We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Engagi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Engagi Lodge
Save
You added The Engagi Lodge to your Saves list
39A Berkeley Road , Entebbe, Uganda, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
los angeles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pretty Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our family stayed here 2 nights in July 2012 to see the Gorilla's in Bwindi our travel operator in Kenya made the arrangement,It's a fantastic location with very nice rooms and remarkably good food. When sitting on the in the lounge overlooking the Impenetrable Forest drinking an ice cold Nile,after a successful day of Gorilla trekking this place is near perfection.

Room Tip: It's pretty dark a night bring a flashlight and bug spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Yes, this place is so close to the Uganda Wild life Authority H/Qs; located a walkable distance outside the park head quarters. You can easily miss it coz the entrance is not that bright and just on the edge of the raod. The interesting thing with this facility is that it was carefully built without much interference with the natural setting. You enter into the vegetation and enjoy the birds singing and the sound of the river flowing below the valley as you view the magnificient Bwindi Impenetrable forest. The staff are very good, warm and welcoming with a well trained cheff. For those who may need massage after trecking, the service can be brought to you in the comfort of your cabbin at an extra fee. All who make a booking should do so knowing that like all the other facilities within Buhoma, you will depend on sollar power which is ration so dont forget to carry your torch.

Room Tip: All the cabins are indepently located away from each other and are overlooking the Bwindi Impenetrab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here in July 2011 for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The service was great throughout our entire stay. The food is also great - all the meat was very tender and everything had lots of flavour. The bar and dining area had a spectacular view over the valley. With the aid of binoculars it was possible to see black and white colobus monkeys swinging in the trees on the opposite side of the valley. There were also lots of birds flitting about the gardens. You can help yourself to tea and coffee kept warm in thermos flasks in the dining area throughout the day.

The rooms are very nice with wooden floors and a balcony outside. It feels very private as each room is surrounded by bush. The rooms were nice and warm at night. They come and put hot water bottles in fluffy covers in your bed but we found this wasn't really needed as it wasn't cold enough. The shower has excellent pressure and an ample supply of hot water. We didn't have any issues with damp (we were there in the dry season).

Tea and coffee is delivered to your room with your morning wake up call, which is a nice touch.

The generator turns on at about 5 or 6 am and turns off again once the sun rises. It switches on again at 7pm at switches off about 15 minutes after the last guest goes leaves the dining room. There is power for charging camera batteries, laptops etc. in the bar/dining area whenerver the generator is running. There is a limited number of plug sockets so if you have lots of things to charge you might want to think about bringubg a multiway adaptor with you. Our only problem with this lodge is that the generator is noisy - we could hear it clearly from our room whenever it was on. However, we did have the room closest to the dining area - it might be less of a problem as you move further away.

The main reason we were here was to see the gorillas. Be advised that the gorilla trek is tough. I was absolutely exhausted afterwards. The group of gorillas that we had kept moving through the forest at a long distance in front of us. The hillside in very steep and it gets very very slippery once you get off a path with all the spa from the broken ferns and bushes. Most of the time you can't really see where you are putting your feet. I would not have been able to do this walk without a porter to help me and I am a moderately fit 30 year old. Even if you are fit, unless you are very used to walking at altitude on steep slippery slopes through thick bush you will find it tough. Take a porter!!!! You need to carry a lot of water with you - I would suggest at least 3 litres per person (another reason to take a porter). Also there are no walking sticks available for loan here so if you want one you will need to buy one and then take if home with you. I would also suggest having some sweets or chocolates in an easy to reach pocket to give you an extra energy boost. Also make sure you wear long sleeves and trousers, have shoes or boots with really good grip and take thick gardening gloves to protect your hands from stinging nettles and thorny bushes.

We also went gorilla tracking in Rwanda and found this considerably easier - the hillside is less steep, it's colder so the walking doesn't feel as tough and the bush isn't as thick.

We wished we'd had a bit longer as some of the other walks in the national park looked interesting but we didn't have time. Don't plan on doing anything except relaxing after your gorilla trek!

Room Tip: Ask for a room a long way from the generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

If you are going to do Gorilla trekking than this is the place to stay. Though there are several places to stay in Bwindi - my tour company NatureTrack www.naturetrack-expeditions.com selected this and I am happy they did. Nestled in the mountains and rain forest, you feel like you can reach out and touch the gorillas. Though it rains daily/nightly and can be cool - I travelled in October - every evening I welcomed a hot water bottle that the staff placed in my room. What a treat! The food was fresh and well prepared. The staff really made the stay a joy - for a one night I was the only guest :) Well, suffice to say I felt like a VIP! As travelling alone, I felt safe and secure in my cabin at night. In addition to the Gorilla Trek - which is like nothing else in the world - a village tour is a must as well. There are many local shops where the residents prepare crafts, a well organized hospital, banana wine cottage, as wells as the witch doctor and pygmies. It is a cultural dream - to get to know the locals - who are open to talk and to share their culture. Oh, how can I forget - laundry is complimentary! Where does that happen? And since it rains so much - not sure how they get all the clothes to dry - but they did!

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk up and down some rocks to get to your room. Bring your flashlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

What an amazing place. Sadly we had only one night here but would happily have stayed for more. The staff were incredibly friendly, the food was wonderful and our accommodation was clean and charming. Sure it was damp but I suspect that any accommodation in or near Buhoma would have the same problem since the humidity is incredibly high. The hot water bottles were particularly welcome.

I would recommend staying here. After the long, bumpy ride (as described by GerritL), the welcome from the quiet and gentle staff and stunning view from the open lounge and restaurant left me overwhelmed and close to tears!

We had a fantastic trek to the gorillas - 7 hours of hard walking, but worth every minute.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Perfect location for a short break in Bwindi to trek with the gorillas.
The staff were very friendly, food was good and accommodation was basic but suited the location perfectly. We had mosquito nets provided in rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nossegem, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

After a very long and bumpy drive - roads are terrible - we arrived at the Engagi Lodge in Bwindi. We were welcomed with sincere big smiles by the local staff. They took us to our cabin, and yes, it is very nice location, quite comfortable. Electricity only available two hours at nights and in the morning, but more is not necessary. Just not forget to charge your batteries during these hours. As everywhere in Uganda, the staff is very very very friendly. Food in restaurant was very well prepared. Good job, chef !

But...the most atrractive part is that the lodge is very close to the Bwindi Camp, where the gorilla trekkings start. We were assigned to visit the Rushegura group, which consists of 20 gorillas. We counted 16 at the end of the trekking. It is recommended to be in a good shape, because it was hard work of climbing steep slopes to only get to the rainforest. From there, the search started. The guides did a wonderful job and we could find the gorillas after less then 2 hours of hard work. Total trekking took like 4 hours. Not too bad, but rest of the day was just relaxing at the lodge with a Nile Special beer and enjoying the great views. Worth to mention that they also organize trekkings for disabled people where their 911-team can take also wheelchaired people up to the forest. Great initiative.

Gerrit

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Engagi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Engagi Lodge

Address: 39A Berkeley Road , Entebbe, Uganda, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Engagi Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
The Engagi Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Engagi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.