We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulders Beach

Boulders Beach
Kleintuin Rd, Simon's Town, South Africa
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #4 of 17 Attractions in Simon's Town
Type: Beaches
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The sheltered inlet of Boulders Beach is located in the Cape peninsula near Simon's Town. Here exists a protected colony of African penguins which can be viewed in their natural habitat via wooden walkways. There is also an excellent beach for swimming nearby.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A visit to Cape Town just has to include a visit to BB. We have been there many times and never get tired of it. Make sure that your camera is fully charged.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,355
    770
    255
    44
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PENGUINS AT BOULDERS BEACH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

See the seals at the seal colony and then stroll over to Boulders Beach for breakfast; lunch or dinner. Outddoor overlooking False Bay or indoor dining. Good affordable food

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the 90 rands”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Unless you really, really can't go on another day without seeing an "African" penguin, I would save your rands. We were processed and pushed through turnstiles along with a busload of Japanese tourists and probably spent less than 10min looking at a colony of penguins that appeared to be petrified by all the commotion. Not worth the time nor money, in my opinion.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I went here specifically because my mum loved penguins and as she is no longer with us any more I felt a little closer to her for the time I was there. Beautiful to see so many penguins in and out of the water. Nice little gift shop that wasn't too expensive (for a gift shop).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Such a cute place it is! The penguins are concentrated by the beach but you can find an odd one "sun bathing" along the walk to the beach. Entrance fee is there, but its worth spending 20 minutes looking at penguins in what looks like a natural habitat

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulders Beach also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
 
Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Boulders Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulders Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.