We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakaway from your teenagers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boulders Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Simon's Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boulders Beach Lodge
4 Boulders Place Boulders Beach Simons Town 7975, Simon's Town, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Simon's Town
Cape Town
1 review
“breakaway from your teenagers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We asked for sherry in the rooms on arrival, not done
The waiter forgot our wine at dinner until the main was cold, but the girl on duty/manager was excellent, saw the gap and saved teh situation by giving us a free bottle and apologising, excellent management skills. 10 out of 10 for attitude
There was no water in the bottle in the room, room 12 and the cold tap does not run properly, a bit of housekeeping needs to be done to check on these kinds of things.
The kettle had to be put on the floor to be plugged in? not good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
54
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms and daily fresh towels. Lovely staff. The restaurant (and the staff) was fabulous and the food was amazing! We had daily breakfasts there and also had lunch and dinner- all fabulous food with generous servings.

During our stay, the penguins were running around and were quite vocal and protective of their young although this didn't bother us since we kept our distance and respected them. They were loud during certain nights (but we slept through most of it) but that's wildlife for you and I like to think of it as part of the experience. Overall, it was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good place for stay near Cape of Good Hope.
Our room had got no view but small garden. Sometimes penguins visit this small garden. İt was surprising for us to see cute penguins very close to our room.
Food was good enough, there was a lot of resturants near the hotel. But it was difficult to find a taxis and it is better to rent a car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The selling point for this hotel is the location which is amazing, we were in courtyard room 11 which had a penguin nestng right outside, our 4 year old was so excited. the rooms are very tired, and we had to ask for a fan as one wasn't provided and it was hot! Service in the restaurant friendly but very slow and food a bit inconsistent, some great some ok. All in all we would stay here again purely for the location, the rate we got was good, but don't expect luxury!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Perfect place to stay after driving from Cape Town to the Cape of Good Hope - and then we headed to wine country the following day. The penguins are a short walk away. The restaraunt was very good (we had dinner in addition to the yummy breakfast that was included with our room). The staff was very accommodating. We had the only small room (mountain) which was loud in the morning when the staff was preapring breakfast. But, it's cute and comfy. Fine for one night. The other couple we were travelling with had a large upstairs room and LOVED ot!

Room Tip: If you are on a budget the mountain room is fine as long as you plan to get up fairly early. The bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great location. Terrible hotel. In-room fridge is a Coca Cola fridge. It hums all night but the back lit Coke signage fills the room with a bordello red glow, a nightlite bonus! We had five rooms. One had no hot water. One had no electricity in the bedlights, just a ceiling light. The room had the charm of a prison cell, nothing like the image on the website. The penguin poop was cleaned daily but the green slim throughout the courtyard is slippery and dangerous. But the sign warns you of this, making their problem your problem. The restaurant evening meals are ordinary and over priced. The breakfast chef cant cook an egg any style. The poached eggs could be bounced off the wall. Stay in town and walk/drive to see the penguins.

Room Tip: Stay at the Simons Town Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times now and already have our next visit booked in January as this is such a great place to see the penguins its so nice to stroll along the cliff top with very few people around, or go down to the lovely beach right out front of the hotel.

We stay one May & it was very wet they used a broom to brush all the rain away outside the restaurant as it was flooded and in December very hot but the rooms seem to stay fairly cool we were fine without heating or air con. The rooms are not top notch but cosy and comfortable the food we have loved every time we have stayed they have a good variety & breakfasts have also been very good with an amazing view out to sea. We have always stayed in a court yard room and found them to be spacious enough for the one night trips we have made

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boulders Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Beach Lodge

Address: 4 Boulders Place Boulders Beach Simons Town 7975, Simon's Town, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Boulders Beach Hotel Simon`s Town
Boulders Beach Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulders Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boulders Beach Lodge to your Saves list