We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting and hot water a bonus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buhoma Community Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp
Save
You added The Buhoma Community Rest Camp to your Saves list
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting and hot water a bonus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Setting is fantastic. it really could not be better, right at the briefing point for the start of the gorilla trekking. We stayed in a permanent tent which was surprisingly en-suite with hot water throughout the day! Each tent has a lovely balcony which looks out onto the forest. You could really sit there all day just watching the mist and clouds roll over. The furnishings in the tent are adequate, nothing too posh but a comfortable bed all the same. Mosquito nets provided which did the job. The food in the restaurant was basic but edible but i thought the area was a great place to hang about at the end of a hard days trekking. The electric charging points in the bar area was a bonus. The only real issue is that the tents are pretty much permanently damp, as is all your clothing, towels etc. I don't suppose there really is much they can do about this as it is in the rainforest after all. Make sure that you take a fleece with you as it is pretty chilly in the evenings.
Staff throughout our stay were pleasent and helpful. No complaints there either.

Room Tip: The tents look nicer than the bandas. Bandas are not ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
8
32
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Arrived tired after a long drive to be told there was a mix-up and hour confirmed booking could not be honoured. So at 5 in the evening after a real struggle to get our pre-paid deposit back we were left without accomodation. This apparently is not uncommon as bookings are made remotely from the Hotel and communication doesn't happen. I would think twice if I were you, the inconvenience, hassle and nuisance are unpleasant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stayed in the permanent tent. Also took a peek inside the banda, which was nothing
special, pretty much the same as the tent, just with walls instead.

The rooms are pretty bare bones. Two rickety beds with damp bedding. The mosquito
nets don't work very well due to the posts at the foot and head of your bed. I found dead
moths on my bed, and also got nasty bug bites on my leg and my neck. It's quite dark inside
the tent, even with the lights on. The generator is not on for very long. Lights out about 9pm
There is warm water for your shower, although you have to let the water run for about 3
mins and there is a slight metallic smell to it.

Food is nothing special. My packed lunch for the last 2 days consisted of a cheese sandwich
that had more butter than cheese, a slice of pineapple, a banana, a boiled egg, a sausage
and a box of juice. Breakfast consists of your choice of eggs, toast and fruit. Dinner is usually chicken with rice. There is a vegetarian option available. You can ask for your meals about 30 mins earlier if you so desire.

Staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitgum, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The camp has a stunning view of mesmeric forested hills, as good as any other accommodation in the area. The staff are very welcoming, the service decent, the food is adequate and it is good to be supporting a community initiative. But the camp is a bit run down and, given the surfeit of accommodation in the area and thus the ability to negotiate prices, it must be possible be get better value - if not to get anything cheaper. I paid USD65 full board (foreign resident rate) for a non-self-contained banda - but I think USD40 would have been an acceptable price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

This is budget lodging in an area where other lodges are very, very expensive. Yes, the cottages and bandas are not luxurious, but there is hot water and good food. Much more important is the peaceful setting, the wonderfully warm, attentive and caring staff, and the magical setting with incredible views off the porch. We just loved our time here

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed at the bandas for just one night, it was a bit creepy, specially the holes on top of the doot and windows. I wasnt self contained, and I was down a few levels of staris (at the bottom!) so at night you had to go up to the showers and toiletts. I wouldnt recommend it, it would be better to pick the rest camp or else..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

stayed in a bandas on site. Comfortable twin beds with mosquito nets and lights when power was up. Candles and toilet paper provided. Separate toilets and shower facilities. The toilets had problems flushing and hot water was not available the first night I was there.
Restaurant offered candle light meals and packed lunches for the hikes. Meals were good enough but nothing to rave about. Views and sounds from the restaurant deck were magnificent when the sun was down.
Campsite was right around the corner from the meet site and not far by truck from Bwindi forest. The local town was right outside the gates where one had access to some amenities such as Internet access. There was also a local orphanage where the kids perform song and dance, a great place to check out for a bit.
It was a campsite so I did not expect luxuries, which also means constant power and hot water. The staff was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buhoma Community Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buhoma Community Rest Camp

Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
The Buhoma Community Rest Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buhoma Community Rest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.