We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa to your Saves list
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Mount Grace is a wondreful venue. Idyllic settings, comfortable and exceptionally well organised. The staff were very friendly and made us feel so welcome. Food was good and I honestly cannot fault my stay there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Marilyn S,

Thank you for sharing such a "beautiful" review with your fellow TripAdvisor community members. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are constantly striving to provide an excellent & "seamless" service experience, hence we are very pleased to hear we have been successful in doing so.

We look forward hosting you again soon when ready for some more relaxation and pampering...

Warm regards,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    84
    45
    33
    32
See reviews for
39
223
5
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

peaceful and idyllic, excellent for a retreat.
Food was all round delicious.
Staff are always smiling, helpful and willing.
the surrounds are beautiful- wish i could have stayed longer! amenities include spa and conference facilities, bike rides/ walking trails.
Children over twelve ideally. perfect for quiet relaxation and lounging.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear karisMa218,

Your recommendations on the genuine service received by our TEAM are truly appreciated and will be celebrated with everyone. A simple exchange of smiles can light up each other's day and make the difference.

Thank you for commenting on the beautiful surrounding of the hotel as well as the additional facilities offered such as our gorgeous Spa and the availability of mountain bikes.

Make sure you pay us another visit soon!

Kind regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pleasant surroundings but let down by poor service. The hotel describes the Rambling Vine restaurant as a fine dining experience. Far from it. No ‘front of house” which sees guests milling around the restaurant reception seeking out “timid” waiters to be seated. Indifferent service (I’m being polite) and a main course that was inedible (and sent back). At least the Chef had the courtesy to apologise in person. Enjoyed the pool and walks, however be patient. Took 20 minutes for a security guard to arrive to open the perimeter gate leading to a sign-posted walking route. Afternoon tea on the terrace was pleasurable despite having to place our order twice. Head waiter took charge and sorted out the problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear AJM-Travel,

I am very sad and extremely disappointed to hear that we have not been able to impress you during your recent stay with us. My sincere apologies for the below par service experience, especially when it comes to your comments around the service and quality received in our Rambling Vine Restaurant. Clearly unacceptable and not of the standard we strive to provide to our valued guests.

I can assure you that I will discuss your comments with the TEAM in detail and address these matters accordingly.

We do hope this recent experience will not deter you from visiting us in future as we would love to have the opportunity to convince you of our ability to provide genuine hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Sadly Mount Grace has not been maintained adequately and now looks shabby. Taped off (with red/white striped tape) sections in the gardens are unattractive and cigarette butts were left on the ground overnight. The Rambling Vines Restaurant was disappointing in terms of food quality and service. The complimentary appetiser was off. The Spa was good, particularly the spa steam/pool circuit. Our checkin and checkout were inefficiently handled due to technology problems. The receptionist did however offer us a bigger room.

Room Tip: ask for a room in one of the new sections
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear bramm_travel,

On behalf of the entire TEAM at the Mount Grace, our sincere apologies for not meeting or exceeding your expectations during your last visit to our Country House. We are very happy to hear you have truly enjoyed our facilities and services at our Spa, but are very embarrassed to hear about the serie of service lapses experienced.

We thank you for your detailed and constructive feedback - especially coming from a senior TripAdvisor reviewer such as yourself - regarding the disappointing food experience in Rambling Vine as well as the below par daily maintenance of the surrounding hotel grounds.

Guest feedback forms a vital part of our business and the input we receive from our guests is imperative for us to ensure that your expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know whether you or your guests leave our establishment completely satisfied, but more importantly, leave disappointed and dissatisfied!

I can assure you we will address the matters raised immediately and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you in future and welcoming you to the Mount Grace Country House and Spa again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unitied kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for five nights over the New Year period as the start of our three weeks in South Africa.

Upon arrival the check in team were polite and efficient and then to the room via a golf cart. We stayed in one of the villas and could not find fault with the room, well furnished and appointed as well as clean and cool. The Villas are away from the main complex and give an added sense of privacy. The grounds are fantastic and despite being very close to the Johannesburg/Pretoria conurbation it does give the out of Africa feel very nicely.

Over the five days we dined in both the al a carte and the buffet restaurants and the food was very good indeed for breakfast lunch and dinner.

The spa and gym are great and if you like running machines the view whilst running is fantastic. The spa is well worth spending the better part of a day at as the entire area is geared up to be calm and relaxing.

The only thing that lets this experience down is some of the staff. A couple of examples are;
1) we asked four times for the mini bar to be filled before it happened.
2) some of the waiting staff are expert in avoiding requests
3) the service can be slow to the point of geological.

That said I spoke to the manager about the issues and he assured me that the hotel was about to start and extensive training programme with the staff to move on from these problems.

Overall I would recommend that if you are considering this hotel then you could do a lot worse and you do stay here. You simply have to nag a little to get a better service.

Room Tip: If you can go for the villas. All are fantastic and again get you away from the hustle and bustle
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear "davidiafrica",

Thank you for your extensive and detailed feedback and for sharing this with the TripAdvisor community. Much appreciated.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting our beautiful country. Your constructive criticism on the slow service experienced when requesting assistance with your mini bar, as well as some non responsiveness of some of the waitering staff will be discussed and dealt with in our management meeting. A new extensive service training program for all team members, including some of our casual team members, is already scheduled for and will be launched in 2 weeks from now, focused on further improving our consistency of service. Our apologies for not getting this right during your recent visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon upon your next visit to SA!

Warm regards,


Nelson Rodrigues - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

why fly all the way to Cape Town for a weekend getaway, when the luxurious grounds and rooms of mount grace are so close by. the customer service is excellent -- very responsive staff (thanks Xander). the breakfast buffet is very good. lunch is decent. and dinner at the a la carte restaurant, though a bit pricey, is good. overall, bravo mount grace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear "iankowalker",

Thank you for your kind recommendations! I fully agree with you... Why fly down all the way to Cape Town while you can simply unwind in the beautiful setting of our Country House surrounded by the majestic Magaliesberg.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our facilities and food offering, but more importantly, the service received by our TEAM at the hotel. We will definitely share your feedback with everyone....

We can't wait hosting you again soon!

Warm regards,


Nelson Rodrigues - General manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Being welcomed into Mount Grace from the boom to the reception was already a great start. We were whisked away to our room in one of the many golf carts only to enter to find an exquisitely decorated large luxury room, with champagne and chocolates to celebrate Christmas day. Bookings were made at the very last minute but we were helped easily and made to feel completely accomodated. After sipping champagne on our balcony overlooking the tree tops, we slipped into our gowns and made our way past the warm and cold pools to have lunch on the deck. A gourmet toasted sandwhich was enjoyed along with one of the most fabulously made Margarita's to ever be tasted. We dressed for dinner and had a choice between Twist and the Rambling Vine, deciding to dine ala carte, we opted for the Rambling Vine. A dinner of escargots, foie gras with apple tartatin, chicken and prawn roulade and crab claw rissotto was finished off with a chocolate taster and assortment of accompanied drinks. Here I found the Cosmopolitan to be absolutely 100% perfectly made. As it was drizzling we were transported to and from our room via golf cart with the friendliest of staff.
Breakfast was increadible, so many choices from smoked salmon, waffles with every sweet treat imaginable, different cured meats, bacon, sausages, pastries and eggs benedict, our eyes were definately bigger than our stomachs but we ate heartily. This was truly a magical and wonderful experience and I will recommend this to anyone looking for a quite break away but not too far from the city. Thank you to Mount Grace for their exceptional hospitality on the very last minute.

Room Tip: We stayed in the luxury room which provided us views across the valleys and over the tree tops. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear "Liddelcat",

What an amazing review! The entire TEAM is excited to hear that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us, from arrival to departure.

Your kind recommendations on the service received by our security guards upon arrival, the porters servicing the golf carts, the team at the Spa as well as the waitering TEAM is much appreciated and will be shared with them all.

Great to know that you enjoyed our cocktails such as the famous Cosmopolitan and Margarita as well as the sumptuous breakfast serviced in our Twist restaurant every morning!

Do make sure you come and pay us another visit soon!

Kind regards,

Nelson Rodrigues - General manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, Mount Grace Country House & Spa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at the Mount Grace indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. The African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.