We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bwindi Lodge - Unforgetable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bwindi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bwindi Lodge
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Bwindi Lodge - Unforgetable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Unforgetable -What a beautiful place, and so peaceful. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Comfortable, excellent service, beautiful surroundings - all in all a truly wonderful experience, topped off with an amazing gorilla trek into the forest.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I can't say enough about the Bwindi Lodge. The setting is stunning and the lodge itself is beautiful, simple, elegant and perfectly in keeping with its surroundings. We heard and saw the Rushegura gorilla family from the moment of our arrival and then frequently for our too short stay. We did the gorilla trek in the park only to have the gorillas back at the lodge even before we arrived back ourselves! The food, the staff and everything about this lodge was magnificent. It is one of those places that can't be described in a way that does justice to the experience. Even pictures miss the beauty of this place. I can't recommend the place highly enough. You will not regret choosing the Bwindi Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

You will feel like you are in Africa because they use local products and styles to build their cabanas but you'll feel as comfortable as at home. We loved the service, the staff and the location. The view was to die for. Take advantage of the complimentary massage and walk up to the little village to shop Both add flavor to the experience. We had good WI-fi from the lodge and were able to send home photos. The bathrooms are spacious and luxurious and the front decks are a lovely place to relax after your gorilla trek, which fortunately, were not as tough as I had anticipated. The chef makes a wide variety of items and they are all good (even the beef, which is unusual in many isolated locations). Our only regret- that we didn't stay longer. This is one for the memory book.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Unbeatable views from the main lounge and there's a nice little loop to walk on the grounds, don't miss the swimming hole at the bottom.

Rooms are clean and spacious, seem to be new.There were monkeys on the pathways. It's a bit of a climb back up to the parking area - especially for the staff carrying luggage. Food is good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This lodge sits on the edge of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. The view from the individual bandas is amazing! I could sit on the porch for a lifetime. The rooms are big with large bathrooms. They are renevating some of the bandas to put in new bathrooms. I was in one already renovated and the shower/toilet/sinks are very good. Food is good and made at the time you set. Staff is wonderful and very attentive!! Gorilla trekking in Bwindi can be a serious challenge but worth the effort. One gorilla group is usually closer by and even wonders into the lodge on occasion, though I wasn't that lucky. This place is amazing and I wish I had stayed longer than 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Beach, FL
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
192 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

All Volcanoes lodges are top notch and Bwindi lodge is no exception. The only reason to be at this lodge is to go gorilla trekking. They have a short forest walk from the lodge which is not much and the village outside the gate is mainly to sell gifts - actually the only place on our Volcanoes safaris to buy anything. If you have a choice, do all of your gorilla trekking in Volcanoes NP. Bwindi Impenetrable Forest lives up to its name. It is dense and the hills are steep. Why beat yourself up if you can visit the gorillas with much less effort. But, that being said, Bwindi Lodge is wonderful

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Never mind that it's in a great location and beautifully decorated. The first day we arrived the gorillas came right into the lodge. It was amazing. The next day when we did our gorilla trek we ended up back at our lodge as the were walking about there. The food was very good and I'm a vegetarian. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We were on Volcanoes Safari 8 day trip and it was spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bwindi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwindi Lodge

Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The safari lodge overlooks the primeval Bwindi forest home to gorillas, monkeys, chimpanzees and birds. Tracking gorillas in the so-called ‘impenetrable' forest is a magical experience.At this stunning eco-lodge with eight bandas, clients can spend the day on the terrace, which juts out into the forest, mesmerized by its exotic sounds watching primates and birds in the canopy. The walk to the river through regenerated bush we have carefully nurtured as a buffer zone is magical. It is a favourite haunt for the gorillas and they often sleep at the lodge! The lodge is an hour's flight from Entebbe, a long drive day's drive from Kampala or six hours' drive from Kigali. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bwindi Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Bwindi Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bwindi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bwindi Lodge to your Saves list