We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing way to escape from everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nkuringo Gorilla Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nkuringo Gorilla Camp to your Saves list
Nkuringo Gorilla Camp
Nteko Ridge | P.O Box 10152, Kampala, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% Low season special
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mallorca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An amazing way to escape from everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

For those in seek of adventure and quality time with themselves, nature and authentic african communities, this is an affordable option which does not mean uncomfortable. The facilities are basic, yet good and clean and most importantly, this is where you get the real thing, the feeling that you're away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and of busy places in East Africa like Nairobi or Central Kampala. Plus, on a clear day views are breathtaking.

Besides the owner, the place is run by locals who also happen to be warm and kind people you can have a great conversation with. The cooks are ugandan as well and they are so good at cooking food for those not willing to try something far too exotic but at the same time at adding their own magical touch.

The place is a great option for gorilla trackers. Bwindi is an amazing spot for your gorilla tracking experience.

For those getting there by public transport, be careful because while you get to share your trip with great, real african people, it is also true that some drivers are crazy so taking buses, boda boda or private hires can be seriously dangerous.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    39
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
117
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

It is not our first trip to Uganda but it was the first time we went to the area of Kisoro.We went the first week of august from Bwindi to Nkuringo for a walking safari of almost 6 ours, it was great but hard, we had beautiful sights with in the background the noise of the chimps. We would recommend this walk to everyone who is in good shape! (there is also the short walk that is not so difficult but also beautiful) We had made a reservation through internet in Nkuringo campsite. It is a very good campsite, very friendly staff, good food and the accomodation in our tent had a wonderful view on the vulcano. You can make astonishing beautiful pictures from the campsite. There are also banda's and they where building new cottages(who are by now finished) that where very nice! It is also very good for birdwatching on the campsite. We did also a boattrip on Mutanda lake with the same guide we had on the walking safari. Nkuringo campsite is remote but that is what we liked the most, there you can still see the real life of Uganda! The owner would do everything to please you and puts a lot of effort to work together with the local people. Thank you Robert for a very nice time in your campsite, good luck!!! Peter and Dominique from Belgium

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

My son, his girlfriend and I visited Bwindi Impenetrable Forest to visit the mountain gorillas. We came to the Nkuringo Gorilla Campsite and Hammerkop Bunkhouse with a guide arranged by Robert and Lydia, walking through villages from Kisoro to Lake Mutanda and canoeing across Lake Mutanda. The setting of the Bunkhouse is spectacular. The next day, we trekked to visit the Nshongi group, seeing 16 of a group of 32, including 2 silverbacks, juveniles, babies, females, and blackbacks. It was an incredible experience. The forest itself was, indeed, impenetrable. The guide had to cut a path with a machete, and we were walking on a springy mat of vegetation several feet above the forest floor. As we returned, we were charged by a wild bull elephant; very dangerous, but exciting. All of us agreed it was the best experience of our lives.
Robert and Lydia also arranged the rest of our trip in Uganda and Rwanda, arranging for an excellent driver and guide, Emmanual Ntirenganya.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

This is an incredibly beautiful, peaceful and quiet place in a remote area of southwestern Uganda, on top of a mountain on an altitude of more than 2000 metres with stunning panoramic views to the Virunga volcanoes and to the gallery forest of Bwindi National Park.
The Campsite itself, the bunkhouse and the banda are simple but very clean, functional and, again, really beautiful. There are hot showers and the food Benson prepared was some of the best we had on our five-week-trip. The staff with Asgario, Benson and all the others of the Nkuringo Youth Initiative is unbeatable. (www.nkuringocampsite.com) They are even constructing two more comfortable cottages that should be finished soon. It is even a perfect budget place to stay if you are to track the gorillas.
We came here with Nkuringo Walking Safaris (www.nkuringowalkingsafaris.com): the first day we hiked from Buhoma through Bwindi National Park and community land to Nkuringo, continued the second day through the hills with banana plantations to Lake Mutanda, took a dugout-canoe, spent a night in the very beautiful and a bit more upmarket Nkuringo Safari Lodge and continued with the canoes to Kisoro on the third day.
We were accompanied by a guide, Asgario, a former UWA-guide in Mgahinga Volcanoes NP – he knew literally everything about animals, plants and village life and was a very nice companion. We even had two porters for our rucksacks – I must admit we had to get used to having porters, but without them, the trip would have been a hard challenge.
The Nkuringo Walking Safaris is for me the perfect way of experiencing rural Africa as a tourist – if you don’t know anyone in Uganda, it is impossible to get closer as a mere tourist. And it was so easy to organize everything thanks to Lydia and Robert. They just know what they are doing – and they do it on a budget: we paid 125 USD per person (incl. accommodation, meals, guide fees, porters and canoes)!
The only thing I regret about the three days: we should have stayed at least one more night in Nkuringo. But we didn’t know it would be so beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I have recently returned from a trip to Uganda. We booked a walking safari with Nkuringo Walking Safaris. The first day we hiked from Buhoma to Nkuringo, the second day we tracked the Bwindi gorillas (amazing!), the third day more hiking, and the fourth day we canoed out. Robert and Lydia were extremely, extremely helpful and we were really pleased and amazed with the high level of customer service these guys provided before and during our hike. The hike was beautiful, all the employees were so nice and helpful, and I'd really recommend them if you're looking for a way to see the country on foot...it was one of our favorite experiences in Uganda.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirneh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

I did a short trip to Uganda in July 09 with my girlfriend. We went to Kibale N.P. - Q.E. N.P. - Buhoma - Nkuringo - Lake Bunyonyo - Lake Mburo N.P. - Kampala.

We hat the best time - proberly the best experince ni East Africa. Everything was organized threw Nkuringo Walking Safaris. Robert and Lydia really know what they are doing and therefore we had an amazing time without skyhigh prices like other agencies.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

the campsite is such a gem. it is basic yet very comfortable (especially with the new toilets!). when the clouds don't invade, the views of the virunga mountains are beautiful. the staff are great - both at the campsite and in the offices.

the walking safari was a great experience. the guide was professional and experienced. i only had time to do a short one day trek but would recommend doing a longer trek if time permits.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nkuringo Gorilla Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkuringo Gorilla Camp

Address: Nteko Ridge | P.O Box 10152, Kampala, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nkuringo Gorilla Camp is located at 2160m ASL astride the Nteko Ridge overlooking a beautiful swath of the world renowned Bwindi Impenetrable Forest National Park. With a 270 degree panorama from the venue your visual feast includes views of primary forest, the Albertine rift valley and the Virunga volcanoes. Nkuringo Gorilla Camp now offers visitors five beautifully hand crafted luxury cottages, our family cottage has superb vantage across the Kashasha River valley to the forested hill known as "Nkuringo" and the surrounding swathe of trees of the Bwindi Forest and in addition our four Virunga terrace en-suite rooms. Nkuringo Gorilla Camp prides itself on its green credential with a carbon neutral footprint. And through our Nkuringo Walking Safaris we promote sustainable tourism and work directly with local guides to provide clients staying with us the opportunity to immerse in the fabrics of rural Uganda few others get to experience. We are very instrumental in sourcing Gorilla tracking permits for clients that wish to stay with us at Nkuringo Gorilla Camp with our timely response to your enquiry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Nkuringo Gorilla Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nkuringo Gorilla Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Nkuringo Gorilla Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nkuringo Gorilla Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.