We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a TRUE GEM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulders Beach Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boulders Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Boulders Beach Lodge
4 Boulders Place Boulders Beach Simons Town 7975, Simon's Town, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Simon's Town
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“This is a TRUE GEM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

I NEVER give a hotel and EXCELLENT. I figure there is always something to improve on. But in this case, The Boulder Beach Lodge serves their market incredibly. This was a true delight.

You cannot ask for a closer hotel or lodge to the penquins. The location is butt up to the colony. The lodge is not fancy or over done...just beach comfortable and relaxed. Our room was elevated with great ocean/penquin views, great breeze, very comfortable bedding. It was exactly what we needed.

We were only there one night and probably is enough unless you plan on spending days on the beach there. It really is charming and during the day, its obvious that many of the locals think this too. But when the tourist and locals leave....WOW! Its just you, the sunset, good wine, good breeze, and Silence. Even at morning I took my coffee down to the water and sat with the penquins and watch the sunrise. It was surreal.

The service at this lodge is impressive. Not stuffy, just good, friendly people. They VERY much accomondated us with beverages and hospitality. Special thanks to the guys in the restaurant who saw that we go that last glass of wine before closing. Thanks for going the extra mile!

If your spending time around the cape....stay here! Enjoy Simon's Town (the locals are fun).

  • Liked — The Location, The Service, The Feeling!
  • Disliked — Parking is a little limited...but did not pose a problem.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    48
    20
    12
    7
See reviews for
23
59
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

I would describe the style of this lodge as slightly up-market motel with better-than-expected restaurant. We were given a great room, with a view out to sea. The service at the hotel was efficient and friendly and the service at the restaurant was excellent; the food good. There are also restaurants in Simon's Town, a short drive away.
The location is right next to Boulders Beach, although you cannot see the beach from the hotel. You must pay to gain access to the beach but it is a negligible amount for the experience; 25 ZAR when we visited (although when we arrived at the lodge there were hundreds of penguins wandering around the rocks opposite the hotel free of charge!) We stayed at Boulders Beach Lodge in order to see the penguins while hoping to escape the hoards of day trippers, and that is exactly what we did; we paid to access the beach at the end of the first day, and the following morning, and found we had the penguins pretty much to ourselves. As an added bonus, on the morning of our stay when I opened the curtains, I saw a whale breaching out to sea. It dutifully repeated the process six or seven times allowing my husband to jump out of bed to watch the spectacle - not many places where you can see a sight like that from your hotel room still in your pyjamas!
In summary, the lodge is very nice but it's all about the penguins (and whales if you're lucky) and the location is just perfect for that. I would certainly return if back in the Cape Town area.

  • Liked — Penguins
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

We stayed one night in the Boulders Beach Lodge and it met all of our expectations.

It is in a lovely part of the world. The penguin colony is right beside it and there is also a nice beach to visit.

The hotel itself is painted in bright colours and has what I could only describe at the time as a "Home and Away" feel.

We had a room upstairs with a sea view, a good sized bed and a nice ensuite. There was Amarula and sherry waiting for us and the check-in staff were friendly.

We had lunch downstairs as well as breakfast and I can confirm the other reviews that the food is spectacular.

We went to dinner in Simon's Town and had a few pints in the 2 and 6. The kind staff in the lodge were able to organise the local taxi lady, Georgie, to get us there and back for R35 each way.

There was no TV in the room. TV is not what we were after from the stay so it suited us down to the ground but I think that if we were to have been staying for longer we may have wished for a TV.

The staff were fine with checkout. Official time was midday but we were told we could stay as long as we wanted with no extra charge.

And without spoiling it, we got a pleasant surprise after leaving the lodge! If any of the staff are reading and know what I am talking about:

Thank you!

  • Liked — Staff, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed here for the 2nd time in mid-October 2007. Our main reason for picking the place originally had been its proximity to the African Penguin breeding colony and that is certainly a big draw, but the hotel itself is a delight.

Without requesting it we were given room 5 again. This has a super position on the upper floor and views out across the sea, best appreciated from the balcony outside the main door. The room is airy and attractively decorated and spotlessly clean. It’s well stocked with tea and coffee making facilities and feels at the same time homely and slightly exotic. The bathroom is very nice indeed with a corner bath including a powerful shower.

The staff are friendly and helpful and when we asked if it was possible to arrange for a taxi into Simon’s Town so we could find a bar in which to watch the Rugby World Cup semi final, one of them offered to drive us up in his own car and collect us later.

I find it hard to imagine that we could ever visit the Cape Town area without at least a couple of nights in the Lodge. The penguins are great, too and in season there may well be Southern Right Whales offshore. We didn’t see any in September 2005 but they were pretty much there all the time during our second visit.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

I had seen the website for Boulder's Beach Lodge and it looked like a really luxurious play to stay but, in reality, the place was a little disappointing. First of all, I think there's only 1 room with view of the ocean even though the property is practically right on the beach. All the other rooms face in to each other, kind of "motel" style. We settled on a room at the back of the property because it was larger and it had a nice little courtyard just outside it complete with, what else, a resident penguin family nesting in the corner. Again, at first glance, the room looked really nice but, on closer inspection, things were a little run-down. Our toilet wouldn't flush in the morning, the shower leaked water onto the floor, the hot water took a long time to get going and the power to the space heater kept going out. We also got locked out of our room in the morning because part of the key broke off and got stuck in the lock.

Maybe it was all just bad luck though and we got a dud of a room, I don't know. But I still couldn't get a good night's sleep because the walls were pretty thin and the windows didn't provide any soundproofing so all I could hear all night long were the penguins squawking. At first it was "charming" and then, at about 4:00 in the morning, it got to be really annoying. Don't get me wrong, I loved the penguins and the fact that we got to stay right there with them, but I also really love my sleep. I just wanted to forewarn anyone else so that you know to bring your earplugs!

It was a memorable stay at Boulder's Beach, some good memories and some bad, but overall it was an okay place to stay. But I have to say that the staff at the Lodge were most helpful and kind and the food at the restaurant was excellent. We had one of the best meals at a very reasonable cost so absolutely no complaints when it came to the restaurant.

  • Liked — Proximity to the penguins
  • Disliked — Things breaking down on us
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

We stayed for 1 night to breakup the journey and visit the penguins.

Its location is great - a stone throw to the penguins, our room (15) was very nice with a sea view. The food at the lodge also surprised us with its quality and value for money.

Found Simons Town to be a strange place and only worth staying the 1 night

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

We booked a single night at the lodge in February mainly for the location and penguins. The lodge is literally a stones throw from the beach and the penguins are fantastic - there were some baby penguins at the time of year we visited. We stayed in room 6 which was on the ground floor. The room was basic and with no air conditioning. The room was very much on the small side - the wall was only about three foot from each side of the bed and there was little room to unpack. It is fair to say that we would have ben uncomfortable if we had to stay there for longer than one night. However, the room was clean and the location is special. We had an enjoyable meal in the lodge resturant looking over the bay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of space
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulders Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Beach Lodge

Address: 4 Boulders Place Boulders Beach Simons Town 7975, Simon's Town, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boulders Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulders Beach Hotel Simon`s Town
Boulders Beach Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulders Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.