We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, bad service and food.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bwindi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bwindi Lodge
Save
You added Bwindi Lodge to your Saves list
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Gold River, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location, bad service and food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Amazing location but bad food for what they charge. They charge camp prices in other countries but worst service and food. The quality of food is appalling since they have cut so many corners due to low occupancy. It is sad to see a Volcanoes camp in this condition since the camp in Ruwanda camp was excellent. The manages should be fired and replaced with manages who know how to manage and provide service to clients. The manages are never to be seen and the staff always hovers around the internet and cell phones, very unprofessional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolcanoesSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Bwindi Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Chanaka_Crystal_E,

We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Bwindi Lodge and although we are glad to hear that your stay at Virunga Lodge was enjoyable, we are taking your comments very seriously indeed. They have already been passed on to the lodge where they are being investigated fully and formally and are being addressed. We have also sent a team to make sure that this is not only fixed but that Bwindi Lodge provides the best food and service in Buhoma.

Thank you sincerely for your feedback,

Volcanoes Safaris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
28
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stop on our 5 week tour of Africa and after a 4 hour journey on the Uganda "motorway" we arrived at this stunning lodge. Due to other parties just leaving we were the only guests at Bwindi and the staff were fantastic and welcoming. The rooms are very tasteful with stunning views of the forest. There is a trail around the grounds where the gorillas frequently visit and although we didn't see them, we saw the fresh droppings from the morning visit before we arrived. The trek to the Gorillas is not for the faint hearted and its not called the Bwindi impenetrable rain forest for nothing! But the visit was magic, and the massage on returning to the lodge was one of the best we'd had.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had 2 nights and en,joyed every minute. The view from the cottages and the verandah of the main doge is stunning. The variety of birds is huge. You will hear the baboons and colobus monkeys and even gorillas in the forest below. We did not see the gorillas in the hotel grounds but they had been there just before we arrived. Very comfortable rooms and lodge which had everything we needed and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Cottages are either side of main lodge and all have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was one of many lodges we stayed in on our Africa Adventure last year. I cant say enough great things about it. Not only is it beautiful, its clean and welcoming and just all around lovely! We were very pleased.
This is one of many eco friendly lodges in the area. They are very big on that, protecting the planet in anyway they can.
So the lights and hot water are all run by solar power. You are asked not to use the lights until just about dark and the hot water is better used in the evening as it has been getting warm all day.
The bed are soft and clean and very comfortable. In the evenings the staff will even put a nice warm hot water bottle in the bottom of your bed so that you are warm, :) so cute!
The food is amazing, fresh, warm, very good.
They serve meals at a family table, which means that you will eat all meals with the other guests.
This is to encourage stories of travel and getting acquainted with other people. It really is a very good experience. We met some really wonderful and interesting people on this trip.
All rooms face the Forest.. WOW its pretty amazing. Its intriguing and eerie and wonderful!
I highly recommend this lodge, You will not be disappointed
Its also a great place to just relax after a long day of trekking or flying. They can bring you a drink to your room or get you anything you need.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Set very near the Bwindi Impenetrable Park gate this lodge has everything you need for a gorilla tracking adventure. The rooms are well appointed and the lodge has wifi in the common area. Uganda also has great cell/data service for the region. A deck and lovely dining area overlooking the slopes and river make for a great place to relax after a strenuous hike to see a gorilla group.

Only item to note is the lodge is arrayed on a slope, so prepare for a short climb to/from your vehicle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you want to trek gorillas in Bwindi National Park in Uganda this is the place to stay!! The private villas are in the middle of the jungle and there are guests who actually saw gorillas from their own terrace! Food and service are very good. If you have time explore the village nearby and the different community projects of Volcanoes safaris. You can also combine this experience with the Virunga Lodge in Rwanda which is equally amazing - see my other review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Bwindi Lodge is a luxury Eco-lodge as close as it's possible to get to Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. The individual cottages are perched on the edge of a ravine, meaning you get an incredible view of the impenetrable forest facing you. It was very atmospheric to watch the thunderstorm coming in across the forest and the valley from the floor to ceiling windows in our room.

The lodge is a favorite haunt of the Rushegura family of gorillas (probably the only lodge in the world which has the privilege of catering to such guests!) and we could see gorilla tracks and nests where they had slept the week before when we were staying there.

Gorillas aren't the only animals you'll see - rare birds including hornbills and bee-eaters frequent the cottages and the open air dining area. The food and wine are great - the tropical fruit cobbler we had here was the best dessert we've ever had anywhere in Uganda - as is the service. Jappheth the lodge manager is friendly, accommodating, and extremely knowledgeable about local flora and fauna as well as the habits of the gorillas.

Definitely the place to stay in Buhoma!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bwindi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwindi Lodge

Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The safari lodge overlooks the primeval Bwindi forest home to gorillas, monkeys, chimpanzees and birds. Tracking gorillas in the so-called ‘impenetrable' forest is a magical experience.At this stunning eco-lodge with eight bandas, clients can spend the day on the terrace, which juts out into the forest, mesmerized by its exotic sounds watching primates and birds in the canopy. The walk to the river through regenerated bush we have carefully nurtured as a buffer zone is magical. It is a favourite haunt for the gorillas and they often sleep at the lodge! The lodge is an hour's flight from Entebbe, a long drive day's drive from Kampala or six hours' drive from Kigali. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bwindi Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Bwindi Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bwindi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.