We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary gorilla camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Save
You added Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp to your Saves list
Gorilla Territory, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sanctuary gorilla camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent place to stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful giving great service. The meals were very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the location was lovely. Great for those that love being out with nature.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review on Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp.

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

We would love for you to join our Facebook page and share some of your memories.

Warm regards
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    16
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
66
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The managers Jackson and Ian are great. We stayed here for three nights and two days of trekking. The tents are exactly that - tents (unlike some other places we have stayed at which were combination canvas/permanent structures). They were perfectly comfortable albeit sl dark and damp. Nightly hot water bottles was very welcome. Our hand washed laundry rarely dried on their own without the hair dryer to finish it off. The location is perfect, within Bwindi Park and just down the road from the starting point for gorilla trekking. Our first trek was arduous - 8 hours, 700 meter climb in five hours of pouring rain. Because of this, Tom declined to go out the next day but Jackson convinced me that I should do the second trek and I am glad I did. It was a piece of cake, saw gorillas within 30 minutes of walking and was back at the camp by 10:30 am. The staff were helpful and warm, Moses our tent attendant did amazing work getting our clothes/boots cleaned in time for the next day's trek. The food was adequate and given the location, understandable. The managers were amazingly tactful in dealing with some difficult guests who arrived the day after we did. They smoked cigars continuously in the common areas (driving me away), talked loudly into their cell phones, berated Jackson and Ian for the difficulty of their trek (one complained that he had told them of his asthma and why hadn't that been taken into consideration...I didn't comment on his obesity and constant cigar smoking), were late to breakfast and orientation for the trekking. I would have slapped them silly but the management handled them with tact. If you had asked me in the middle of my first day's trek if this was worth it, I might have questioned it, but in retrospect the two treks, the community walk, the massages by Precious, all made it a unique experience. Uganda is beautiful and I'm glad we went.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you so much for posting this detailed review regarding your recent stay at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp.

Although grueling we are thrilled that you had such a unique experience with us. We are definitely delighted that Jackson convinced you to do the second trek, I am positive you have no regrets.

Thank you for you kind comments about our staff especially Jackson, Ian, Moses and Precious they were happy to learn you appreciated their efforts. .

We do hope to welcome you back to beautiful Uganda one day soon.

We would love for you to share your experience of your stay with us on Facebook, just search for Sanctuary Retreats”

Take care
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently and whilst we have no complaints about food, service or location, we are not sure the camp warranted the more expensive price tag. We stayed at many luxury lodges though out Uganda and the price difference was around $300 per night extra to stay here and we don't feel it was any better than the other lodges.

The food, including packed lunches, were yummy, massage definitely worth it (good to book day in advance to ensure Precious isn't booked out when you get back from your day climbing). The only real issue we had was how close the rooms are to each other, you could hear your neighbours in their rooms talking or when people were walking down the path heading off at 5 am for their gorilla adventures.

I'd also recommend hiring a porter for the gorillas. My husband and I hired one each and with the amount of water you need to carry, minimum 2 litres per person, food, rain gear etc it was great to have someone else carry our packs. No body else in our group hired them but before long they were using our porters to help them up the hills, stop them sliding down the slopes and to carry their bags as well. We also used 2 walking sticks each which really helped with our footing and gaiters for the prickles. We had gloves but didn't use them.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review of your recent stay at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp.

We ensure our camps are competitively priced and offer excellent value for our guests, however we are happy to investigate pricing and will feedback. Many thanks for your kind comments regarding the service, food and location of our property. Sorry to hear that you were disturbed by other guests, we will feed this back to our camp managers as a good night’s rest is key to a full day of safari. Precious was delighted to hear that you appreciated her efforts.

Thank you for your recommendation of hiring a porter, this will no doubt assist future travellers.

Thanks once again, we do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

An unbelievable lodge in an unbelievable part of the world!!!. I stayed at the lodge twice, once with friends and then returned a year later with my family. The Gorilla trekking was great ..an exciting experience that does not disappoint. The lodge is top notch.. The manager is Ian Sendagala and he is second to none. He has assembled a first rate staff who will make sure you have a trip of a lifetime. What affected me the most was the wonderful people of Bwindi. While they lack for material things they are a smiling and caring group of people.. I have recently returned from a third stay at GFC.I was there with a friend to help with a local school. GFC is supporting Victory School., a local school that helps the most needy children in the community. I am so impressed that Ian not only can run a great lodge but they are a model corporate company to the community. They are leading the way to a better quality of life for their neighbors. For this they have my support and admiration.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Jeanne,

Thank you very much for making a third journey to come and stay with us, this is amazing and we appreciate that very much! Ian and the rest of the team were delighted to learn that you appreciated their efforts.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you once more and making your next stay with us as enjoyable and memorable as the previous ones.

Keep in touch with all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats by liking our Facebook page, you can also share your favourite photos of your stays with us.

Warm regards
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Jackson and his team didn't miss a beat, from dietary accomodations to cleaning our muddy shoes/gators, they were top notch. They were hospitable, friendly and always looking after us. We wanted to take them with us on the remainder of our trip. We have continued to recommend them to friends. The only draw back is the charging station is not in your luxury tent and WIFI is in the main area. At least we had these luxuries as we are supposed to be roughing it right? Great beds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Robyn,

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you had a “top notch” experience with us at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp. We are in the process of reviewing our Wi-Fi status and hope to have it enabled throughout the camp in the near future.

We have passed on your kind comments to Jackson and the rest of the team, who were very happy you appreciated their efforts.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

In November 2012, together with 2 friends I stayed for 3 nights at the Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp. It was a truly enjoyable and memorable experience. The place is very scenic, tranquil and yet with all the modern amenities for comfort and relaxation. The deputy manager, Jackson and his staff team made us feel very welcome and looked after us very well. We felt very much at home and comfortable. The individual tented rooms were large and quite cosy. The nights were quite chilly, and when we get to bed, the beds were already warmed with hot water bottles, and that was lovely. The food was simply great! Especially for a foodie like me, there was a very good choice and there was attention to detail in every dish. The food was always very delicious and the presentation was creative. Lack of internet in the rooms was not an issue as its not a place that one should come to and spend time behind a laptop. It would be a waste! We were happy that there was no tv, radio or wireless in the rooms.The staff organised an extremely memorable b'day surprise for one of friends while at the Camp. A large cake with candles and a very tasty dinner, coupled with music, song and dance had been organised without any prompting from us. Throughout our stay we had a lot of laughter and happy banter with the staff who treated us with much friendliness and respect. On the second day we achieved our major ambition of seeing the Mountain Gorillas. After a v.gruelling 3 hour climb (having had a torrential downpour the night before), we encountered the Rushegura family of mountain gorillas. It was simply amazing and enthralling. I had the added joy of being singled out by one of the young female gorillas that took a major liking to the scarf tied around my waist. She bounded towards me several times and began tugging at the scarf. The 7 metre boundary between gorillas and visitors was totally disregarded (luckily by the gorillas)! I was too stunned to take any pics. Luckily my friends did. Overall, it was a really super trip. Although my 'once-in-a-lifetime' experience was fulfilled, I would certainly not hesitate to go back to the Sanctuary Camp to just relax and unwind. I would very highly recommend it to anyone who is planning a visit to Uganda.

Room Tip: If you prefer less walking to and from the room to restaurant, pick a room at a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this detailed review of your stay at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp.

We are so happy that you had such an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. We have past your kind comments onto Jackson and the rest of the team who were delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. What an amazing experience you had with the Gorilla’s, glad your friends managed to take some pictures. So wonderful to hear you fulfilled your “once-in-a-lifetime” experience and that your friend had such a memorable birthday with us. We constantly aim to provide a friendly and efficient service, to make each guest experience a special one, and it is always rewarding to hear when we have reached this aim.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back home in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is an incredibly nice "camp" with a terrific location to trek and visit the Gorillas in Bwindi National Park. You stay in a tent/room that is perfectly nice - open air bathrooms but running water, electricity, comfortable beds. The only compromise that you make is that Internet is only available in the main lodge area and super slow speeds - but you come here for the Gorillas and not the connectivity.

One of the Gorilla families actually came to the camp on Christmas morning - walked right through camp looking foraging for food - just an amazing experience. Other than the Gorillas doing the work for us, we went on 2 treks from camp that took 5 to 6 hours, but were incredibly rewarding.

Overall, a wonderful experience. Location, food, service were excellent.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review.

We are delighted that you had such an amazing stay with us and would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding the location of our camp, food and service.

What a lovely Christmas present having Gorillas walk through camp...

It was nice to read your review and very pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp

Address: Gorilla Territory, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located in a glade facing mist-shrouded primeval rainforest in the far southwestern corner of Uganda, Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp is one of the most remote and atmospheric camps in Africa. A World Heritage site, Bwindi Impenetrable Forest is an area of awe-inspiring bio-diversity with over 200 species of birds, butterflies and trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.