We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never had such a comfortable room before, beds in particular!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ikhaya Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Randburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ikhaya Guest House
Save
You added Ikhaya Guest House to your Saves list
31 Boschkop Avenue | Boskruin, Randburg 2188, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Randburg B&B and Inns
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never had such a comfortable room before, beds in particular!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife & two boys stayed a total of nine nights in rooms 1 (Mum & Dad) & 2 (our boys) which we thoroughly enjoyed. The beds were so big & comfortable, mattresses & pillows were just right & it was exceptionally clean. As we had a busy family holiday time we wanted to be as free as possible with regards coming & going which Rui was very helpful & flexible about.
With their own room, our two boys loved the fact that they could get up in the morning, run their own bath or shower & make their own tea, so they developed their own morning routine & independence while Mum & Dad were able to take their time getting up before being disturbed
by them. We all loved the breakfasts on offer particularly the full house & omelet breakfasts after fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals tea or strong tasty filter coffee. We also became fans of breakfasts from both the cooks working in the kitchen who were excellent fun, really friendly & happy to cook smaller portions for our youngest. Our lads had plenty of room to play football & small games on the lawn too & we all loved the quiet surroundings & variety of birds visiting the garden from the bird sanctuary in the hills behind the rooms.
Highly recommended for families, couples & business people.

Room Tip: In my opinion room 1 & 3 are excellent choices as they are spacious, airy & light in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Ikhaya. It was a pleasure to host your family at our establishment and we look forward to hosting you again, hopefully in the near future. Our best regards to you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Place is outstandingly beautiful, nice outlook beautiful bathroom and nice sized rooms. That being said- little peturbed as a solo female to have strangers come into my bedroom after sleeping off jetlag. (see Helen review below). They had a key to my room- as their stuff had been moved from it before I came. A bit surprising. That being said, the housekeeping staff are pheonmenal- can't do enough for you. The place is beautiful, breakfast very good ,
It's just a shame that its marred by a distinct management style which is left wanting from booking to staying . You shouldn't have to argue about a problem, it should be proactively resolved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience we might have caused, when we gave you a room for which another guest still had keys. Luckily, as it turned out, the other guests, who had the key to your room, were your friends.

What you have interpreted as rudeness was only a reflection of my disappointment at having to deal with a guest who was trying her best to save a few Rands by taking advantage of a situation which developed because we had tried too hard to please, in our haste to correct a mistake with your friends’ reservation.

You approached us, when checking out, accompanied by your friends, who also commented on this page. You insisted on a discounted rate for your accommodation, to cover for the shock of having someone enter your room unexpectedly. We agreed to this and offered you a discounted rate. You failed to mention or attempt to pay for the lunch which you ordered, upon your arrival at our guest house. We did not remind you or charge you for this, as we thought it would help cover the discomfort you experienced. We are glad that you enjoyed and appreciated every other aspect of our guest house and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The house itself is lovely, very picturesque and in a quiet and safe area which was important as we were travelling as two girls. The staff were also amazingly friendly and polite, couldn't fault them.

However mid way through our stay we returned to our room to find out that a stranger was asleep in our bed and that all of our stuff had disappeared. This was a shock to both ourselves and the poor person who was asleep. We found a maid who explained to us that we had been put in the wrong room and the other room had been booked so they had moved us into the room that we should have been in, which it turned out was a twin room rather than a double (so we had been staying in a smaller room). This was all done without informing us and without taking our key, so we had a key to the strangers room.

It has to be said that the maid was brilliant and had placed all of our things in exactly the same places in the new room. However we would have preferred it if all of our things had not been gone through and moved without our knowledge.

When it came to checking out the management was intending to charge us for the full price of staying in the twin room for the whole stay, despite the fact that we had spend half the stay in a smaller room because they had put us in the incorrect room. When we queried this the management was rude to us and eventually (after some argument) we manged to get an apology and paid the correct amount for our stay. Very disappointed that we had to fight for this and it put a mark on an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Please accept our sincere apologies for having taken the liberty to move your belongings to your new room, without your consent. This was done with the best of intentions, as we realized, too late, that you had initially been shown into the wrong room, by the housekeeping staff. You had the opportunity to tell us, there and then, that you were in the wrong room, as you had reserved a twin room (2 Queen Size Beds) and you had been shown into a 1 Bed room. Our mistake would have been immediately resolved and your stay would have been more comfortable and hassle free, as the twin room you had reserved was ready for you. Later that day I met you at the pool and asked you if you were happy with everything, to which you clearly responded that you were happy, all was well and there were no problems. Only much later did I realize that you were supposed to be staying in a twin room and that your partner was a lady. Even though all our rooms are spacious and equipped with large and comfortable beds I thought we could still correct our mistake, and improve your experience at our guest house, by moving you to the twin room. When I went to tell you that we intended to do this, you had, unfortunately, already gone out. I decided to move you anyway, as you would surely be much more comfortable in a twin room, which had been your initial choice.

We also intended to make sure that you were given the correct room keys, upon your return, but unfortunately no one saw you arriving back at the guest house, later that afternoon, in time to have your keys swopped.

Regarding payment we did not intend to charge you the twin room rate for your accommodation. We stated this very clearly. We said we would charge you for double accommodation, not twin. We pointed out that there was an international bank transfer fee to be settled, clearly shown in our terms and conditions. You objected to paying for this, and we also agreed to waiver that cost. However, when you suggested that you wanted to pay only the single room rate I felt that you were trying to take advantage of the situation. I did not agree to that because your stay had been for two guests, with breakfast included, and you had not complained, until it was time to settle the bill. We are glad that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay, at Ikhaya Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were assigned Room 7 when we arrived at Ikhaya. Our hostess raved that it was her favorite room and that the views were terrific. She was right the views were terrific. However, after lugging our cases up all of those stairs to the top level and seeing the size of the bed (we are big people) we were less than impressed- especially since our fellow travellers had rooms with 2 Queen size beds on lower levels. After a night of tossing and turning our hosts set up an additional single bed in the room for the remiander of our stay which helped immensely.

So, what could have been a disastrous stay turned out to be a very good experience. We would recommend Ikhaya with the proviso that you select Room 7 only is you are modestly sized folks who love views. As I said in the beginnig- All's well that ends well- and this ended very well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay at Ikhaya. We look forward to hosting you again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay again on my recent trip and I must say, this is the best! I had spent a few night in a major hotel for a conference and like most large hotels, it is loud, noisy and the same as any other. I had the good fortune to switch once the conference ended and it was the first great night's sleep I'd had all week.

As always, I was made to feel at home and so welcome, you feel like family. When in the area, this is the place you want to be.

Well done!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi Bob, hope you are well and still enjoying you globetrotting. Thank you for your kind review of Ikhaya, hope to see you again soon! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington Natal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A very quiet, spacious luxurious retreat in a secure location, no traffic, yet close to lots of shopping malls, cinemas etc.
Only ten minutes from the throb of Sandton, Roebank etc.
Very easy to find. Attentive service, good breakfast cooked while you wait, huge bed and even an electric mosquito zapper! Only one thing - TV too far from the bed! (Memo to self: need better glasses!)
Well priced and well run - would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the first room on the right of the gate - really lovely and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Ikhaya Guest House. Hope you come and stay with us again, shortly. Best regards to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Manitoba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ikahaya Guest House is a lovely place to stay. The area is quiet and secure and beautiful and the service was excellent. Our room was big and very comfortable and breakfasts were great. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Ikhaya Guest House. We hope you come again this way, and to be able to host you again, in Johannesburg. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ikhaya Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikhaya Guest House

Address: 31 Boschkop Avenue | Boskruin, Randburg 2188, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House is a luxurious 4 Star guest house, with an exclusive boutique hotel feel. Located in a quiet and safe upmarket northern suburb of Johannesburg, Ikhaya Guest House is ideal for the business individual or tourist. Branded by our guests as the best kept secret in Johannesburg, Ikhaya offers luxury accommodation, in a secure and quiet environment. We are conveniently situated, close to the N1 freeway, shopping centres, the Coca Cola Dome and Nasrec. With us you will not feel like you're staying in a traditional guest house. Each room has its own private entrance, guests come and go as and when they please. Nestled on the slope of Bush Hill, a designated nature reserve and bird sanctuary, enjoy great views of Johannesburg and its northern suburbs. You will feel like you are in the heart of Africa yet only minutes away from city life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ikhaya Guest House Randburg, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikhaya Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.