanks for keeping things simple, I guess that was what we enjoyed the most. The Serenity and sactity of the area. Our Son Joshua enjoyed his Enid Blyton Summer Holiday thoroughly. The trek upto your cottage was memorable... and the transparency about every single detail of the hotel was important and handy.... sure to see you all soon. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eagles Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eagles Nest

Address: Upper Dharamkot | Dharamsala Mcleodganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles Nest is a unique resort set in 2sq kilometers of pristine forest landscape in the Himalayas of Himachel Pradesh, India. We are located in a very peaceful spot overlooking McLeodganj and the abode of HH the Dalai Lama. Perfect for fine dining, yoga, trekking, nature walks, mountaineering, badminton, horse riding, croquet, plus splash pool, Massage, all on site. All guest rooms with veranda and luxurious attached marble bathroom are decorated to showcase local cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Eagles Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eagles Nest Dharamsala, Asia - India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eagles Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.