We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Relaxing Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budmarsh Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Budmarsh Country Lodge to your Saves list
Budmarsh Country Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   T1 Magalies Meander Road, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Magaliesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Superb Relaxing Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Budmarsh was a great venue for a relaxing couples break. The service was superb, the food outstanding and the overall experience was fantastic.

The room was spacious and comfortable, and the garden was great for a chilled out picnic, which the staff set out for us. The private dinner in the wine cellar was also great.

I would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Your feedback on your stay at Budmarsh is much appreciated and thank you for making use of what we have to offer at the Lodge and for enjoying the tranquilty. We are pleased that you had a relaxing time and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    23
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
79
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The instant one drives through the gates of Budmarsh, the cares of the world melt away in this tranquil setting, rich in birdlife and with a staff that are friendly but unobtrusive, waiting to make every aspect of one's stay memorable.
One wants for nothing - the attention to detail is impressive - the rooms are elegant with thoughtful touches which ensure comfort; the meals are beautifully presented and enticing, tasty and different; there is a standard wine list augmented by a great cellar with a wide range of wines to cater for individual tastes; the artwork and antique furniture are carefully chosen and add to the elegance and luxury of the whole experience. Once you have visited, you will schedule Budmarsh into your diary as a necessary feeding of the soul!

Room Tip: all rooms are great - with different features that make them special
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - I hope you will be back to spot a few more birds perhaps or lie on the lawns and enjoy a private picnic to the dulcet tones of a golden oriel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I have stayed at Budmarsh 3 times and it has always proved to be an exceptional experience. In particular the service and food is unparalleled! A few weeks ago, I was treated to a Budmarsh High Tea, something I haven't done before. The high tea itself was amazing! We enjoyed a selection of teas and various miniature tarts and finger sandwiches. Nothing quite like being royally treated in beautiful surroundings and eating little treats!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We are so pleased you enjoyed the Budmarsh HighTea experience. High Tea is a tranquil escape and we hope you will be back to relish in other aspects of Budmarsh Country Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

“We had such a lovely time at Bud Marsh. We were treated so well. They provided bottle of sparkling wine when we arrived. The food was wonderful. The warm towels, the lovely gowns the staff were all friendly and the service excellent. They even seated us in the wine cellar for some privacy for dinner. There were little treats everywhere. The whole establishment is so well kept and we felt like stars. A great way to celebrate our anniversary.”

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenFargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for your review - we are so pleased you had a wonderful celebration and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budmarsh Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budmarsh Country Lodge

Address: T1 Magalies Meander Road, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Budmarsh Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, in the heart of the magical Magaliesberg, Budmarsh Country Lodge awaits to welcome you to its world of understated elegance, tranquility and personalised attention. Escape through beautiful gardens to ramble amongst abundant bird life. After a sumptuous dinner, conjured by our Master Chef, relax in front of a roaring fire, engage in a game of snooker or simply escape to the quietness of the library to read and forget the stresses of your world. Retire to your bedroom with its antique furniture, underfloor heating, en-suite bathroom and sink into your king size bed for a sleep that is truly nature’s balm. With its lovely landscaped gardens, exquisite trees and alluring scenery, there is no better place than Budmarsh for an intimate wedding for special people. To enjoy your friendships in the peacefulness synonymous with Budmarsh, simply book for a High Tea, Picnic or Sunday Lunch. With enchanting views of the Magaliesberg Mountains, our state-of-the-art conference facilities are designed to inspire, motivate, develop and spoil your staff. Enjoy five star dining, service and accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Budmarsh Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budmarsh Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.