We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Road Lodge Randburg

Road Lodge Randburg
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Road Lodge Randburg to your Saves list
Road Lodge Randburg
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Malibongwe Drive & Republic Road, Randburg 2032, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Randburg
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great hotel, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed at this property for six nights this month and had a wonderful experience. I was in charge of a large group and Rudi, the manager, as well as his staff, went above and beyond each and every day to make sure our group had a great stay. This hotel is a great budget hotel--spacious rooms, good wireless connections, reasonably priced breakfast, and friendly staff. What more could you need while traveling abroad? Would definitely recommend for anyone traveling on a budget. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Randburg, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Quiet for a Road Lodge and instead of being woken up by people leaving for the airport it was the smell of cooking bacon that woke me up. The important features are there and the room was spacious enough for a short stay. No hand towels, kettle or hairdryer go with the budget price and the mattress was not as good as in Town Lodge, but we felt it was good value for two people. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel because there were other cheaper specials at the nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for its location. The twin room was clean and all the appliances worked and it had good reading lights. No onion cooking smells annoyed us (as in some fancier hotels) and although the hotel was busy we were not disturbed by noise. The rooms and bathroom arrangements are snug but all the plumbing worked. The receptionists were friendly and helpful and breakfast had fresh fruit salad and enough other food variation for most people. The car park was well attended by security guards. I would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was quite close to reception so if the bathroom arrangemnt is too snug for comfort the &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

Geez,I called on 3 Feb to reserve 2 rooms for de nexxt day_i got there I'm welcomed by a forward unproffessional young man whom most of the time he was chatting on de phone with a friend about how he could never be gay in his life.only to find out dey ve only reserve one room for me.

I got into the room,de toilet is dirty n there's no toilet roll n no bath soap. I can't even call de reception cos the phone is out of order.

The most annoying part of all I had my two boys with,we had to sleep with a full blast of the TV volume becos of the hot steaming sex going on next door.as I couldn't explain the funny sounds coming from next door.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I've stayed at many Road Lodges before, and this was the nicest one I've stayed at. The room was still as compact as ever, but it had a new paint smell and the toilet looked as if it has been recently redone. It is close-ish to the Coca-Cola Dome, but not as near as I expected, There are many take-away restaurants within the vacinity, which was helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I was stuck in Jhb and needed a place to sleep, so my GPS took me to the closest Road Lodge. I have stayed at the Randburg Road Lodge and it hasn't really changed. The rooms are comfortable, although the bathroom is tiny. Beware not to knock your elbows while brushing teeth or shaving! The tv has very few channels so I rather read a book. What really impressed me was the number of restaurants and fast food outlets within 1km of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We decided to stay at the Road Lodge purely so that we wouldnt have to drive home after a night of partying. If all you looking for is a bed to sleep in for the night, i would recommend the Road lodge, anything more and you better off elsewhere.

You have a choice of smoking or non-smoking rooms, we stayed in a non-smoking room, the bathroom has a small basin and toilet separated from the room with a slide door and the shower next to it. For your clothes you have an open cupboard for about 3 outfits. The TV is tiny and you have the basic channels, there is no restaurant for dinner, however they do supply you with options of nearby restaurants delivered to your room through Mr Delivery.

It is a 24 hour reception Hotel, so people can come and go as they please. We got back to our room at 3.30am and unfortunately I could hear people in and out of their rooms until 5am. The room we were in faced the main road, which any light sleeper would hear every car drive past.

I was impressed to know that they had a generator as we experienced a power outage in the evening and we had electricity back within seconds. Checking out was quick and the set-up for breakfast looked really nice, however for R120 pp it is a total ripoff, when you have Mc Donalds and Wimpy just down the road and can get 2 breakfasts for that price.

This hotel is cheap and what you pay for is what you get.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Road Lodge Randburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Randburg

Address: Cnr Malibongwe Drive & Republic Road, Randburg 2032, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Randburg 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Randburg sports complex and within walking distance to the Brightwater Common and a large gym. Situated approximately 2 km from Randburg CBD, 5 km from the N1 highway, 8 km from Sandton CBD and en-route to The Dome exhibition and conference centre. This hotel is ideal for sporting and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Road Lodge Randburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Randburg Hotel Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Road Lodge Randburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.