We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahogany Springs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mahogany Springs
Save
You added Mahogany Springs to your Saves list
Kanungu, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 17, Uganda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Luxury in the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights at Mahogany Springs while gorilla trekking. Everything was perfect - our room ("Henry") was large and spotlessly clean, we had 2 big beds and mosquito netting, and a big bathroom. The staff was very kind and helpful - Moses & David took special care of us! The special touches like hot water bottles in the beds and boot cleaning were appreciated. The setting is beautiful in a valley of lush green. The main lodge has a front deck looking out over the river - a really great place to relax with a cold beer after a gorilla trek! The food was wonderful and with generous portions. Excellent -highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    31
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
85
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Rooms are fantastic, service is wonderful, food is fantastic and staff are very friendly and helpful! Also only approximately a 5 minute drive from Bwindi impenetrable forest where you can trek to find the gorillas! Has wifi and DVDs if you feel like just sitting back to relax in their cosy lounge area. Definitely recommend it to anyone and everyone who is planning to visit Bwindi! Also has pet cats :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the room "Edward" which was very nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent, we so enjoyed our time at Mahogany Springs from the time we arrived to our departure everything was perfect. The staff is over the top fab, the rooms clean and comfortable, the scenery is stunning...the mahogany tree is brilliant!! The food was good, the common area was welcoming, a lovely place to have a cup of coffee or glass of wine in the evening while enjoying the views. The main area is also the only area you can get internet connection and there are some limitations on electricity but hey you are in the jungle and they do an excellent job of providing you with all the "modern" conveniences necessary in this remote setting. My recommendation is go go go.... as the hotel is beyond fab and of course the gorillas are a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

From the moment you arrive after a very long and bumpy drive from Entebbe, the staff immediately make you comfortable. The service is excellent and personalised. Nothing is too much trouble. The scenery is stunning! The food is excellent, the best I've had whilst in Africa. I will be recommending the lodge to all my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was an amazing lodge! Very welcoming and comfortable. The food was fantastic, and I loved the communal area with wide deck, books and magazines, and bar. After a tough gorilla trek it is the perfect place to relax. The extra touches - hot water bottle in bed at night and boot cleaning were lovely surprises.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here - mainly because the staff were absolutely wonderful. The rooms / bandas were really spacious and comfortable. The setting is stunning. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place isn't just a lodge its a whole experience. Jotham, the general manager literally met us at the door of our tiny plane when it landed in Kihihi. He was warm and welcoming, and personally drove us back to the lodge. Its a long bumpy ride, over an hour but there is a lot to see on the way.

The communal dining room and bar look right out of a huge window to the jungle. The rooms are all separate from each other and have modern comforts like hot water and power plugs and wifi but are still open and rustic enough to feel like you're in the heart of Africa.

I loved the extra little touches from the staff, like finding a hot water bottle in bed when you jump in, and a guy appearing right behind you as you take your filthy jungle trekking shoes off to take them away for cleaning. Jotham stayed awake and attentive for hours into the night when the rest of us went to bed after drinks, but my travel companion needed someone to listen to his rants about the worlds problems. Definitely over and above the call of duty.

The staff also made sure we were much better prepared for the gorilla trek than the other hikers, with lunch boxes, hiking sticks and plenty of water. Special mention to David for serving us with care, he has such a stunning face it was quite mesmerizing.

My only compliant (and I’m not sure whether this was Mahogany’s fault, may have been our tour operator so I’m not allocating blame just mentioning to help in your planning) is that the transfers are very expensive, and mine back to the airfield was with a guy whose body odour had me hanging my head out the window like a dog. Mahogany are in contact with the pilots of the aircraft (they actually stayed at the same lodge) so they will adjust your transfer depending on whether the flight is early or late, its quite convenient.

Overall, our stay there was a short but absolutely brilliant experience and I just hope that in the future I meet someone I like enough to take there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahogany Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahogany Springs

Address: Kanungu, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 17, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahogany Springs has been built with comfort and class throughout. The perfect base for birdwatchers and Gorilla trackers, set on beautiful land with panoramic and breathtaking views of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. Providing the highest levels of service Mahogany Springs aim is to ensure your trip is a once in a lifetime experience. The Gorillas themselves have been visiting very close to the lodge every couple of weeks and within view from the terraces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mahogany Springs Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahogany Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.