We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back whenever possible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg to your Saves list
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Garrick Road | Johannesburg, Randburg 2194, South Africa (Formerly Idwala Boutique Guest House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
April-May Special
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Will come back whenever possible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very nice and comfortable rooms (even heated what had not been in some other Lodges in winter time), comfortable bathroom with tube and shower. Fantastic fresh food (they asked, what you would prefer) and very gentle and helpful people (if you need anything organized they will do!). Especially Paul is really a very good cook and nice guy and one of that point why I would come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanetteFriese, Manager at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about Idwala - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the meals our team provided. We hope you had a good trip home and really look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in South Africa!
Best regards from the Idwala Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
24
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a great place with great service. Friendly people. Very comfortable rooms. Beautiful and quiet area. Perfect for everybody who can afford it.

The people are friendly. The food is great. I hosted my parents in this place. They loved it.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk through the dark, then choose rooms 1, 2 or 3. They are inside the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Idwala - we really appreciate this and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the dinner you hosted for your parents was successful and appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back to Idwala when you visit South Africa again.
Jeanette Friese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This place is very welcoming and supportive of all your needs; Paul the cook is amazing and so is the whole kitchen team- mindful of- and attentive to your wishes.. The 3 course menu too much for me and my guests, who all had their own wish lists but that was catered for as if it wash;t any effort. The rooms in the main house are very spacious, yet a little more noisy (when other guests are having their breakfast/ dinner); Debbie, the manager, a whirlwind that takes care that you are ok- she helped me with a wrong car that I hired from the airport- by actually phoning their office twice and turning the car around for me- while I was working.
The trip from JNB airport an easy one, just mainly highway;
The nearby 4th street a lovely local place to wander around (antique shops and lots of cafe's/ restaurants); We worked at Idwala- several times, hiring their main conference room; a recommendable and professional experience as well.

Room Tip: Main house rooms are very nice and spacious, a little change of hearing other guests when in room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review Idwala - we really appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards from the Idwala Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Fantastic place, they organized everything for me, transport from airport to hotel, and to all my destinations. They perfectly made everything as promised.
When they say the food is fresh in the restaurant, it means really fresh, they ask you after breakfast what you would prefer for dinner, then they go and buy it. You just tell the general idea, and they surprise you with great food!
I think this is one of, if not the best place I ever stayed with!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the guest houses, 2-4 rooms in one house, fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Idwala - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the dinners you had in our restaurant. For both management and chef this is really rewarding, and we thank you most sincerely for your kind words! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Idwala soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at Idwala for over three weeks in October 2013, I do have say that this was most likely the best place I have ever stayed, I travel extensively for work and have traveled world wide and in no other place I've stayed was I made to feel so welcomed. The staff at Idwala really do go out of their way to make you feel at home, and the food, the food is great, many options and if its not on the menu, they still often cook what you want. The food is fresh, and prepared daily. I hope to travel back to South Africa and when I do, I will certainly be staying at Idwala, five star all the way,

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your long stay at Idwala and that you were so very satisfied with the meals we served. We really enjoyed having you at Idwala - please do return soon to enjoy more dinners! Best regards from the Idwala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binbrook, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

As soon as I looked at Idwala's website, I was drawn in to the magic of this place.
It truly is a hidden, lush oasis tucked away within Jo-Burg.
The photos are amazing and they do capture the curiosity I felt in anticipation of staying here.
A high-end hotel does not come close to rivalling Idwala.
The Garden Rooms were very unique with their circular walls and thatched roofs.
The room was certainly spacious enough accommodating the bed, sitting area, computer counter, big closets, generous size bathroom and bistro-style sitting area outside of the room.
The room was attended to daily and the bed couldn't have been made up any fresher than it was. After coming home from our excursions each day this room was a definite welcoming space to unwind and rest. The Idwala grounds were also very special with their earthly elements of brick, natural stone, plants, trees and flowers. There are lovely bushes of jasmine right outside your door and their fragrance was released each day by the warming sun.
This attentive atmosphere was also present at the main building which housed other guest rooms, a welcoming dining room and an expansive gathering area consisting of 3 distinctive over-sized spaces with full sized sofas, accompanying chairs and huge coffee tables which were perfect for quiet meetings or more social conversations. Outside of this area there was a very lush oasis consisting of a plunge pool with a waterfall, padded recliners and patio tables and chairs. Mother nature was surely inviting those who love to be enfolded by the outdoors. During our stay when we took a break from our sight-seeing, we had our lunches and dinners in this garden setting. Chef Paul offered his 5-star expertise with his unique gourmet meals. Each meal was plated invitingly and all cuts of meat were cooked according to your taste.
A must try is the prawn-avocado salad, breakfast omelette, Chef Paul's Idwala steak and melba pudding dessert. Idwala will also attend to your meals if you get together with friends not staying at the Guest House. My husband had such an opportunity and his guests were quite amazed by this welcoming. The best for last are the people who dedicate their time and service to this wonderful getaway. There is a very pleasant welcome awaiting you as you arrive and each member of the staff will introduce themselves to you - this is the magic. If you are a quiet person and value your privacy then this will be respected by the staff. Likewise if you enjoy a more social visit then the team at Idwala will be glad to hear about your interests in South Africa. If you will be relying on the Guest House to suggest daily excursions then you can expect a most knowledgable tour to be arranged to such places as the Mandela House, the Pilanesberg Game Reserve, the Apartheid Museum or the Cradle of Humankind to name a few. Idwala's manager, Debbie, is very competent and resourceful and will make sure your every need is taken care of. From suggesting restaurants that are in the Jo-Burg district to arranging a flight to Cape Town she will be sure to make your stay a valuable one. She has excellent communication with all of the staff and this is the Idwala family that you will come to know and rely on. The owners Jeanette and Hans will surely make your acquaintance and see to it that your stay here in their 'home' is what you expect.
This was such a unique vacation for my husband and I as we have never visited South Africa before. The Idwala Guest House was truly an unexpected surprise and we cannot say enough about our time spent there. If you are looking for an exclusive and distinct getaway within the city of Johannesburg then this is the place to lay your head and relax.
Thank you to all of the staff at Idwala Guest House. We can't wait to visit you once again.

Room Tip: The exclusive Garden Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Words cannot express how thrilled we were with your wonderful review of Idwala! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were also able to enjoy Johannesburg and all it has to offer to our overseas visitors. Please do return again for another visit so that we can spoil you, prepare even more delicious meals for you, and enjoy your company! Best regards to both you and your husband from the Idwala Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a wonderful four nights at the lodge. We were in a garden room which was very comfortable. We loved the peace and quiet. We only ate breakfast there which was excellent. The staff were very helpful. We can definitely recommend this lodge and hopefully will return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review Idwala! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Idwala soon. Best regards from the Idwala Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg

Address: 13 Garrick Road | Johannesburg, Randburg 2194, South Africa (Formerly Idwala Boutique Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Lodge Feeling in one of Johannesburg's finest Boutique Hotel! Enjoy an African 5 Star Experience in the middle of Johannesburg with perfect access to business areas and tourist attractions. For both tourist and executive alike, Idwala offers tranquil surroundings where you can immerse yourself in luxury while at the same time carry out your business efficiently. Room Service, Laundry, Credit Cards, secure parking, conferences, wireless ADSL, transfers/tours, booking services, Restaurant on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg Randburg, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.