We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent true 5 star service, wonderful gettaway!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa to your Saves list
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent true 5 star service, wonderful gettaway!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Mount Grace offers the complete perfect package! Their best asset is their friendly staff, they do not complromise on quality anywhere!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for writing such a glowing review! We sincerely appreciate your great comments on the service received from our team. We hope you come back to see us next time when visiting the Magaliesberg area!

Warm regards,

Ross Owen - Operations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    85
    45
    33
    32
See reviews for
39
224
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Very neat overall. Most beautifull gardens, staff very professional and neat. Spa of top quality, certainly one of the best in SA. Excellent cuisine.

Room Tip: For couples , the luxury rooms with private splash pool is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Great to know we have been able to assist creating a memorable 21st anniversary! Again, congratulations from all of us at the Mount Grace and we look forward welcoming you back soon.

At your service,

Ross Owen - Operations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Fantastic stay- very relaxing beautiful setting the hotel could do with more people at reception to help check in guest at busy times. The private plunge pool at the luxury room as a disappointment and the area there was not cleaned for a while lots of ants on the pool chairs but the pool was heated . The grounds were clean and the spa excellent as well as the grounds and pools at the spa. Very friendly staff at the spa and very helpful . We made reservations at Rambling Vine when we made hotel bookings but they did not have the reservation for the restaurant upon our arrival? However all commendations go to Laurence at reception for excellent service he went out of his way to ensure we get a spot at dinner . The renovations to the hotel are very tastefully done. I was immensely impressed at the level of service even when the phones were down. My wife forgot some personal toiletries and the store was closed I though the staff forgot about it and went into panic mode since the nearest stores in the village were also close but the staff came though. They are well trained and we were very impressed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good the best value are the normal rooms but for indulgence go for the villas beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Shube1,

Thank you most sincerely for the wonderful review based on your recent stay with us. We appreciate and acknowledge your comments around the level of cleanliness of the plunge pool and surrounding area and will take action accordingly.

The entire team at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa is looking forward welcoming you back soon!

At your service,

Ross Owen – Operational Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

WE conferenced at this venue and the setting and venue were phenomenal, a brilliant location and venuw to host a conference which allowed for peace and serenity while going through presentations and doing work, overall a great venue and would definietly recomend

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Brilliant feedback on your stay! We are thrilled to hear your conference was a great success. The entire team is looking forward welcoming you back soon.

At your service,

Ross Owen – Operational Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed only for 1 night but I will defiinitly be going back. The spa exceeded all expectations. The staff driving the buggies and in the spa are all professional and friendly. The dinner at the Twist restaurant out of this world, you could not fault a single thing. We stayed in a luxury room (208) near the spa. A beautiful view of the Magaliesburg town. Inside the room was beautiful, spacious and clean. Outside the room on the patio was another story completly. Be balastrades and doors are old and tatty. The balastrade was a bit loose so we just stayed off the balcony. We were woken by the staff talking so loud (doors and windows closed) at 5am in the morning. We were the first at breakfast at 7:10 in the morning. The service was shocking (WE WERE THE ONLY ONES IN THE RESTAURANT). There was no one there to cook the eggs so we decided to eat from the rest of the buffet. What was there was fantastic. I decided to have a waffel at their waffel station, surprise!!! no one there either. I had to ask the restaurant manager to find someone to help me as he was also happy to stand there chatting to his staff while I waited endlessly. The waffel was dry and hard when they eventually made. it. Should have had toast if only there was someone to ask for it. As we were there for relaxation we did not mind having to wait. We waited for room service for 5 hours before complaining the first time. Once we complained it took them another hour to get cooldrinks to our room. We had already given up and gone to sleep at 9H40 at night. (we put the do not disturb sign on our door as we were not sure if they would turn up). The arrived at 9h50 by banging first on our neighbors door. Once the annoymed man told them it was not for them he banged on our door even though it had a do not disturb sign on the door. For a five star resort I did expect more. I would highly recommed the spa and the Twist resaurant for dinner, but if you are expecting 5* service, that is another story!

Room Tip: rooms around the dam or any room off the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for highlighting the areas of concern based on your recent stay with us and I wish to sincerely apologise for the disappointing and inexcusable service lapses during breakfast service. We clearly failed to deliver the warm hospitality at the restaurant that we are best known for. I can assure you this will be addressed with all relevant team members soonest.

We do sincerely hope that our assurance in dealing with the reported incidents will restore your confidence in us and allowing us to welcoming you back soon at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa.

Ross Owen - Operations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I must state at the outset that I am not a negative person by nature and must just state upfront that we were happy with the friendly service from staff and the quality of the accommodation. There are however quite a few incidents that spoilt our stay at this hotel. We waited 15 minutes for a shuttle to take us to our room upon arrival. We excused this because of the friendly service we received prior. During our stay, we tried to order room service. We ordered a salmon and cream cheese bagel which shouldn't require much preparation since all the ingredients should be ready to put together. We were told that we were 5th in line and that they could only guarantee that we received the order just under a hour. That was unacceptable so we cancelled the order. We were also missing the umbrella from our deck. We booked the best room in the resort because of the deck and pool facilities and we were unable to enjoy this because of the missing umbrella. We called reception who then sent somebody up with a regular hand held umbrella. we informed the courier that we needed a large umbrella for the deck and not a regular umbrella. The base was there but the umbrella was missing. Reception called back and said they'd look into it and we never heard from them again. Eventually it was so late and we hadn't heard from reception again that we decided not to persue it further. We then called a golf cart to take us down for dinner. We would've walked but we were a great distance from the facilities. We waited 25 minutes for the transport. We also mentioned to the hotel on two occassions that it was our anniversary and a birthday celebration but nothing was done or even mentioned regarding this. Upon checkout, there was some confusion around our bill. We had already paid in full upon arrival but this was not reflected on the system. Fortunately I had retained the proof. If I hadn't, it may have been a longer process. Overal this was a totally forgetful experience and one that we will not remember fondly and a huge anticlimax. I will personally try not to stay at any of the African Pride Hotels going forward because of this experience.

Room Tip: We chose the best room available (Luxury Villa) but were unable to enjoy the deck facailities (pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Our genuine gratitude for your constructive and detailed feedback! Without your comments, we would never know whether you leave the Mount Grace Country House completely satisfied, but more importantly, leave disappointed and dissatisfied!

We are extremely disappointed to hear we have not lived up to your expectations and may I take this opportunity to assure you that the circumstances of your complaints around our shuttle service, room service as well as room maintenance will be most carefully investigated to ensure that this is not a repeating occurrence. Your interest and concern are much appreciated. We do sincerely hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again in future.

Ross Owen - Operations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Mount Grace exceeded all of my high expectations during my recent spa getaway with my wife. Excellent service, excellent food, beautiful surroundings and ever-friendly and efficient staff. I could not believe I was in South Africa, judging from the pathetic dont-give-a-damn attitude experience at other spa resorts. This was a refreshing surprise. Mount Grace will grow from strength to strength because of its GREAT attitude and has become my favourite getaway venue for the weekend. No words can describe how impressed we were !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Very excited to hear your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us! It was our sincere pleasure making you and your wife’s spa getaway a memorable one and we can’t wait welcoming you back to the Magaliesburg area soon…

Yours sincerely,

Clayton Howard - General Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, Mount Grace Country House & Spa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at the Mount Grace indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. The African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.