We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little corner of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge

Save Saved
You added Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park | 15 Binayomba Road, Bugolobi, PO Box 23825, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Berkhamsted
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little corner of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just breathtaking views, service and rooms. Although I have to say calling the accommodation a suite is a huge understatement. You could entertain there in style!

To wake up in the morning at an altitude of over 1500m surrounded by lush vegetation and look across to the hills of the Democratic Republic of Congo is just an experience we will never forget.

This, combined with having the honour of watching gorillas, was just breathtaking. My one piece of advice would be to put the camera away for a while and just let your mind take in where you are and what you can see.

Thank you Clouds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Neil,

Thank you for a nice and wonderful feedback about our lodge on TripAdvisor. We agree with you, that sometimes putting away the camera will give you a whole other view on your experiences. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time and please visit our " little corner of paradise" anytime!

Warm Regards,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Such an Amazing Natural Place, People and the whole experience. The Excellent Service.
I just don't want the day to end while at the Clouds, and when it does end- Bulter asks: would you like a wake up call? :) Next day you get up to this amazing view with the Lodge 2000 metres above Sea level. You realize life is amazing.

Thank you Clouds Team :) Look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I have traveled to 30 countries or so between us, and this place, given it's location and logistical challenges, stacks up against some of the best places in the world.

Where to begin? The cottages, maybe 900 square feet or so, are cozy, with views off the hilltop south of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. There is a large sitting area, and provided plenty of room to spread out our things. Most of the lodges we stayed in during our trip had a lack of space to do this - we missed it! A fireplace open to both sitting area and bedroom was a fantastic luxury, made more so by having it started for us each night while we were at dinner, as well as right after we returned from our gorilla trek, when we were tired, wet, and chilly.

Meals were 3 courses for lunch and dinner, and we took a packed lunch when we walked through Bwindi the day we checked out. All were delicious. The muesli for breakfast was the best I've ever had - I'd love to have some for my long hikes here at home.

The service, from Joshua the manager to his team, including Innocent, Gerald, Felix, and the rest, was fantastic. They did what every other place does: haul luggage and help out at meals, but having a fire going after our gorilla trek was great. Also, my wife wanted a massage in our cottage, and Innocent and Gerald brought down an entire massage table for her, no small feat given the massive size of the table (not a fold up) and the steep steps down from the spa to our cottage. My wife has had massages all over the world, at quality places from Vegas to Phoenix to Asia to the Dead Sea, and this one, for $30, compared favorably to any massage anywhere in the world.

To accomplish all this at the end of a ridiculously bumpy, pot-holed road on top of a hill in rural Uganda is nothing less than a miracle.

You will stay at "fancier" places with big corporate names in big cities. But you will be hard-pressed to find a better combination of service, small size, in a far-flung location, anywhere in the world. For it to be only #4 on Trip Advisor is a shame - but note that 2 of the 3 above it are not even on the same side as Bwindi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Boskk69,

We can only smile and we are over the moon with your wonderful feedback! Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing this with us and sharing this with the TripAdvisor Community.
We are happy that you experienced exactly what we are striving for...Small intimate cottages, guest service, wonderful food and an exclusive and rare experience in the Jungle of Uganda. We were honored to have you at our lodge and we do hope we can welcome you again at Clouds or perhaps in one of our other cottages.

Please stay well and we hope that the memory of Uganda and Clouds will stay with you for ever!

Warm Regards,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wow !!!! It was amazing. What an experience. I don't have enough words to describe our experience at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge.
We were group of four and we were the only guest in entire lodge. We stayed for three nights and we had time of our life. The staff - Innocent, Monday, Barak, Head Chef, house keeping ladies, all were too good in taking care of us. These guys don't know how to say no. All our requests were met with utmost satisfaction.
Thanks everyone, we will remember you forever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear AJS,

I am very sorry for the delay in reply but we would like to thank you for your great feedback on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that all your expectations where met.
Please come visit us again anytime and THANK you very much for sharing your thoughts and experiences with the online community! :) Very much appreciated.

Warm Regards,

The Entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Bwindi Impenetrable Forest was up to the task and having Clouds Gorilla to come back to every evening with everyone from the staff waiting for us at the entrance was pretty awesome. Tigomwe, our butler set up dinner in our room on the day I wasn't feeling too good and always made sure our every wish was met, including his anticipation of what we'd need at almost every turn. Coming back from our visit with the Batwa and after our second gorilla trek we arrived soaking wet and cold and there they all were waiting for us with towels, a warm drink and at the ready to take care of our wet laundry and very wet boots in order to get them all ready in time for the next day. One other excellent experience was the staff massage therapist who was incredible and revived tired bones and body with tenderness and great care. Well done Joshua and your entire team. We thank each of you for a memorable stay. Jon & Vicki RPV, CA

Room Tip: They're all great with awesome views of the Virungu Mountains, plus you have your own dedication...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jon and Vicki,

You always hope to hear back from your guests who stayed at your lodge...and you always hope and wish that they leave a wonderful feedback...but your feedback is SIMPLY AMAZING!
Thank you so much Jon for sharing your experience and amazing words about Clouds here on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear about the experience and "HIGH" you had while staying at Clouds! Our staff at the Lodge couldn't stop smiling when we shared the feedback with them.
Tigomwe wishes you warm wishes and the entire team was honored with your stay at our lodge.

Please visit us again or one of our other lodges when you are in Uganda and thanks a million for these amazing words.

Warm wishes,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Clouds is the perfect place to explore the impenetrable forest. The staff are incredibly friendly and would bend over backwards to make your stay a tiny bit more enjoyable. The cottages themselves are beautiful self contained units that are the perf

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Stuart,

We would like to thank you for your kind, wonderful and nice feedback and :"share" of your experience at Clouds!
We are delighted to hear that you had an incredible experience!

We hope to welcome you at Clouds again sometime in the future!

Thanks again!

Kind Regards,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place. The location is breathtaking. Nestled in the mountains, near the gorilla treks and close to local villages full of the most adorable children. The lodge is beautiful, as are the rooms. But what really gets you is the service. You are made to feel so at home and welcomed by the incredibly warm staff from the moment you arrive. If I described everything that the staff did for us it would sound over the top. Yet somehow they have nailed being attentive without being invasive. Such an amazing experience I will never forget. The only negative was that I was overfed and the food was so delish I couldn't say no! Thanks especially to Alex and Monday our butlers. They really made our stay so homely and special. I hope to come back one day!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. Although ours on the mountain side probably have a better view but haven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Donna,

We are truly over the moon with your wonderful feedback! THANK-YOU-SO-MUCH!
Our team at Clouds is happy to hear that they made your stay one to remember!
Please come visit us again when you are in Uganda.

Your feedback and "share" is much appreciated and we can't thank you enough for those amazing words.

Warm Regards,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge

Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park | 15 Binayomba Road, Bugolobi, PO Box 23825, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is remote, it's beautiful, it's intimate. It is Uganda’s highest lodge. If tracking gorillas is high on the agenda for many tourists, by all means, come to Clouds to track gorillas. But while you’re here, why not stay on a bit and immerse yourself in the relaxed vibe of the lodge, partake in community activities, indulge in massage and just enjoy rarity of being pampered in such spectacular setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.