We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this one - you will regret it if you stay somewhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Save
You added Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge to your Saves list
Bwindi Impenetrable National Park | 15 Binayomba Road, Bugolobi, PO Box 23825, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one - you will regret it if you stay somewhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wow! Wow! We hit the jackpot. It's not just the location of this wonder lodge but the staff service and rooms make it a complete experience.
Sipi and his team were at our beck and call. The rooms were beautifully equipped and with our own private butler and domestic nothing was too much trouble and we were in heaven.
Alex escorted us on a walk around the town and we stopped and had a drink at the Panchline with the locals which was one of the highlights of our trip.
The property is located close to everything but away from anyone. The perfect spot to relax after a day gorilla trekking. And believe me you will want to relax after your arduous walk.
Our clothes and shoes were clean and returned to our room at days end in ready for the next morning.
The meals were wonderful with fresh product from the grounds of clouds.

Do yourself a favour stay here! You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Any room is great. They are all private and close to main lodge. The views from all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very beautiful, relatively new structure, magnificent views, nice grounds. Very spacious cottages with huge living room, bedroom and bathroom. Plus veranda. Nice enough, comfortable furniture. Excellent food. Superb service provided by everyone. My personal buttler did everything imaginable to make my stay great. Internet only in the main building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We can't imagine a more wonderful experience than trekking to see the gorillas up close and personal nor a more wonderful place for the experience than Clouds. The property is very privately located atop a mountain ridge but just a five minute walk from the ranger station where we met for our treks to see the Nkuringo gorilla group. The main lodge building is a beautiful stone structure, with commanding views out over the nearby mountains and valleys and very generous gathering and dining areas. Guests stay in stone "cottages" located with privacy in mind. Our cottage and the cottage for the couple we were traveling with had a very large living room (yes, a living room, not just a sitting area), a porch, a large bedroom with kingsize bed and a large bathroom. Oh, yes, and a fireplace: great for warmth on a cool mountain evening and a wonderful light and sound to fall asleep to.
On arrival, we were greeted by the delightful couple who managed the lodge and seemed to take it as their personal responsibility to make us feel like family. With the exception of the managers and the chef, who served the best meals we had during our two and a half weeks in Africa and some of the best we have ever had, the rest of the staff were people from the community. This was part of the agreement between the community and the resort operator which calls for the lodge to become the property of the community after ten years. We and the other couple we were traveling with were assigned a butler and housekeeper, who were friendly and did everything imaginable to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. A couple of examples: during our tour of the Batwa (pygmy) forest, it started to rain, and Sipi, our butler who had stayed back at the lodge. arrived unannounced out in the forest with an umbrella for each of us: and after a grueling eight hour trek to see the gorillas, we turned our very dirty clothes and equally dirty hiking boots over to our housekeeper, and they were delivered back to us early the next morning, clothes cleaned and ironed and hiking boots cleaned, dried AND POLISHED--that's never happened to them in all their years on our feet. The eight hour trek meant we returned to Clouds too late for the full body massage we had planned, but we were encouraged to take the shorter foot massage. Not only did it feel wonderful after the day we had had, but it may have been the only reason we were able to get out of bed and go trekking the next morning. Fortunately, we found the gorillas that day in less than an hour and were able to enjoy the full body massage that afternoon. It would be a mistake for anyone to pass up that wonderful, and healing, experience.
Having done it, we can say without reservation that the hour that we spent with the gorillas our first day was worth every minute of the eight hours of bushwhacking straight up steep mountains and then down steep mountains. We were thrilled to have the privilege of seeing them in the wild at such a close distance. Our next two days of trekking were much shorter and our experiences with the gorillas on those days were even more exciting. On the second day, one of the silverbacks treated us to the excitement of a mock charge (safely handled by our ranger guide). On the third day, the dominant silverback of the group, which we were watching from about fifteen or twenty feet, got up, walked toward us and sat down about four feet from us. It was an incredible experience to be that close to them in the wild and a spiritual experience to look into their eyes.

Room Tip: We only saw our cottage and one other, but it appeared that all of them were about the same and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

It is indeed surprising to see that someone can have a bad experience here but probably anything can possibly turn wrong one way or another.

As far as we are concerned, our 2 nights here (for 1 gorilla tracking) revealed just perfect and this very new lodge (4 years old if I remember well) was our favorite in Uganda (even with "Gorilla Forest Camp"). The view from the main area is stunning and really different from the ones you can get in the northern part of Bwindi area and you can even see the volcanoes in Rwanda and DRC.
The cottages are wonderful with the large bathrooms, large beds and the nice wood stove. The big plus is the dedicated butler who for us was the fantastic Innocent taking extremely great care of us!

On the minus side, I can mention 3 minor things only:
1)During the day you might end up with no more hot water since the water is heated in a balloon and that the camp being ecofriendly does not use any generator before 6PM.
2)Stairs made out of little stones are a bit dangerous and probably too steep especially at night.
3)It is a bit far (1 hours on bumpy roads but beautiful landscapes though) from the place where you have to meet with UWA for the gorilla tracking (which can also be far from the actual place where the gorilla tracking starts). But since gorilla tracking is such an exciting moment, this is not really a matter of big importance at the end.

All in all if you like or can splurge in lodges close to nature, this place is for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Unfortunately, unlike most of the other reviewers, we've had a pretty bad experience in the Lodge. The place is wonderful, the rooms/cottages are beautiful. However, the upholstery was stained, the bedsheets had holes in them, our butler had terrible BO and worst of all, we had food poisoning which caused us to miss the gorilla trek - which was the reason we travelled to Uganda in the first place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights to do our second gorilla trek with the Nkuringo group having travelled from the other side of Bwindi to see our first group, the Rushegura family. After 6 hours of bad roads and detours, we were SO glad to arrive here and were welcomed like old friends immediately. New manageress, Madelaine, met us at reception and introduced us to our own butler, Alex and housekeeper Beatrice, who were both well-skilled, charming and helpful. Our chalet was more like a small private house and the views ( at 7,500 feet ) were breathtaking. Even if you were not here to see the gorillas,( an exceptional experience ) this is a wonderful place to stay and wind down. All the meals were first class and for such a remote location, we still wonder....HOW DO THEY DO IT?
Because we came across our first gorilla group within 15 minutes, we knew the Lords of Karma would not let us get away with such easy trekking twice.
We were right.......this one was 6.5 hours long, and tough, but worth every aching moment of it. The group,the NKURINGO family, were out in a clearing when we came across them and the photographic opportunities were so good, even the guides were snapping away on their phones and we stayed well past our allotted time as we literally sat amongst them. As a semi-fit 60 year old, this was truly one of those special "bucket list " moments. We even received a mock charge from the retired silverback of the group when the twin male gorillas born last year got too close to us. This was an experience more exhilarating than frightening, as the rangers are very professional and know the group well.
When we staggered back to the Lodge, which incidentally, is only 5 mins away from the gorilla HQ, it was suggested that a massage would not go astray. This advice was acted upon immediately and our 1.5 hours with Christine & Co. was heavenly.
After a great dinner we opted to just sit on the porch with our fantastic guide, Robert, from NATURETRACK EXPEDITIONS and take in the remarkable vistas in all directions, listening like school kids as we learnt of the Rift Valley and the active volcanoes in the distance and beyond to the Congo.
Retiring for the night, Alex was on hand with a welcome nightcap, a warm fire, a turned down comfy king size bed, cleaned hiking boots and miniature carved gorillas for us. Aaaarrhh bliss.
Not cheap but if you can manage, put this lodge on your itinerary. Cheers.

Room Tip: Have a massage here. Wonderful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

You will love this place with your personal butler and housekeeping. The Lodge is spectacularly located and the houses with your private fire place will make you feel at home at once. The staff does really care and you will really enjoy the delicious food. We stayed there in January for three nights and this was the most wonderful place of all!!! And the best thing is- you support the regional development by staying there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge

Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park | 15 Binayomba Road, Bugolobi, PO Box 23825, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is remote, it's beautiful, it's intimate. It is Uganda’s highest lodge. If tracking gorillas is high on the agenda for many tourists, by all means, come to Clouds to track gorillas. But while you’re here, why not stay on a bit and immerse yourself in the relaxed vibe of the lodge, partake in community activities, indulge in massage and just enjoy rarity of being pampered in such spectacular setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.